We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back - cant make mind up if good or bad”
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just back after easter break week of April 5 - 12th
First off been to Canaries many times. Like the quality you get there. Standards are usually high.
However not sure if I can give the Olivina a good write up or not. Had plus and minus points going for it.
Food was okay but not a lot of choice ...after nearly a week [ and yes we did venture out ] we got a bit tired of veal and fish for mains at dinner. Lunches had fish and chicken .
Always found a table no problem at breakfast lunch and dinner - BUT the hotel was not full. so not sure what its like high season.
Entertainment - very poor -3 of the nights of pub type singers 1 night nothing and 2 other acts over the 7 evenings we spent 47 nights out the hotel in a local bar to get a get a bit of entertainment.
Pool - okay but whilst relaxing in sunshine we all had to put up with " sanderman" as I called him - guy spent the times in between meals from 10.30 - 12.00 ish and then 3.30 - till we left the pool - usually about 5.30/5.45 sanding down the wood work for someone to paint.
Yes there are two pool areas but the one we used was near our room and the pool bar was open longer than the other.

I would have expected better - but it was clear that they were preparing for the high season and guests just had to like it or lump it ...

Location handy for walk to main road with plenty to do and see and eat and drink to keep you occupied if you dont like whats going on in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Porge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,410 of 2,175 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We as a couple spent a week at the Riu Olivina Resort in early March and we were impressed with the check in and our room. The staff were all very freindly and helpful. Bathroom was nice and cleaned every day. Restuarant staff were efficient and freindly. Food was varied with a lovely Salad Bar. Several types of food available breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was evening entertainment most evenings, some appealed to us and some didn't on the whole was very good and entertaining.. We were disappointed with the seating in the Bar area, as it was arranged like a theatre with only a table scattered here and there, so if you wanted a drink while watching or listening to the entertainment you had to hold it all the time. There was another seating area just outside the bar area, but again very limited seating and tables.
We had a relaxing nice stay at the Olivina, but we didn't realise that it was so popular for families with young children and normally we go to couples hotels. But if you have a young family then this is the hotel to go to, as they do a range of good fun entertainment in the afternoons. So very good hotel nice holiday and family friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony Room, as we had a terrace and it was on the shady side and not much sunshine there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank willy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I echo the thoughts of the lats couple of reviewers here, did the people who hated the place actually stay at this resort, some of the main points

1) Forced to attend Dinner at a prescribed time- Not sure where this happened but we were able to eat anytime during the generouse serving times ( breakfast 8- 10.30, Lunch 12.30-3pm, Dinner 6.30 to 22.00)
2) Forced to use same table very night- Again not true whilst we were there, had breakfast and lunch al fresco each day and dinner late at 8.45 when the restruarant was at a comfortable occupation level.
3) Lack of choice at Meal times- Again no idea why comments were made like this , several choices of hot an cold not including traditional kids fare of pasta, pizza and burgers if they did not want to try adult type meals. Copious amounts of Cakes, Ice creams , Yoghurts and Fresh Fruit.
Drinks all very good from the self serve beers, wines and soft drinks to the cocktails.

The staff were excellent and friendly always saying hello and wishing you a cgood meal, place was spotless clean and quiet .. Plenty of sun loungers and pool space, yes they were cold but thats whats needed after a days roasting in the sun. Bets place very for proximately to sea front at the better end of P Del Carmen and none of the hills like nearer the old town. The entertainment was not "Sunday night at the london pallidium " but was more than adequate, sitting in the conservatory each night was very pleasant, and we are not old fuddy duddies we are in our early 40's. Cannot fault this place and will definately be returning , best holiday ever in a AI and in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Anon1966363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have just returned from one week at the Riu Olivina resort. We stayed in the hotel part and whilst the rooms could be described as a little tired they were roomy, the beds very comfortable, the Samsung flat screen TV was as big as the one at home and it was spotlessly clean. The maids were in every morning without fail and you could not fault them. We were all inclusive and we did not spent one euro whilst we were there. The food it good, and I didnt eat the same main course twice all week. Always go for whatever chef is carving up, thats my advice. The drinks were plentyful and the cocktails were really good. Whilst we were there it was mostly an older european crowd which equals peace and quite, not a larger lout in sight despite the fact that if you wanted to drink beer morning noon and night you could. The staff were always happy despite their long hours.
We went with Thomson from Cardiff, on one of their new 747-800 dreamliner planes, all on time and I really couldnt fault the service.
The resort itself is very quite, if you are looking for a strip of clubs and bars you would be better off looking somewhere else, but the brocure does describe it as "away from it all" and that is a good description. We walked every day along the front towards the airport, where you can stand at the end of the runway and have the planes land over your head - most exciting.
Whilst the resort is only 10 minutes from the airport you dont hear noise from the planes, as they come in over the sea.
We really like Riu hotels, this is the second one we have visisted (last year we went to Fueteventura and stayed at one of their 4 star half board "Palaces") and I already have the brochure out looking at where to go next.
Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I spent a week here with my husband and 3 year old son from 11th-18th March. We were looking for an AI hotel which had a heated pool and wasn't too far from the beach and shops, etc. And for us the Riu Olivina ticked all of the boxes!

The drinks were good I've certainly had worse in an AI hotel, we particularly liked the cocktails and sangria. The food was your usual AI fare however I fail to see how someone could ever go hungry as there was always lots to choose from. If you want A La Carte food then don;'t go AI! Some reviews on here say that you had to eat in sittings in the evening (6:30 and 8:30) and once you had your table in the restaurant you had to sit there for the rest of the holiday - this wasn't the case you were free to sit wherever you wanted and could come and go in the restaurant whenever you pleased (within the opening times).

Our room was cleaned everyday with the exception of Wednesday which wasn't a problem. The beds were comfy. There wasn't any air con in the room however we didn't need it in March.

The staff were all very friendly stopping to chat with my son all the time particularly the ones in the restaurant and the porter who was always in reception. The bar staff in the evening were always smiling and the entertainment staff were good however if you didn't want to join in with the activities then that was fine too!

The evening entertainment was quite good however the Argentinian Tango dancers were fantastic well worth watching.

My only small complaint would be that the toilets that serviced the main pool area were up by reception which when you have got a small child is quite a long way to walk. It was also a way to go if you were wet after getting out of the pool and not everybody wants to walk past the restaurant and near the bar in the swimming kit!

We had a great holiday and would definitely return to the Riu Olivina!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KirstieJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,923 reviews
2.2 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,729 reviews
0.3 km away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,592 reviews
0.4 km away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
774 reviews
1.4 km away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 9,925 - ₹ 91,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing