We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playa Park
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed 24 October 2006

My husband and I spent a week at Rui Playa Park from 13-20 October 2006. At first I was very concerned when I realised that there didn’t seem to be any other British people either in the hotel or when we went for a walk in Playa de Palma.

However we could not find any fault with the hotel itself. The rooms are scrupulously clean and comfortable and the food on offer in the dining room was amazing. We had spent our first week on a Thomson cruise and thought the food there would be a hard act to follow but we can honestly say that the food in the Playa Park was on a par with the cruise. It is buffet style and the variety and quality is extremely good with food being freshly cooked by the chefs at the counters. Salads, fresh fruit, breads, cheeses and wonderful deserts are laid out for you to help yourself and my expanded waistband is a testimony to the good food!

You can help yourself to wine (white, rosé and red), beer, soft drinks and coffee. The tea wasn’t to my taste – tea bags of all different flavours and hot water from the machine – but is a minor grouse. Spirits, liqueurs and cocktails are poured for you by the barmen in either of the two bars or by the swimming pool where there is also a late breakfast served and cakes in the afternoon.

We did meet up with two other British couples with whom we sat with in the bar on some evenings but we also managed to communicate (by various ways and means) with some of the other ‘foreign’ people in the hotel (mainly German, Dutch and Belgium) and found them to be very pleasant.

We would most definitely go back to a Rui hotel, the quality and service is first class, but we are a middle-aged couple who are quite satisfied having a quiet drink in the bar in the evening and not looking for riotous nightlife. For what we paid for the ‘all inclusive’ stay at this hotel, its close proximity to Palma and the wonderful beaches of Playa de Palma we feel we scored. However, our stay was late in the season when there seemed to be mainly people of our own age staying there and can’t vouch for earlier in the season.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
25  Thank Strichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Playa Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2006

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Playa Park with my Mum, Sister and Daughter. Booked direct with Riu on an all inclusive basis. Bedrooms basic but very clean. Two large pools with lots of shady areas. Staff very courteous and helpful. Food excellent with a varied choice. The restaurant was always busy but you never had to queue. Continental breakfast and light lunch available by the pool if you didn't want to use the restaurant. We were the the only English visitors the majority were German and very friendly. Had a look around the Riu Bravo 4 star, very nice but more expensive and the outdoor pool was quite small.
This is the first time we have been guests of the Riu group. We enjoyed our holiday and the Riu experience and hope to return to the Playa Park in 2007.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
26  Thank Oxon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2006

This very clean 3 star hotel seems to need total renewal/refurbish but they serve their customers with 5 star attitude.

Champange offered upon check in. Happy and polite staff on reception. They speak German, English and Spanish.

Double room is basic spanish style room without airconditioning (only fan) but best room I have had comparing all other 3 star hotels I´ve been in Spain. SAT-TV and basic amenities in room. Safe. No minibar and no fridge. This hotel is kept good. You can see it is built in 70´s and restaurant has refurbished in 2001. But haven´t seen so clean and spotless hotel in its class before. For room view you get either Airport view or sea view.

Customers are mainly German. And in May 2006 mostly German older people... 55 yo and older. Occationally (mainly one hour before dinner time) very loud people but also polite to others guests. So no harm to anyone. Reception said that in high season from June-August customers are mainly German youth.
This hotel is mainly for travel agencies charter flight customers from Germany.
There were few Dutch, Danish and Spanish guests.
There is silence in hallways after 23 (11PM) and I did sleep well every night without disturbs. But in the morning about 9:00 I did hear other guests next to my room and hallway.

All Inclusive features:

Buffet breakfast 8-10.Continental breakfast on pool 9-11.
Snacks on pool (Hamburger, sausages, salads) 12:30-15.
Lunch 13-15
Cake and coffee on pool 16-18
Two settings for dinner: 18:30 and 20.
You get your own table on check in and that table is in your use by all settings from breakfast to dinner. Also you can change that table if you prefer so.

Catering was good. Basic and artistic buffet. Theme buffet twice a week. Cook on the spot. Many choices. All local alcoholic beverages and soft drinks untill midnight included. No limitation!

This hotel was sold out on my stay. I don´t know how they did it, but there wasn´t much to queue for something. Longest waiting time in bars and restaurant was 2 minutes for me. Also they cleaned up those places many times per day.

There isn´t much "no" what RIU doesn´t say for their customers in fair hotel service. Actually all the staff were good and some of them were excellent. This was best All Inclusive stay I have had in it´s class (***).

Note: This hotel is smoking hotel. There are no smoking rooms anymore.

Entertainment program is German.

50m for bus stop. Fare to Palma city 1.10€ with airconditioned bus. Travel time 30-45 min.
Taxi fare from airport to RIU Playa Park 15€ from one person and one luggage. For family about 30€.

I won´t use this hotel again. After being first time as RIU guest I will stay their 4 star hotels next time in Mallorca. I recommend Riu Bravo near RIU Playa Park.

Hotel as a building is neutral/ average but with AI service I rate this hotel ***+

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank Huuhkaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2005

Excellent hotel very clean and to a very high standard. There is entertainment at the hotel and an animaciation programme with rifle shooting etc. It is an international hotel so there are a lot of Germans. Hotel staff are very friendly and you even get a glass of champagne on arrival. Ideally located not far from Palma beach. The food is very good and the chocolate cakes are lovely. It is part of the Riu chain which offers high standard hotels with friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank gilly535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Javi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Festival
Hotel Riu Festival
#22 of 78 in Playa de Palma
111 reviews
0.3 km away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#10 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,650 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#26 of 78 in Playa de Palma
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Palma Playa
Hotel Palma Playa
#24 of 78 in Playa de Palma
320 reviews
0.5 km away
Myseahouse Neptuno
Myseahouse Neptuno
#31 of 78 in Playa de Palma
151 reviews
1.4 km away
Caballero Hotel
Caballero Hotel
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playa Park

Address: Calle Pare Bartomeu Salva 15 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Palma
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: ₹ 8,480 - ₹ 16,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Playa Park 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Playa de Palma * 9-storey building * 14,000 m2 garden * 350 m from the beach * 12 km from the centre of Palma * 100 m from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playa Park Hotel
Riu Playa Park De Palma
Hotel Riu Playa Park Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing