We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, but could be Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Excellent Hotel, great food, lovely setting, polite staff - but with just a little effort it could be so much better!

1. The dishes / glasses are not always clean (obviously not checked after coming out of dishwasher).
2. The hotel is very busy at weekends with locals / Spaniards.
3. The hard working staff in the buffet restaurant do sometimes struggle to cope - as not enough staff are employed there.

Other than these very minor points, it's a great place to relax, and enjoy some great food and drink.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wgatess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,962 - 4,966 of 6,341 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2007

Stayed in Bahia Principe Costa Adeje from 11th - 18th May and we were
very impressed. I travelled with my husband and 2 kids aged 3 and 1!!
The food was lovely - buffet restaurant was excellant and the al la carte restaurants were definitely worth a visit. The hotel is a bit out of the way - but this suited us and we didnt leave the complex at all!!! We stayed in a villa suite - room very clean and we had an enormous veranda which overlooked the hotel! The only complaint I would have is that they could do with more in the way of kids entertainment - they had a very small play area but I feel considering the size of the complex they should have something more substantial!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel - the self serve bar was a great idea and the daily restocking of mini bars a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ashmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2007

Just back this morning from the Bahia Principe with 13 other females.
While I would have to agree with the majority of reviews about the excellent food and complex facilities, we as a group had major problems. All of the reception staff bar the nice guy with glasses and small beard were obnoxious and couldn't care less. Customer care is not a priority with them. In fact as a guest you appear to be a problem for them if you do not take your key and go away. We booked one single room at a supplement, one treble room and five twins. We requested three proper beds in the treble room. What we got were double beds in the twin rooms and an extra camp bed with a double bed in the treble. Not good enough when everyone is paying full price. They could not understand why mature friends had a problem sharing a bed.

There was also a problem with keys. Three adults sharing a room could only get two keys as the third one was for emergencies. Also had to request a third glass, chair etc. Mini bar was supplied for two throughout the week. If they sell a room to three adults it should be suitable for three adults. While this is a beautiful place it is far from 5 star by Irish Standards.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BasketcaseSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

Went to this hotel for one week from May 8th it was the best holiday we have had for sometime. Food excellent and lots of choices, location ideal for those who want a quiet holiday as the hotel is a bit out of the way,there are free buses for those who want to visit the main resort. Entertainment was fine but not outstanding,Gardens are lovely well landscaped, choice of 2 pools one heated and one to cool off in. the facilities were first class, a nice little Gym ,Sauna and jecusie all well looked after.Staff were very friendly and polite, reception desk staff very helpful As an AI deal it was really good value for money especially if you liked a drink .
Met a couple on there 9th visit I think that say, alot for this hotel.Will be looking to return agian this year.

Stayed: May 2007
6  Thank RobbieAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

I had written a review back in 2005 and wanted to give an update since visiting back in December 2006 and Apr/May 2007.

Our family are frequent holiday makers to this complex and its good news, its thumbs up all the way. The complex comprises of two hotels sprawling along the Adeje coastline - 15 minuites from the airport (depending how fast the taxi driver is!!) and maybe 10 minuites from Playa Las Americas.

We have stayed at both hotels Adeje & Tenerife, both are 4* sup/5* respectively and are located next to each other. Importantly, not a lot of visitors are aware that the facilities can be shared, so if you're staying at the Adeje hotel and it's busy you can always take a 2 min walk up the hill to the Tenerife complex and use their facilities/pool and sun loungers. In Dec 06 & Apr/May 07 we stayed at the Tenerife hotel as all the rooms are Junior suites and can cater for larger families, not forgetting to mention - larger rooms, ceiling fans, aircon, whirlpool bath etc.

If you're looking for a holiday that does everything it says on the tin - don't look any further. The Tenerife complex is very well presented and maintained and has immaculate facilities and gardens. Logistically it's the best hotel and very easy to get around especially when it's half the size of the Adeje hotel. If you're looking for local pubs bars or a beach - you'll have to go to Playa Pariso - 20min walk or alternatively, the hotel provide a courtesy bus to Playa Las Americas daily.

The hotel complex does attract many nationalaties and isn't cheap, so don't be worried about bumping into lager lout brits every five minutes - the cultural diversity isn't something that bothers us in the slightest and to be honest, we met some very nice people from all walks of life and nationalities. A strong point of mention is the security. Both hotels have good perimiter fencing, 24hr manned secuirty patrols and well lit walkways and corridoors.

All the facilities are within easy reach, tennis courts, ping-pong, swimming pools, Jacuzzis' etc. If you want a massage or want to play sqaush, you will have to make a reservation at the Adeje hotel.

During a two week stay you are perimitted to dine a la carte at a choice of five restaurants within the complex. This time around we dined at both the Mexican and Italian and both meals were pleasant.

The buffet restaurants are excellent - a good choice of food served three times daily. Breakfast was our particular favourite as fresh omelettes/eggs etc are prepared to your likening.

The day time activity programme is good for adults and the entertainment and mini club staff are excellent . Light musical evening entertainment is provided in the lobby bar of each hotel, if you have children you will be suited to going over the road to a central area catering for mini disco, shows, shops, arcades and childrens stalls. Only drawback - you'll have to go to the bar inside the Adeje hotel and bring your drinks back to the Pueblo Principe (central entertainment area), otherwise - you'll have to purchase drinks in the bar situated in the square. Also - All Inclusive bars close early - it used to be 23:30, now 23:00 so we get a couple of rounds in before closing time.

It's becoming a very popular resort in Tenerife and during the last four years we have noticed that the prices have begun to increase and availability can be tricky - so book early. Try to use an independant agent vs a tour operator as you could save around £500 - £600.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank BaronNorthLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
5.3 km away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,269 reviews
4.5 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,893 reviews
3.3 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.3 km away
Sunlight Bahia Principe Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Address: Calle Idafe s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: ₹ 12,082 - ₹ 22,494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas 1 Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel) Towel service (prior deposit required) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym Access to the squash court, tennis courts and mini-golf at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel Golf course at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel WiFi (no additional charge) 4 restaurants 3 Bars Meeting and convention rooms Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 498 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Balcony or terrace Bathroom: bath tub, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar Bathroom amenities Junior Suite: hydromassage bath tub, sofa-bed, sitting area, telephone in the bathroom Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Porter service Covered car park Laundry Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Selection of dishes for vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics (prior notification required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Hotel Adeje
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Bahia Principe Costa Hotel Adeje
Adeje Bahia Principe Costa
Adeje Bahia Costa Principe
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife
Bahia Principe Hotel Tenerife
Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing