We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
221
30
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
30
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea plantationcolobus monkeysnational parklong drivesoupsbeautiful settingcommon areasone of a kindevery mealexceptional servicehot waterchimp trekinfinity pooltreeslodgemidsttorch
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We were celebrating our 10th Anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better way to spend it. The views of the forest lull you into a relaxation that you just don't want to snap out of. While eating lunch on our first day we saw Colobus monkeys foraging from tree to tree, what a treat. The next morning we went to the pool and once again were treated to seeing Colobus monkeys. The service is excellent, our waiter Alain was very good, always ready with a smile. Food is excellent, presentation always appealing to the eyes. We spent two days here but could have easily spent a few more. We look forward to returning!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rakgadi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the Nyungwe Forest Lodge after a few days in other areas of Rwanda. The lodge is amazingly gorgeous. The beds were very comfortable, the food was good and the staff was friendly. The only thing I think they could improve is the service. It was a bit slow at meals.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ConfYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

After a very long drive from Gisenyi, we arrived when it was already dark. The main lodge has beautiful architecture and local art. The restaurant and the service was excellent: the buffet breakfast had many choices; and our lunches and dinners here were memorable. The room has a beautiful window on the forest which starts as a wall of nature just a few feet from our window/patio. We were disappointed that two out of the four jets in the outdoor swimming pool had cold water coming out (while the other two had warm water). This made swimming a very cold, uncomfortable affair. The lodge is about 45 minutes' drive from the Nyungwe Forest ranger station where all the walks and tours (such as the canopy tour) starts.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank DougS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This is a marvellous place, set in the middle of a tea plantation, with a backdrop of hills and forests. Service is outstanding, the architecture of the main lodge and bungalows perfect, so is the decoration. The food is good.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank French_US_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

To start, photos don't do this place justice. Someone below described the property as an 'oasis' and I echo those sentiments completely! Nyungwe Forest Lodge is an absolute example of a 5* property in Rwanda, from service to rooms to overall experience. The setting, amidst a tea plantation, is absolutely jaw-dropping; super green and lush and very peaceful. There are tea plantation tours on offer - we didn't do one, but I think it would be interesting having seen the expansive tea production done in the area.

The rooms are spectacular. Gorgeous views, a great bathroom with relaxing bathtub and awesome products. After a long flight and days of trekking it was so comforting coming back to the relaxation of our room. Wifi is a bit nonexistent in the rooms (at least where we were) but there is wifi in the main lobby area for anyone that needs to connect. We took our computers up to the lobby area nightly and enjoyed tea-infused cocktails near the fireplace while we caught up on a bit of work. The lobby and dining areas are beautifully decorated and well appointed and the service from all staff was wonderful. Alan was a gem for lunch and dinner service!

Speaking of dinner, we were pleasantly surprised with the food at Nyungwe. Dinners were universally very good with changing menus daily to keep the options fresh for guests. All in all, a wonderful experience and a place that I would highly recommend. Whether you're doing chimp trekking or not, it's worth spending a few days at Nyungwe Forest Lodge just to unwind and enjoy the beauty of Rwanda.

Room Tip: Rooms are gorgeous but those nearer to the lobby may be more successful with wifi
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lavidashannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews