We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsure if bad reviewers actually stayed in this hotel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #25 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unsure if bad reviewers actually stayed in this hotel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I spent a week here with my husband and 3 year old son from 11th-18th March. We were looking for an AI hotel which had a heated pool and wasn't too far from the beach and shops, etc. And for us the Riu Olivina ticked all of the boxes!

The drinks were good I've certainly had worse in an AI hotel, we particularly liked the cocktails and sangria. The food was your usual AI fare however I fail to see how someone could ever go hungry as there was always lots to choose from. If you want A La Carte food then don;'t go AI! Some reviews on here say that you had to eat in sittings in the evening (6:30 and 8:30) and once you had your table in the restaurant you had to sit there for the rest of the holiday - this wasn't the case you were free to sit wherever you wanted and could come and go in the restaurant whenever you pleased (within the opening times).

Our room was cleaned everyday with the exception of Wednesday which wasn't a problem. The beds were comfy. There wasn't any air con in the room however we didn't need it in March.

The staff were all very friendly stopping to chat with my son all the time particularly the ones in the restaurant and the porter who was always in reception. The bar staff in the evening were always smiling and the entertainment staff were good however if you didn't want to join in with the activities then that was fine too!

The evening entertainment was quite good however the Argentinian Tango dancers were fantastic well worth watching.

My only small complaint would be that the toilets that serviced the main pool area were up by reception which when you have got a small child is quite a long way to walk. It was also a way to go if you were wet after getting out of the pool and not everybody wants to walk past the restaurant and near the bar in the swimming kit!

We had a great holiday and would definitely return to the Riu Olivina!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KirstieJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    870
    345
    91
    62
See reviews for
686
899
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Olivina. The hotel was lovely all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds and pool areas are very nice but like others have said the pools are quite cold this time of year even though they are heated to 23'c. The small childrens pool at the hotel however is well heated and perfect for small children. There are 3 main pool areas, one at the hotel, one at the main apt and bar area and one across the road at the second apt complex.
The apartments are fine but i would agree they are 3* quality. My bed was very uncomfortable and pillows hard but reception can supply more pillows if you ask. Towels are thin and not what i'm used to but the pool towels they supply are new, thick and fluffy...Even though our apartment was quite worn and needed a refurb it was cleaned very well so that made up for it. Whilst we were there other apartments are being painted etc. The facitities do vary in the apartments, for example we had a new large tv in ours where as my parents had a small old portable. They had a nicer bathroom..There are some english language channels such as news,films and 2 cartoon channels.
I cannot praise the kids club enough. The staff are lovely and Mario was a star, he's great with the children and the children loved being there. If there is a small group of children you can stay as i did with my 4 and 2 yr old. They had lots of fun. It runs every day along with a kids disco except sundays. Disco starts at 8pm and other entertainment starts either 8.45 or 9.15pm.
Food at the hotel was nice, enough to choose from and i'm sure something suitable for everyone. The week we stayed there was no sittings, we could turn up at anytime for all mealtimes.
We had a lovely time at the Riu Olivina and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground Apts 239 & 241 have garden view at the front, pool view to the right sunny all afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Disappointed, I don't think so, we spent a week at this hotel, and I must admit we were a bit worried as never been all inclusive before, and after reading some of the reviews just before we went 4th March - 12th we thought what have we booked, but we had no worries once we arrived. We were booked in quickly and the porter took our cases up to the room, we stayed in the hotel, the room was spacious and very clean also the bathroom was a very good size. Our room had a balcony that over looked the pool and was very quiet.

The food was very good with lots of choice, breakfast was fruit juices, tea, coffee even diet coke if you wished, (so I was happy). There were salad items along with meats & cheese, and cereals, yoghurts, coked items scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, sausages, beans & toms, which was served from 8 - 10.30am

Then came lunch from 12 -3, lots of choice soups, cold meats & salads, bread rolls, hot dogs, burgers, chips and also a hot cooked dinner with meat & veg if you so wished, then lots of desserts to chose from.

Afternoon tea 3-6 cakes, & ice creams.

Dinner 6 - 9.30pm once again lots of choice, from smoked slamon, king prawns, veal, beef, chicken, fish etc also 2 hot soups and 1 cold, salad, cold meats, pasta dishes, and again lots of desserts.

There was wine, red, white & rose on tap in the dinning room along with beer, fruit juices and fizzy drinks, so everyone was catered for.

The pool area at the hotel is very nice and kept clean and tidy through out the day, by the staff collecting glasses and empty plates etc, in fact the whole hotel and grounds are kept lovely, very clean neat and tidy. And the staff are most helpful always greeting you with a smile and hello, from the handy man to the manager.

Someone mentioned the cocktails had no alcohol in them, we did not find this to be the case, they do have the cocktails already made up in bottles then add this into a blender with ice and whisk it up for you, but I can assure you they were very strong, and if you thought other wise you could always ask for more spirits to be added, which the staff did without hesitation.

The week we were there the weather was great, although a little windy,so do be careful as we did get caught out and got burnt on the first day, it's hotter than you think.

All in all we had a great week, the hotel is in a great location, a 5 min walk to the sea front, and some great walks along the shops in one direction or walk along the beach in the other.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I needed a week on my own, in a nice hotel in a sunny part of the world, and this was recommended. The Riu Olivina is a good 4 star hotel and is just 5 minutes walk from a great beach. I had a twin room in the main part of the hotel, on an all-inclusive basis, and I was more than satisfied.

My room was spacious and comfortable and spotlessly clean. Although I was on the ground floor, with patio doors onto a small balcony area, the locking mechanism on the doors was excellent so I felt perfectly safe and secure.

I had no complaints about the food - the choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good and meal times were very extended so you could eat early or late depending on your preference. You could also take breakfast and lunch outside on the terrace, which was really pleasant.The bar service was good, and it was self-service drinks (beer or wine) in the restaurant.

The pool area was good - lots of sun loungers, so you could even bag one if you didn't hit the pool until lunchtime. The entertainment staff had lots on offer during the day - including yoga; pilates; pistol shooting; shuffle-board;keep fit etc and quite a few people joined in each time.

I didn't take in any of the evening entertainment, but everything seemed to finish around 11pm in the hotel so you couldn't hear a pin drop after that - great for a good night's sleep!

The location of the hotel was a real bonus. Once you reached the sea-front, you could walk in either direction to areas with shops, bars and restaurants, or walk for an hour or more actually on the beach, paddling in the sea.

I had a great week at the Riu Olivina and would happily recommend it as a good 4 star hotel.
As an added bonus, I had fantastic weather the whole week - hot and sunny and not a cloud in the sky!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel are very good and handy for all the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Lucaswestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

finding our apartment here on arrival was somewhat tricky in the dark as no-one took us there. although we were given verbal directions, having never been there before, it took awhile for us to find it, and then had more fun and games trying to locate the front door. Once in, were quite pleased with the place. a quick phone call to reception sorted out extra pillows and a kettle.

the site is quite spread out but that wasn't too much of a problem once we had some daylight to see where we were going.

found two of the pools mentioned - couldn't miss one of them as it was very near our apartment, but they aren't all always heated - be warned they are very cold if they aren't! they also seemed to like rotating which pool they heated too, but there was nothing to say which one was and when - you had to figure that out for yourself.

food was of a reasonable quality, could possibly have been a bit more variety to it, but there was always something to eat, even if you did end up wandering around the various cooking and buffet stations.

the soft drinks, including the tea and coffee were fine for the most part, but occasionally the soft fizzy drinks machines ran out of their colouring and flavouring, however the staff soon rectified that. can't comment on the alcohol as i don't drink the stuff.

be aware when it comes to evening meals - its not a case of turn up when you want to nor sit anywhere you feel like. they have two sittings - 6pm and 8pm (we didn't get a choice of which we wanted, but then we don't have kids)and you are told on your first evening where you are sitting, and what time you are eating. that table is yours for the duration, but only on the evening meal. you can choose where you sit for breakfast and lunch.

impressed by the standard of their staff, all helpful, polite and friendly, all willing to help, from posting a postcard to come back to the uk, to a good standard of cleanliness in the rooms and everything else in between.

cant comment on the evening entertainment as we didn't get involved with that, but plenty of activities available during the day for all the family,and plenty of sun loungers to go around.

overall, I'd go back again - already booked for December 2012, so it cant be that bad!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank furryfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#22 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
2.2 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.7 km away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
0.3 km away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Property: Relaxia Olivina
Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,844 - ₹ 16,206
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing