We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in southern Rwanda - excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nyungwe Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I wasn’t sure what to expect for this part of our journey through Rwanda – it is a long drive to get there and away from the usual tourist “traffic.” Turns out this lodge is a gem located on a working tea plantation and I could easily have spent three nights there instead of two. The room was very comfortable with A/C and heater, TV, coffee & tea, comfortable bed and the bathroom had a huge tub, beautiful walk-in shower, two sinks, toiletries, and a separate room for toilet and bidet. It also had a small veranda that looked faced the forest edge (saw some blue monkeys from it). The meals were also excellent – often served buffet style. However, what truly stood out to me was the excellent customer service from the entire Nyungwe staff. I cannot praise the front desk manager – David – enough for his tireless and caring work ensuring that our small tour group was happy, and their wait staff could teach many staff at 5-star restaurants how to better serve their guests! Additionally, the general manager, Jerry Were, was often present and interacting with guests – ensuring that their needs were being met. Wi-Fi was only available in the main lodge/restaurant area - not in the room. The photos I’ve seen posted by others on TripAdvisor show accurately what I experienced. It is located close to the Nyungwe Forest National Park – about a 40 minute drive to the park headquarters. As mentioned at the beginning, driving to Nyungwe will take 5-7 hours. We drove south through Butare (visited the National Ethnographic Museum en route) and returned north along Lake Kivu. However, next time I will likely drive one way and then take the 30 minute plane flight back from Kamembe to Kigali (airport is about one hour from the lodge). Finally, I was told that the lodge will be going through some renovations during 2017 – so may be worth verifying this before making plans.

Room Tip: I think all rooms look out towards the forest - end rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjabdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We were celebrating our 10th Anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better way to spend it. The views of the forest lull you into a relaxation that you just don't want to snap out of. While eating lunch on our first day we saw Colobus monkeys foraging from tree to tree, what a treat. The next morning we went to the pool and once again were treated to seeing Colobus monkeys. The service is excellent, our waiter Alain was very good, always ready with a smile. Food is excellent, presentation always appealing to the eyes. We spent two days here but could have easily spent a few more. We look forward to returning!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rakgadi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the Nyungwe Forest Lodge after a few days in other areas of Rwanda. The lodge is amazingly gorgeous. The beds were very comfortable, the food was good and the staff was friendly. The only thing I think they could improve is the service. It was a bit slow at meals.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ConfYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

After a very long drive from Gisenyi, we arrived when it was already dark. The main lodge has beautiful architecture and local art. The restaurant and the service was excellent: the buffet breakfast had many choices; and our lunches and dinners here were memorable. The room has a beautiful window on the forest which starts as a wall of nature just a few feet from our window/patio. We were disappointed that two out of the four jets in the outdoor swimming pool had cold water coming out (while the other two had warm water). This made swimming a very cold, uncomfortable affair. The lodge is about 45 minutes' drive from the Nyungwe Forest ranger station where all the walks and tours (such as the canopy tour) starts.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank DougS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This is a marvellous place, set in the middle of a tea plantation, with a backdrop of hills and forests. Service is outstanding, the architecture of the main lodge and bungalows perfect, so is the decoration. The food is good.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank French_US_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gafunzo
0.0 km away
Hotel Credo
Hotel Credo
#1 of 3 in Butare
20 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 6 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
2.4 km away
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#5 of 23 in Gisenyi
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Hakuna Matata Lodge View
Hakuna Matata Lodge View
#4 of 21 in Gisenyi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyungwe Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyungwe Forest Lodge

Address: Nyungwe Forest, Gafunzo 00250, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Western Province > Gafunzo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gafunzo
Price Range: ₹ 77,605 - ₹ 1,03,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nyungwe Forest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is the only five star establishment within the Nyungwe National Park area. It lies in a tea plantation on the edge of the Nyungwe closed canopy rain forest and comprises of 20 luxurious rooms and two Presidential Suites – with 2bedrooms – luxurious suites, one with a Jacuzzi, each equipped with private decks with views overlooking the vast forest terrain. Lodge facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, a boma for outdoor dining and sundowners, a restaurant with private terrace, a tea lounge and bar, a relaxation retreat with two treatment rooms, plus a fitness centre with treadmill, cycle and weights. The lodge also offers the latest in Wi-Fi technology with exclusive conferences facilities accommodating up to 18 delegates. Furthermore, the main lodge is wheelchair friendly with relevant facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Nyungwe Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nyungwe Forest Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing