We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,649)
Filter reviews
4,649 results
Traveller rating
1,887
1,813
685
182
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,887
1,813
685
182
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace main pool costa sur half board nudist area plenty of choice family room pool view great holiday pool bar waiter service lovely hotel sofa bed something for everyone foam party kids club sun all day
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 4,649 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our fourth visit,the hotel was up to the usual high standard,obviously with the large turnover of guests, minor wear and tear will arise,there appeared to be maintenance teams out each day rectifying these.The staff were excellent many remembering us from previous visits. The revised payment system for extras seemed to work. The food was varied and well cooked. The evening entertainment was preferred at the front of the Hotel to the alternative variety show by the swimming pool. As always our main criticism must be the WiFi and TV reception. GF group must make a better effort to give its clients a modern high powered access to modern media.
We hope to return next year to see all our friends.

Room tip: Third or fourth floor overlooking the pool
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ian,
Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are always delighted to see our guests return.
We appreciate the feedback regarding our wifi and TV reception and can tell you that we are working to make improvements throughout the hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Thank you for mentioning our excellent staff, they will be delighted to see your comments.
Best regards
Manager, GF Fañabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well this was our first and last visit to the GF Fanabe. We have stayed down the road at the Gran Costa Adeje on several occasions, but felt it has got really expensive and was not a true 5 star experience, so decided to stay here with the family as it was a lot cheaper, and being the same hotel group we thought it would be much the same in most respects - how wrong we were... Firstly I would caution against the consistent 5 star review scores this hotel is getting. IMHO the reviewers are not being objective in their scores - you have been warned!
The following are my unbiased opinions based on many package holidays in similar hotels
Reception - very helpful for the most part - though we had to wait two days to move rooms away from directly above the entertainment to somewhere quieter.
Rooms - We had two family rooms, which are simply doubles or twins with fold-away bunk beds added. The rooms are dated, although do have functioning air-con and a small flat screen TV. Beware though, as there are only 4 UK TV channels, which only worked intermittently during our stay. The towels are very small and the provided toiletries of a very basic standard. Maid service though was very good. Safe is available for an extra charge, which is a poor show for supposed 4 star.
Public lounging spaces are very limited for a hotel this size and the ambience is pretty much non-existent. The service around the bar areas is poor, with long waits for drinks. There are too few staff, which was a common theme throughout the hotel. The quality of drinks available to AI guests is pretty poor, with the cheapest drinks only available without extra charge.
Restaurant - Too few staff trying valliantly in most cases to deliver an acceptable level of service. The food was mostly lukewarm at best and much of it fairly low quality with a limited selection. The pizzas however were very good. There are areas where meat and fish etc. is freshly grilled, but there was almost always a long queue for this and the chefs did not cook in advance even at very busy times. This seemed to me to be a deliberate tactic to deter people from waiting and save money (again). Overall, every meal was a bun fight and not at all a relaxing experience.
Very limited public toilets throughout the hotel, so constantly busy, with one hand drier only and no paper towels anywhere. I know the hotels will say this an environmental measure, but then they would say that wouldn't they. for me just cost saving.
The pool area is not great, as only half of the terraces get any sun at all, and despite having a no sunbed

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roadworn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at GF Fañabe.
We regret that, in some aspects, we have not fully met your expectations on this occasion, however, we will review all the issues raised and will continue to work to introduce all possible improvements. We are sorry you were not happy with the position of your original room. For any guest who is dissatisfied with the location of their room, we will always try to offer a room change. Due to our high occupancy, sometimes it is not possible the same day, but we always try to change the room as soon as possible.
We regret that you did not find our food service to be satisfactory. We try to offer something to everyone´s tastes, however, we appreciate your feedback and it will be discussed with our chef. We are sorry that our 5 swimming pools did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate your positive comments about our reception staff and our chambermaids, which we will pass on. We hope you will offer us a new opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Manager, GF Fañabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed my early winter week but hotel needs some attention to be classed as 4*. Rooms are clean and comfortable but dated. Cracked floor tiles and a cracked bathroom sink didn’t make for a good impression. Air conditioning in our room was inadequate and there is no ventilation in the bathrooms...must be awful in the really hot summer months! Nice pool area but large part of it is shaded for most of the day. We opted for adults only roof top terrace which was quieter and had lovely views. On an all inclusive package, we were a bit disappointed with the drinks available and, in fact, some were not available at all. Slow bar service in the lobby bar...waited 20 minutes one evening. Food variety is good but quality could be better...the usual buffet issues, lukewarm food and everything cooked in oil! Fresh cooked options were good, always a choice of a couple of different meats and fish. Entertainment is a bit of a hit or miss...the later evening shows at the pool bar are excessively noisy. Most staff are very friendly and helpful, just a few who made me feel like they were doing me a favour! Would I go back? Probably not.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Suej09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your time spent sharing your experience at GF Fañabe. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the service.
Regarding the drinks, we regret that you felt disappointed about drinks which are not included in the programme; we can say that we offer a special discount for all our guests who booked All Inclusive.
We are pleased you felt comfortable in our rooms and that you appreciated the hard work of our housekeeping team. In our restaurant, we always strive to prepare fresh products in the moment and we are pleased you enjoyed these. Thank you also for the nice comment about our staff. Finally, please accept our sincere apologies if you could not spend your holiday as you would have expected.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to GF Fañabe to assure you about our high standards and exceptional service.
Kind regards
Manager, GF Fañabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff are friendly, always say hello, entertainment was ok, rooms are quite dated, and you only have one plug socket, big enough for a family of 3, but would be a bit of a squash with 4 maybe, we had a pool view, but it had no sun on the balcony all day,which was a shame, but was still nice,roof top pool is nice, with two dip pools and a bar, lovely views of mountains and sea, food great,always find something, even for the fussy eaters, I would definitely return to this hotel some day.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Gerente at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mandy,

Thank you for sharing your review with us after your stay in our GF Fañabe.
We are pleased to read that you were much satisfied with our lovely hotel, our friendly staff, the roof top pool and our great food.
It would be a pleasure to see you again in the near future.

Best regards
Manager, GF Fañabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a week all inclusive. Overall a good trip. The hotel was well located, easy to walk to the beach, and it was spotlessly clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. They all dressed up to celebrate Halloween. The kids enjoyed the kids club activities.

On the downside the family rooms were very small, I think the same as a double room from the photos, and the 4 of us were squeezed in. There was no air con in October, and with so many in a small space the nights were rather stifling. Our room overlooked a service area and we were woken by deliveries at night, so no possibility of sleeping with the door to the balcony open.

The food was fine, not amazing but ok. Dining staff were again very nice.

Overall, a good hotel, although the ‘fanily’ room let it down.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Salis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews