We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,670)
Filter reviews
6,670 results
Traveller rating
3,733
1,976
647
193
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,733
1,976
647
193
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poola la carte restaurantsbrazilian restaurantself servicelobby barthomas cooksister hotelmain buffetfree busrelaxing holidayon taplas americascaviarsoft drinksevening entertainmentjunior suitesan miguel
Filter
Updating list...
4,307 - 4,312 of 6,670 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks from the 18th May 2012 (me, my wife our 4 month old and his grandparents). We stayed here as my mother and father in law had stayed here before and liked it.

The hotel is claimed by Thomas cook to be a 5* hotel but it is not. It is a good 4* hotel and to be fair to the hotel they do not claim to be a 5* this is only Thomas Cooks rating the hotel actually states itself to be a 4* so where Thomas cook made the extra star from i am not sure.

I have read reviews on here about the cleanliness of the hotel and its grounds and the lack of sun beds and i would like to try and add to this. Between us we have stayed in some very nice hotels around the world and the grounds here equal most of these. I believe in credit where credit is due and this hotel can only be described as spotless outside and in. The rooms, dining area, pool area the lot, immaculate!!! They clean it constantly, so not sure how anyone could think it dirty or untidy. As for the sun beds & Parasols i agree there are not enough and nowhere near to meet peak demand. Our first week was not too bad but the second was the week before the school holidays in the UK and it was a struggle for some to get beds. You need to be up and select them by 7.30 and then stay with them till after 8 to ensure the staff do not take your towels and stuff off them. There are lots of sun beds it is just that with the location of the hotel been far from any beech or resort there is little else for people to do than be poolside. As such i think they have underestimated how many sun beds they will actually need. Also if you don't get one like i have just said there is no beech or resort as such to go to. Playa Pariso is near but still a 20min walk at best and that is if you can manage the cliff steps which with a buggy we could not (or a 5 euro taxi ride each way) but there is not much there and still not a decent beach.

The biggest down fall for the hotel to me is the cost of Wi-Fi and the lack of different bars open at night that are included in the all-inclusive price. Wi-Fi is there but only in the lobby and poolside and it is 25 Euros per week! This to me is absolutely disgusting for how much this costs to provide now to guests. In my opinion all hotels should provide this inclusive and certainly not at this RIP OFF price it will certainly stop me booking with any Bahia Principe resort in the future. The lobby bar is nice and there is a singer on every night on the balcony but seats out there are very limited so you end up sitting inside the lobby every night, which become a little bit same same sort of thing. You can go to the sister hotel across the road but it is much the same layout and styling etc so not really much point. Inbetween the 2 hotels the Costa Adeje and the Tenerife they have built a square with a few tack shops round and it is where the shows are every evening. There are two bars there too but they are pay bars and the nearest all-inclusive bar is, you guessed it the main lobby bar!!! If it is sold as all-inclusive it should be all inclusive not try and charge you for the bars closer to the entertainment!

In summary the holiday was nice and the hotel is clean and well looked after and we had a good time. I personally would not return just due to the fact i have been there seen it and done it and there is not enough to do to warrant me returning. I would go back to tenerife and stay in Adeje itself where there is more to do. That does not mean i would not recommend staying here. If you are looking for a nice quite family holiday and are not bothered about leaving the resort it will be brilliant for you and i am sure you will not be disappointed. By the way the mexican restaurant was my personal favorite!

Room Tip: we had room 6206 a junior suite and suite 6210 both were very good rooms. If you have children and can afford the extra i would get a junior suite as the extra room will be useful. 6210 had a nice quite view of the cove while 6202 had the same view it was obstructed by a tree.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrdwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your review about your recent family holiday in our hotel.

Thank you for your nice words about the level of cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff.

We have taken note of your comments about the amount of sunbeds and parasols. As you have stated, there are plenty of them. In the early morning the whole solarium area is covered with them and we always keep a few in stock for those guests who arrive later on and request them. Besides, we avoid the very early bookings before 8,00h and we have also ordered a new load of sunbeds for this summer.

We know that the hotel can be considered a bit isolated for some people and that we do not have a beach. However, we have plenty of other Bahía Príncipe hotels in the Caribbean, Mexico and Jamaica which can be suitable for you and we would like to recommend you. You can have a look in our web site.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just back from this great hotel having spent a lovely family holiday,we booked the hotel having read all of the positive reviews from previous guests at the hotel, and we were not disappointed apart from the lack of security staff ,but more of that latter.

Upon arrival we were dealt with quickly by the reception staff and given advise and information as to the hotel and its various facilities, we stayed in block three on the fifth floor which had a great view of the pool area and lovely gardens which as commented on by previous guests are amazing, with a stream and water fall flowing down through the centre of the garden complex, the staff are all ways on hand daily cutting, pruning and maintaining not just the gardens, but the whole complex, every building decorated to a high standard.

Prior to booking, or upon arrival ask for a high level room, as this allows you the breeze at night, as well as a lovely view of the surrounding complex and off out to Las Americas or the mountains in the distance.

While we were there the staff commented to us that the hotel was full and they had no more rooms,not a problem for us given the size of the hotel, and amount of staff to deal with all the guests who were mostly Brits, German and Spanish holiday makers having a fantastic time.

Only concern we had was about the lack of security, yes there are staff at the front entrance to this hotel, but it is a large area with no one patrolling the inside of the grounds at night,a near by camp site of Spanish travellers up set some fellow guests when they left the confines of the hotel grounds at night for a walk with their children, they were reported to be also seen as being found to be wandering around the grounds at night picking up what ever was left out side the hotel villas, which are at the edge of the hotel, and can be accessed by means of jumping across a small wall into the complex from their near by camp site .....

An other incident occurred when an elderly male hotel guest decided to kick and bang on his door to get back into his room for twenty minutes totally naked in the corridor at 12.30am, waking up the whole block of other guests, and making me question the security staff at the complex or lack of them for such a large and isolated hotel as it was at least 15 minutes before
one guard sauntered along to find out what the problem was all about.(Pity he did not have a towel with him for our friend in the corridor)...

Given the lack of security and isolation of the hotel and comments of other guests with regards to the camp site, we would not be returning


.

.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guests,

We are very glad to read that you have had a lovely family holiday in Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje.

Thank you for your comments about the excellent position of the room, the lovely views and gardens.

We understand your worries about the occasional campers on the nearby land to the hotel. We have already put this issue in the hands of the Regional Authorities and hope they can help us with it. Meanwhile, we have increased the security and have a security guard walking around the area of the infinity pool day and night on the peak weekends.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great hotel in stunning grounds in a remote location however a quick taxi takes you to all the hussle and activity in Las Americas. Room was very nice, food excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. All that you want in a holiday. Would certainly choose again if back in Tenerife.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liampc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje.

We are very glad that you keep a nice souvenir of our nice rooms, excellent food and friendly staff.

We would also like to see you again in Bahía Príncipe.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Having just stayed a week in Bahia Principe all I can say is....
Food = Incredible, I couldn't find anything I liked.
Room = stunning, worst nights sleep ever
Drink = Plentiful, sober every night
Grounds = well kept, had to fight through bushes to get to the room. 
Access = Free work out.
Staff = abrupt, always very helpful

All in all = Terrible, booked another week in June.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bbbbbb12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Having just spent a week at the Bahia Principe all I can say is...fantastic, if you want nothing but relaxation and amazing food.

Can not fault the hotel. Be aware that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere (it is a 4 and a half hour walk to Las Americas following the coast line which is the only way) or 20 minutes (20euro) in a taxi but even there is just full of cheap and tacky bars and shops.

From reading the previous negatives reviews an comments before coming here all I can say is the English love to complain, so don't listen to the negatives and enjoy your stay.

One tip: leave a couple of euro tip and a note in the rooms mini bar if you want to come back to your room with a full to the brim fridge of drinks :) works a treat.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjwhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Sunlight Bahia Principe Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your time in writing about Bahía Príncipe Hotel.

We appreciate your comments and think that they can be very useful for other people who are thinking of coming on holidays to the hotel.

We hope to welcome you once again.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews