We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used to rely on some of the reviews on here!”
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I used to rely on some of the reviews on here!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I echo the thoughts of the lats couple of reviewers here, did the people who hated the place actually stay at this resort, some of the main points

1) Forced to attend Dinner at a prescribed time- Not sure where this happened but we were able to eat anytime during the generouse serving times ( breakfast 8- 10.30, Lunch 12.30-3pm, Dinner 6.30 to 22.00)
2) Forced to use same table very night- Again not true whilst we were there, had breakfast and lunch al fresco each day and dinner late at 8.45 when the restruarant was at a comfortable occupation level.
3) Lack of choice at Meal times- Again no idea why comments were made like this , several choices of hot an cold not including traditional kids fare of pasta, pizza and burgers if they did not want to try adult type meals. Copious amounts of Cakes, Ice creams , Yoghurts and Fresh Fruit.
Drinks all very good from the self serve beers, wines and soft drinks to the cocktails.

The staff were excellent and friendly always saying hello and wishing you a cgood meal, place was spotless clean and quiet .. Plenty of sun loungers and pool space, yes they were cold but thats whats needed after a days roasting in the sun. Bets place very for proximately to sea front at the better end of P Del Carmen and none of the hills like nearer the old town. The entertainment was not "Sunday night at the london pallidium " but was more than adequate, sitting in the conservatory each night was very pleasant, and we are not old fuddy duddies we are in our early 40's. Cannot fault this place and will definately be returning , best holiday ever in a AI and in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Anon1966363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    915
    371
    92
    66
See reviews for
714
953
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have just returned from one week at the Riu Olivina resort. We stayed in the hotel part and whilst the rooms could be described as a little tired they were roomy, the beds very comfortable, the Samsung flat screen TV was as big as the one at home and it was spotlessly clean. The maids were in every morning without fail and you could not fault them. We were all inclusive and we did not spent one euro whilst we were there. The food it good, and I didnt eat the same main course twice all week. Always go for whatever chef is carving up, thats my advice. The drinks were plentyful and the cocktails were really good. Whilst we were there it was mostly an older european crowd which equals peace and quite, not a larger lout in sight despite the fact that if you wanted to drink beer morning noon and night you could. The staff were always happy despite their long hours.
We went with Thomson from Cardiff, on one of their new 747-800 dreamliner planes, all on time and I really couldnt fault the service.
The resort itself is very quite, if you are looking for a strip of clubs and bars you would be better off looking somewhere else, but the brocure does describe it as "away from it all" and that is a good description. We walked every day along the front towards the airport, where you can stand at the end of the runway and have the planes land over your head - most exciting.
Whilst the resort is only 10 minutes from the airport you dont hear noise from the planes, as they come in over the sea.
We really like Riu hotels, this is the second one we have visisted (last year we went to Fueteventura and stayed at one of their 4 star half board "Palaces") and I already have the brochure out looking at where to go next.
Would definately go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I spent a week here with my husband and 3 year old son from 11th-18th March. We were looking for an AI hotel which had a heated pool and wasn't too far from the beach and shops, etc. And for us the Riu Olivina ticked all of the boxes!

The drinks were good I've certainly had worse in an AI hotel, we particularly liked the cocktails and sangria. The food was your usual AI fare however I fail to see how someone could ever go hungry as there was always lots to choose from. If you want A La Carte food then don;'t go AI! Some reviews on here say that you had to eat in sittings in the evening (6:30 and 8:30) and once you had your table in the restaurant you had to sit there for the rest of the holiday - this wasn't the case you were free to sit wherever you wanted and could come and go in the restaurant whenever you pleased (within the opening times).

Our room was cleaned everyday with the exception of Wednesday which wasn't a problem. The beds were comfy. There wasn't any air con in the room however we didn't need it in March.

The staff were all very friendly stopping to chat with my son all the time particularly the ones in the restaurant and the porter who was always in reception. The bar staff in the evening were always smiling and the entertainment staff were good however if you didn't want to join in with the activities then that was fine too!

The evening entertainment was quite good however the Argentinian Tango dancers were fantastic well worth watching.

My only small complaint would be that the toilets that serviced the main pool area were up by reception which when you have got a small child is quite a long way to walk. It was also a way to go if you were wet after getting out of the pool and not everybody wants to walk past the restaurant and near the bar in the swimming kit!

We had a great holiday and would definitely return to the Riu Olivina!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KirstieJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Olivina. The hotel was lovely all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds and pool areas are very nice but like others have said the pools are quite cold this time of year even though they are heated to 23'c. The small childrens pool at the hotel however is well heated and perfect for small children. There are 3 main pool areas, one at the hotel, one at the main apt and bar area and one across the road at the second apt complex.
The apartments are fine but i would agree they are 3* quality. My bed was very uncomfortable and pillows hard but reception can supply more pillows if you ask. Towels are thin and not what i'm used to but the pool towels they supply are new, thick and fluffy...Even though our apartment was quite worn and needed a refurb it was cleaned very well so that made up for it. Whilst we were there other apartments are being painted etc. The facitities do vary in the apartments, for example we had a new large tv in ours where as my parents had a small old portable. They had a nicer bathroom..There are some english language channels such as news,films and 2 cartoon channels.
I cannot praise the kids club enough. The staff are lovely and Mario was a star, he's great with the children and the children loved being there. If there is a small group of children you can stay as i did with my 4 and 2 yr old. They had lots of fun. It runs every day along with a kids disco except sundays. Disco starts at 8pm and other entertainment starts either 8.45 or 9.15pm.
Food at the hotel was nice, enough to choose from and i'm sure something suitable for everyone. The week we stayed there was no sittings, we could turn up at anytime for all mealtimes.
We had a lovely time at the Riu Olivina and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground Apts 239 & 241 have garden view at the front, pool view to the right sunny all afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Disappointed, I don't think so, we spent a week at this hotel, and I must admit we were a bit worried as never been all inclusive before, and after reading some of the reviews just before we went 4th March - 12th we thought what have we booked, but we had no worries once we arrived. We were booked in quickly and the porter took our cases up to the room, we stayed in the hotel, the room was spacious and very clean also the bathroom was a very good size. Our room had a balcony that over looked the pool and was very quiet.

The food was very good with lots of choice, breakfast was fruit juices, tea, coffee even diet coke if you wished, (so I was happy). There were salad items along with meats & cheese, and cereals, yoghurts, coked items scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, sausages, beans & toms, which was served from 8 - 10.30am

Then came lunch from 12 -3, lots of choice soups, cold meats & salads, bread rolls, hot dogs, burgers, chips and also a hot cooked dinner with meat & veg if you so wished, then lots of desserts to chose from.

Afternoon tea 3-6 cakes, & ice creams.

Dinner 6 - 9.30pm once again lots of choice, from smoked slamon, king prawns, veal, beef, chicken, fish etc also 2 hot soups and 1 cold, salad, cold meats, pasta dishes, and again lots of desserts.

There was wine, red, white & rose on tap in the dinning room along with beer, fruit juices and fizzy drinks, so everyone was catered for.

The pool area at the hotel is very nice and kept clean and tidy through out the day, by the staff collecting glasses and empty plates etc, in fact the whole hotel and grounds are kept lovely, very clean neat and tidy. And the staff are most helpful always greeting you with a smile and hello, from the handy man to the manager.

Someone mentioned the cocktails had no alcohol in them, we did not find this to be the case, they do have the cocktails already made up in bottles then add this into a blender with ice and whisk it up for you, but I can assure you they were very strong, and if you thought other wise you could always ask for more spirits to be added, which the staff did without hesitation.

The week we were there the weather was great, although a little windy,so do be careful as we did get caught out and got burnt on the first day, it's hotter than you think.

All in all we had a great week, the hotel is in a great location, a 5 min walk to the sea front, and some great walks along the shops in one direction or walk along the beach in the other.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,528 reviews
0.3 km away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,831 reviews
2.2 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
0.3 km away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
576 reviews
1.7 km away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Property: Relaxia Olivina
Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,558 - ₹ 90,539
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing