We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Charlana

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Main villa entrance from the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Angela H
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great villa”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

this was our 6th or 7th visit and once again we enjoyed our 2weeks just relaxing by the pool and chilling would definitely recommend a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! its always a pleasure having you and your family stay at Casa Charlana. Gemma & John x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feltconne...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great villa & location”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It’s our third visit to the villa this time.
Having been a regular visitor to the island for 20 years. We look for a family villa just off the main area but with an easy walking back after dinner in the town, you are 10-15 minutes stroll from the main areas. We booked the villa again and have now considered this to be our choice if we can get it.

Facilities are more than what we need while we relax, big lounge fair sized bedrooms with a couple of bathrooms and a TV & radio. You can cook up a dinner in the kitchen no problem and it has the appliances to make life a bit easier, then off to relax by your own pool.

Villa is clean and the company come in and care for the pool & villa as well, also they are great to ask for local knowledge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & facilities
Liked least: None i can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thanks M & N for your lovely review! Yes I do believe you are now regulars!! So glad you enjoy Casa Charlana as much as you do and consider it your Lanzarote home now haha!! Look forward to seeing you again in July Gemma & John xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl M
Arrecife, Spain
1 review
“FANTASTIC Property in great location”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I stayed there in February, we had an amazing holiday. The property had everything we needed and more. Would truly recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Were so very glad you enjoyed your first villa holiday at Casa Charlana. We look forward to having you and your family stay again soon. Gemma & john x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“last review”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014

i was shocked to read the last review ive stayed in this villa several times over the last 4yrs and yes there was problems but they were resolved quickley i wont hesitate to book again in fact im booking for september this year and im looking forward to staying again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet location
Liked least: cockroaches
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
And we look forward to having you back too! soo glad you enjoy the villa and im sure you´ll notice some modifications and updates within the villa year upon year! Lovely to have our regulars back thank you Gem & John x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fromthemo...
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced, noisy street, non-existant wifi, disgusting washer”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Overpriced for many reasons. (1) Upstairs bedroom could not be used - too noisy as cars/taxis sped at 70 vs 50 km / hr on the road at all hours in front of the house. (2) Not given any info about wifi and when we did finally get it - 2 days later - wifi was basically non-existent. (3) Dishwasher stunk - had to be replaced while we were there. (4) Utility room - where the washer was - was dirty. The washer itself was even worse. I did not want to put my clothes in it and asked the management to clean the drum. They did but forgot to clean the soap tray which had mold / grime inside. Floor beside washer was dirty so if you happened to drop any clothing - you'd have to wash it again. Needless to say, I had to clean floors while I was on holidays. (5) Friends of ours rented another villa nearby and got a much better deal and better property.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: Noise from traffic on street, washer room - dirty!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you for your feedback again Sandi! As per my previous email response to your review/points listed above...
1) Outside noise from local building works going on 3 streets away are unfortunately out of my control. This is the first I have heard about noise from cars in the area in the entire 7 years we have rented the villa and have regulars who re visit time and time again due to it being so peaceful!
2)The wifi in the area (not just our villa) can be sporadic on occasions hence we do not charge clients for it. The info should have been in the villa upon arrival, however we had just appointed a new management company and this was unfortunately missed by them. It is now in the villa along with all local/emergency tel numbers and lots of helpful info about the island.
3)The dishwasher was replaced asap.. it was an unfortunate time of year (Christmas) as electrical shops were closed in this period, hence the couple days wait to replace.
4)Washing machine was also replaced asap... same as above for elec shops.
5)Value for money....you did get a 10% discount off of the standard rate which we normally would not give for peak season over Christmas and new years thus reducing your overall price to a very reasonable price which was cheaper than staying in a 3 star hotel in the same area. I did ask you for info regarding the villas and prices that your friends stayed in in 2 separate emails but you failed to reply...
It is very unfortunate that 2 pieces of electrical items needed replacing during your stay, these things do happen from time to time, also the time of year did not help what with the shops being closed so we could not have replaced as quickly as we normally would.
I can assure you we take all constructive criticism/complaints very seriously and apologise for the disruption caused to you during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing