We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holidays in Galicia”
Review of Hotel Maruxia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maruxia
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in O Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Nice hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner good, just wish they had adult size knives and forks at breakfast. One tip would be not to go during festival week or if the weather is very hot, as it was for our visit. No air conditioning in the rooms [not usually needed] which necessitated having windows open - to all the noise of a busy street and festival celebrations into the early hours.

Local bars and restaurants good value. sea food excellent!

Room Tip: ry to avoid a room overlooking the main street - busy all night when we visited
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2014

Many thanks to Tony,Mercedes,Jose and receptionist for a fantastic experience.
Large clean rooms,excellent maid service.Breakfast better than normal in Spain,plenty of variety.
Nothing was too much trouble for the crew and made our stay one of the best holidays in Spain.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley91053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My parents and I came to O grove to look at a new job I was offered. We arrive lated to the hotel and they were so accommodating and welcoming! They suggested a great restaurant. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious. You could tell they put in a lot of work to make the place more modern and it was very nice. Breakfast was good too - continental. Overall, I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone. If you're looking for a place that isn't over priced, ain't too fancy but nice, and good people who run it - this is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I'm not sure why this hotel has 3 stars, but it's certainly not deserving of it. It was in the high 80s (fahrenheit) when I arrived in O Grove, and when I asked if my room had A/C, the young woman at the front desk said it usually doesn't get that hot here, so no. Well, I find that hard to believe in August. At any rate, when I opened the windows, there was absolutely no air flowing through them so it was hot in my room. And, since I had to leave the windows open all night, it was incredibly loud. I also had to switch rooms because in the alley that my window opened to, there was a neighboring dog that barked incessantly for 2 hours and there was no way I was going to fall asleep with that.

Finally, the rooms have semi-old carpeting, are very dated and there is no ventilation or fan in the bathrooms. So, if you take warm shower, the steam will go into the main room and stay there. I took a rather cold shower since it was hot and there was still humidity just sitting in the stifling room. My room was pretty dark, but the one thing they did well was put a lot of lamps and light fixtures in there.

The good = service. The gentlemen at the desk when I came down to switch rooms was very helpful and accommodating. He also told me where to go to rent a bike and he knew a lot about the town, so that was all very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We have attended the seafood festival and stayed at this Hotel two years in succession. O Grove is a lovely little fishing town with beautiful beaches and interesting locations nearby. The town has much to offer in terms of bars and restaurants (especially seafood).

Hotel Maruxia is a smaller 3 star hotel. The welcome is special, staff friendly and professional. The hotel is clean and kept to a high standard of decor. The rooms are suberb and we enjoyed good nights sleep. Its location is just off the front, which is welcome during the festival as the front can get quite busy with visitors. Hotel Maruxia is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sturgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these O Grove hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Spa Norat O Grove
Hotel Spa Norat O Grove
#6 of 25 in O Grove
390 reviews
0.8 km away
Montemar
Montemar
#11 of 25 in O Grove
169 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Puente De La Toja
Hotel Puente De La Toja
#1 of 25 in O Grove
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Norat Marina & Spa
1.8 km away
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
#1 of 2 in Isla de la Toja
712 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Bosque-mar
Hotel Bosque-mar
#3 of 25 in O Grove
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maruxia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maruxia

Address: Avenida Luis Casais 14, 36980, O Grove, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > O Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in O Grove
Price Range: ₹ 3,026 - ₹ 8,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maruxia 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and comfortable hotel is located in the center of O Grove, 80 meters from the seafront promenade, fishing port, bus station and urban beach. The bright rooms at the Hotel Maruxia are equipped with flat-screen TV, safe, fridge, heating and free wi-fi, all accessible by elevators The hotel has a 24-hour reception, cafeteria and solarium terrace Within a radius of 200 meters from the hotel you will find a great variety of restaurants, where you can fully enjoy the local gastronomy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Maruxia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maruxia O Grove, Province Of Pontevedra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing