We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this hotel to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2006

My husband, myself and 8 year old son have just returned from a 2 week holiday on 24th October and for the first time ever in my life, we didn't want to come home.
First impressions were WOW. What a place. Yes it does seem to be in the middle of nowhere, but that is what we booked.
We arrived at 6pm to be informed that our room wasn't ready BUT we had been upgraded for the night to a junior suite (we booked standard double). It didn't end there. In compensation they upgraded our all inclusive armbands from blue to gold. (We didn't know there were different types) Gold meant we could get our drinks for nothing in the Sports bar in the Plaza (small supplement to blue band wearers), free use of the safe (usually 30 euros), a bottle of Cava and basket of fruit.
We got in our room the following day and they put us in a poolside/sea view room on the 4th floor.
Very clean, staff soooo helpful and friendly. So many reviews I have read state that the staff are not nice. All it takes is a smile and an Ola and they are putty in your hands. I now know how to make a swan from a bath towel. (Thanks to our maid)
The first 10 days were fantastic as it was still term time. On the 11th day it all went a bit pear shaped. I've never seen so many people and there were no extra staff to deal with the demand.
Sun parasols suddenly grew legs. We left the beds to go in the pool one day and had been barely gone 5 mins when someone stole it.
The animation staff work so hard to entertain everyone and I have to warn you there is a hotel song that I am STILL singing. You have been warned.
The food was good quality but I have to say after a while you tend to be 'buffeyed out' and wanted plain old boring pie and mash.
There are plenty of sun beds but unfortunately the usual happens and people set their alarms to put their towels on them.
Don't let this put you off. Please make your own minds up. This is a fantastic hotel and we had a wonderful holiday. I would definately return but not during the school holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank phildebdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,999 - 5,003 of 6,343 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2006

this hotel is fantastic. i am only 18 but i enjoyed the entertainment in the day with the animation team joining in all the activities. the animation team are really friendly and make you have a great laugh. they all work really hard especially katie and sandra. the evening entertainment wasnt as good as they didnt really sing it was on the cd.
the food is great as theres lots to choose from even other restaurants. the weather was hot it reached 33 and was around that for the rest of the holiday. the rooms are nice and clean.
i would love to come back again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank AnneMariehodgskinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2006

This hotel is undoubtedly the best hotel in Tenerife. Our stay was initiated by our travel agent, Shawn, at Travelsoon in romford, Essex. We had an excellent deal on the Junior Executive suite at the Bahia Principe in Costa Adeje. Though it is traditionally a very expensive hotel, I am pleased to say that it was worth every cent. We enjoyed the lavish surroundings and the food was beyond exquisite. For a four star hotel, the staff outdo themselves to accomodate guests. Cleanliness and staff effciency were absolutely fantastic. The children were ecstatic about the mini club as well. It must have been the ONLY hotel, which we have ever been to, where the children were excited to be up and abut every single morning. As far as adult conveniences, I found the spa services to meet even the most discerning of guests. Overall, the hotel excuded good taste and is a worthwhile investment for familes and couples alike. We are impressed. Very impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank DrJones1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

Disappointing

Arriving at the hotel just after midday on a Saturday, for a 9-day holiday, we were not surprised to be told that our room wouldn't be available until 2.00 pm. Fair enough. We confirmed our request made at the time of booking - which was to not have a ground-floor room - and were told it shouldn't be a problem.

After further delays we eventually got a key at 3.00pm. We were given a room in block 8. We found this wasn't in the main blocks, but was in a set of 4 or 5 villa-style buildings of 8 rooms each on the opposite side of the complex. Not what we'd expected. In fact having looked again at brochures, hotel publicity shots, and the photos on TripAdvisor, I've yet to see these rooms mentioned or photographed anywhere. And, you've guessed it, we had a ground-floor room. One whose bedroom was overlooked by two balconies in the adjacent villa, and whose patio area doubled up as a pathway.

A decent hotel should offer a room-change at the earliest opportunity so we returned to reception to ask for one. After all, we only wanted a non-ground floor room in the main block; probably 85% of the rooms meet this criteria. We'd underestimated the Bahia's stubbornness. They blamed the travel agent for not passing on the 'special request' and wouldn't offer a room change. So something that should have been sorted out quickly involved phone-calls to the UK to drag the agent into the argument. Eventually we were promised a room change on the Monday.

Back to the room to find there was no hot water. A mechanic came, tested the water, went outside, returned and said we'd have hot water in 5 minutes, which we did. It had taken us 5 hours to get from Manchester to the Bahia's reception; it had then taken 6 further hours to get inside a room and have a hot shower. The next morning again no hot water. The mechanic came and fixed it again. It was beginning to look as though we'd need to phone reception every time we wanted a hot shower.

And then the Bahia tried to slide the room change to the Tuesday! And, frankly, began to insult my intelligence. When I pointed out that we were surrounded by people checking-out so there were obviously rooms coming available, they said it was unfortunate but everyone had come from a ground-floor room. More phone-calls to the agent, this time asking them to sort it or get us into another hotel. Finally the Bahia began to deliver.

So putting these service issue's aside what about the hotel?

Rooms are excellent (even the villa rooms), as well equipped as any I've stayed in. The rooms, blocks and resort - with the exception of the bar area - are spotless. The cactus gardens are excellent and unusual. The pool areas are OK - we especially liked the infinity pool area. There are more than enough loungers; parasols are in shorter supply. Lounger and parasol reservation is rife - the hotel does not enforce its own rules.

The main restaurant buffet food is not of the quality you'd expect; it's OK, but boring after a while. Quite uninspired. For instance, there's more tinned fruit available than fresh. The Asian restaurant in the Bahia Tenerife was probably the best meal. The snack-bar area at the infinity pool has an extremely limited menu (5 or 6 items). Its a 'going-through-the-motions' exercise. Its run by one person only a lot of the time.

The bar is horrible. Clearing tables is only done as a last resort (when they've run out of glasses?), so you either sit amongst other peoples dregs or do your own clearing. And I do object to the only bottles on display being those that you pay extra for. We ended up taking the a short stroll up to the Bahia Tenerife for our drinking - it offers everything that the Costa Adeje doesn't - pleasant staff, refined atmosphere and always clean tables.

The car-hire facilities are excellent - Niza cars operate out of the reps room. You don't even need a credit-card (as long as you have 100 euros for the returnable deposit), just a driving licence, and a standard car is about 45 euros a day.

Would we return?

No. For all-inclusive we'd revert to using the better hotels in the Dominican Republic which are in the same price band as this hotel. They are massively superior.

And if we return to Tenerife, we are unlikely to go all-inclusive again. When you pay as you go you have far more control over the quality of what you receive.


  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank boycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

Stayed at the hotel for a week with my wife and 3 year old son.We had a fantastic time, my son enjoyed the great pool all week long .Our room was a junior suite, which had a great location and was also a good size ,and kept extremely clean.All inclusive package was good for us as my wee lad could nibble at meal times. The food in my opinion was fantastic, and any negative comments from others on this site make me think what is it they want, because at every meal time the choice and quality of food was incredible.If i have a negative comment about the main resteraunt it would be that it is under staffed at busy times, this can annoy you as plates and glasses are not cleared quickly enough.
All inclusive drink, beer was ok, gin was poor or so im told, wine was ok , white rum ok, brandy very bad, fizzy wine not for me.
If you cant find anything that IS your taste , it costs around 1euro 80 for named spirits, lets face it, that doesnt break the bank.
Idid find the site of some people hammering the free drink a bit embarresing at times, but well why not, they are on holiday and not many people abused it.
Location of the hotel wont do you if you want shops etc, the hotel is a good few minutes by taxi to costa adeje, but if you want a great time , and a relaxing break this is for you.
Would i advise others to go here, yes without doubt. Some small things may not be for you but all in all we had a great time, and indeed will go back some day.
ENJOY

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank ssayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
5.3 km away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,271 reviews
4.5 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,894 reviews
3.3 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.3 km away
Sunlight Bahia Principe Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Address: Calle Idafe s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: ₹ 12,054 - ₹ 22,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas 1 Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel) Towel service (prior deposit required) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym Access to the squash court, tennis courts and mini-golf at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel Golf course at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel WiFi (no additional charge) 4 restaurants 3 Bars Meeting and convention rooms Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 498 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Balcony or terrace Bathroom: bath tub, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar Bathroom amenities Junior Suite: hydromassage bath tub, sofa-bed, sitting area, telephone in the bathroom Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Porter service Covered car park Laundry Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Selection of dishes for vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics (prior notification required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Hotel Adeje
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Bahia Principe Costa Hotel Adeje
Adeje Bahia Principe Costa
Adeje Bahia Costa Principe
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife
Bahia Principe Hotel Tenerife
Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing