We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in early May and even then it was very busy, however we had no problems being seated in the restaurants or getting a sunbed at the pools.
We arrived at the back of two in the afternoon and on check in were told we would not be able to get pool towel cards or safe keys until 17.00, the reasoning being that they had to get everyone checked in to allow them to get lunch before the restaurant closed at 15.00. As we eager to get to the pool, it was a bit annoying we could not get the towels till the next day.
A couple we met who were regular visitors advised us to book the speciality restaurants right away to ensure that we got the days and times that suited. The info given on arrival states you can only book between 10.30-13.00, however the girl on the customer relations desk was quite happy to take our booking at 15.00 on the day we arrived. The Mexican was the best of the three we chose. The main restaurant could not be faulted, there was ample food with a wide choice. The staff were first class and couldn't do enough for you, as soon as your drink was finished they were up re-filling your glass.
This is the first AI I have been at where the the beer pumps and bottles of spirits were on the customer's side. The only time you had to use the bar staff was if you wanted cocktails or spirits like honey rum. The bars in the entertainment square are not included in the AI and you have to pay, however we found them reasonable. One of them shows all the sport.
The rooms were okay and the couple of problems we had were fixed very quickly.
The pool areas were very good, the bottom pool being an infinity pool with a depth of 1.45 metres. The only gripe being that in most 4 stars I have stayed in the sunbeds were equipped with mattresses, however this one only had bog standard sunbeds and after a few hours became quite uncomfortable.
As has been said before this hotel is totally isolated and even to get to the busy bit of Adeje is 12 euros in a taxi. Playa Paraiso is the nearest resort which you can access via the path to the beach outside block 6 and then up the other side. It takes about 20-30 mins to walk and when you get there you will only find a few bars and restaurants all on one street. There is a courtesy bus into Las Americas that leaves at 12.00 and returns at 18.00, but you have to book the day previous to make sure you get a seat.
Did we have a good time? Yes, was it value for money? Yes, would we go back? No, but this is purely on the remoteness of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Guests,

Thanks for your time in writing about Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and service in the restaurants, swimming-pools, Reception, Customer Service, etc.

Your review about the location of the hotel and the paying bars in Pueblo Príncipe (the entertainment area) can be very useful for other guests who might be thinking of coming on holidays. Thank you very much.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,063 - 4,067 of 6,348 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks from the 18th May 2012 (me, my wife our 4 month old and his grandparents). We stayed here as my mother and father in law had stayed here before and liked it.

The hotel is claimed by Thomas cook to be a 5* hotel but it is not. It is a good 4* hotel and to be fair to the hotel they do not claim to be a 5* this is only Thomas Cooks rating the hotel actually states itself to be a 4* so where Thomas cook made the extra star from i am not sure.

I have read reviews on here about the cleanliness of the hotel and its grounds and the lack of sun beds and i would like to try and add to this. Between us we have stayed in some very nice hotels around the world and the grounds here equal most of these. I believe in credit where credit is due and this hotel can only be described as spotless outside and in. The rooms, dining area, pool area the lot, immaculate!!! They clean it constantly, so not sure how anyone could think it dirty or untidy. As for the sun beds & Parasols i agree there are not enough and nowhere near to meet peak demand. Our first week was not too bad but the second was the week before the school holidays in the UK and it was a struggle for some to get beds. You need to be up and select them by 7.30 and then stay with them till after 8 to ensure the staff do not take your towels and stuff off them. There are lots of sun beds it is just that with the location of the hotel been far from any beech or resort there is little else for people to do than be poolside. As such i think they have underestimated how many sun beds they will actually need. Also if you don't get one like i have just said there is no beech or resort as such to go to. Playa Pariso is near but still a 20min walk at best and that is if you can manage the cliff steps which with a buggy we could not (or a 5 euro taxi ride each way) but there is not much there and still not a decent beach.

The biggest down fall for the hotel to me is the cost of Wi-Fi and the lack of different bars open at night that are included in the all-inclusive price. Wi-Fi is there but only in the lobby and poolside and it is 25 Euros per week! This to me is absolutely disgusting for how much this costs to provide now to guests. In my opinion all hotels should provide this inclusive and certainly not at this RIP OFF price it will certainly stop me booking with any Bahia Principe resort in the future. The lobby bar is nice and there is a singer on every night on the balcony but seats out there are very limited so you end up sitting inside the lobby every night, which become a little bit same same sort of thing. You can go to the sister hotel across the road but it is much the same layout and styling etc so not really much point. Inbetween the 2 hotels the Costa Adeje and the Tenerife they have built a square with a few tack shops round and it is where the shows are every evening. There are two bars there too but they are pay bars and the nearest all-inclusive bar is, you guessed it the main lobby bar!!! If it is sold as all-inclusive it should be all inclusive not try and charge you for the bars closer to the entertainment!

In summary the holiday was nice and the hotel is clean and well looked after and we had a good time. I personally would not return just due to the fact i have been there seen it and done it and there is not enough to do to warrant me returning. I would go back to tenerife and stay in Adeje itself where there is more to do. That does not mean i would not recommend staying here. If you are looking for a nice quite family holiday and are not bothered about leaving the resort it will be brilliant for you and i am sure you will not be disappointed. By the way the mexican restaurant was my personal favorite!

Room Tip: we had room 6206 a junior suite and suite 6210 both were very good rooms. If you have children and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrdwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your review about your recent family holiday in our hotel.

Thank you for your nice words about the level of cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff.

We have taken note of your comments about the amount of sunbeds and parasols. As you have stated, there are plenty of them. In the early morning the whole solarium area is covered with them and we always keep a few in stock for those guests who arrive later on and request them. Besides, we avoid the very early bookings before 8,00h and we have also ordered a new load of sunbeds for this summer.

We know that the hotel can be considered a bit isolated for some people and that we do not have a beach. However, we have plenty of other Bahía Príncipe hotels in the Caribbean, Mexico and Jamaica which can be suitable for you and we would like to recommend you. You can have a look in our web site.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just back from this great hotel having spent a lovely family holiday,we booked the hotel having read all of the positive reviews from previous guests at the hotel, and we were not disappointed apart from the lack of security staff ,but more of that latter.

Upon arrival we were dealt with quickly by the reception staff and given advise and information as to the hotel and its various facilities, we stayed in block three on the fifth floor which had a great view of the pool area and lovely gardens which as commented on by previous guests are amazing, with a stream and water fall flowing down through the centre of the garden complex, the staff are all ways on hand daily cutting, pruning and maintaining not just the gardens, but the whole complex, every building decorated to a high standard.

Prior to booking, or upon arrival ask for a high level room, as this allows you the breeze at night, as well as a lovely view of the surrounding complex and off out to Las Americas or the mountains in the distance.

While we were there the staff commented to us that the hotel was full and they had no more rooms,not a problem for us given the size of the hotel, and amount of staff to deal with all the guests who were mostly Brits, German and Spanish holiday makers having a fantastic time.

Only concern we had was about the lack of security, yes there are staff at the front entrance to this hotel, but it is a large area with no one patrolling the inside of the grounds at night,a near by camp site of Spanish travellers up set some fellow guests when they left the confines of the hotel grounds at night for a walk with their children, they were reported to be also seen as being found to be wandering around the grounds at night picking up what ever was left out side the hotel villas, which are at the edge of the hotel, and can be accessed by means of jumping across a small wall into the complex from their near by camp site .....

An other incident occurred when an elderly male hotel guest decided to kick and bang on his door to get back into his room for twenty minutes totally naked in the corridor at 12.30am, waking up the whole block of other guests, and making me question the security staff at the complex or lack of them for such a large and isolated hotel as it was at least 15 minutes before
one guard sauntered along to find out what the problem was all about.(Pity he did not have a towel with him for our friend in the corridor)...

Given the lack of security and isolation of the hotel and comments of other guests with regards to the camp site, we would not be returning


.

.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guests,

We are very glad to read that you have had a lovely family holiday in Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje.

Thank you for your comments about the excellent position of the room, the lovely views and gardens.

We understand your worries about the occasional campers on the nearby land to the hotel. We have already put this issue in the hands of the Regional Authorities and hope they can help us with it. Meanwhile, we have increased the security and have a security guard walking around the area of the infinity pool day and night on the peak weekends.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great hotel in stunning grounds in a remote location however a quick taxi takes you to all the hussle and activity in Las Americas. Room was very nice, food excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. All that you want in a holiday. Would certainly choose again if back in Tenerife.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liampc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje.

We are very glad that you keep a nice souvenir of our nice rooms, excellent food and friendly staff.

We would also like to see you again in Bahía Príncipe.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Having just stayed a week in Bahia Principe all I can say is....
Food = Incredible, I couldn't find anything I liked.
Room = stunning, worst nights sleep ever
Drink = Plentiful, sober every night
Grounds = well kept, had to fight through bushes to get to the room. 
Access = Free work out.
Staff = abrupt, always very helpful

All in all = Terrible, booked another week in June.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bbbbbb12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
5.3 km away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,273 reviews
4.5 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,895 reviews
3.3 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.3 km away
Sunlight Bahia Principe Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje

Address: Calle Idafe s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: ₹ 11,990 - ₹ 22,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas 1 Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel) Towel service (prior deposit required) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym Access to the squash court, tennis courts and mini-golf at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel Golf course at the Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel WiFi (no additional charge) 4 restaurants 3 Bars Meeting and convention rooms Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 498 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Balcony or terrace Bathroom: bath tub, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar Bathroom amenities Junior Suite: hydromassage bath tub, sofa-bed, sitting area, telephone in the bathroom Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Porter service Covered car park Laundry Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Selection of dishes for vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics (prior notification required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Hotel Adeje
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Bahia Principe Costa Hotel Adeje
Adeje Bahia Principe Costa
Adeje Bahia Costa Principe
Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife
Bahia Principe Hotel Tenerife
Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing