We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Close to perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fig Tree Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fanes, Rhodes, Dodecanese, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

I1928DSri...
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
Reviewed 9 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019
2
people found this review helpful

The best thing is probably the garden: well-tended, with great views to the sea and with a wonderful pool (clean, warm, good steps in). The outside eating area is shaded by the bougainvillea, so it’s very pleasant to eat outside all the time (there were a lot of figs on the ground - the villa is aptly named). The interior is fine, if a bit tired (e.g. broken flush, mouldy shower curtain, poor shower head in the downstairs bathroom; dishwasher doesn’t really clean the dishes). Air conditioning works well and isn’t too noisy. The kitchen has all the kit you’ll need and the oven/grill works well.
Steve is a very attentive and helpful villa manager, but does turn up a lot and at random times of the day, which feels a bit intrusive.
Fanes is a ‘proper’ village with a good cafe and is well-placed to get around the area and the island. We had a really relaxing time and enjoyed staying at Fig Tree; it just needs a bit of tlc to sort out a few minor niggles.

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Aug 2019
Thanks for your comments.
Mandy and I normally pay a visit in April to tackle these minor issues and spruce things up a bit but were unable to do so this year.. I hope it didnt spoil it too much for you. We'll make sure we get there next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paintbrus...
Earby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fig tree villa - Rhodes holiday”
Reviewed 3 June 2019 for a stay in May 2019
4
people found this review helpful

This villa is absolutely beautiful, a stunning location, excellently equipped with everything you’ll need, and was very comfortable for our family of five.
I believe the photos do not so it justice as the atmosphere here is so peaceful and relaxing. It is also in the prime location for a stay in Rhodes, especially if you hire a car as we did. As it’s in a quiet village with amazing views and yet the airport being only a 15 minute drive away and all other major attractions no more than an hour. To get to the other end of the island should only take an hour and a half, we did many scenic routes to take in it’s beauty. We visited Lindos with its breathtaking views and amazing history. Rhodes town old and new were both lovely, we found a great restaurant who were exceptionally friendly called ‘Niohori restaurant’ which you’ll also find on TripAdvisor.
We went to the butterfly valley, although out of season to see many butterflies, it is a stunning walk up the valley and nicely shaded by the trees.
We also spent a day at Porto Antico taverna for sea swimming and delicious sea food.
We are luckily cat lovers and welcomed the company of the local stray cats who came in the evenings to the villa.

Steve and Lisa were very friendly and very helpful and were instantly available if we needed anything, also Ray (Steve’s friend) a british local and handyman was extremely helpful and a font of knowledge of the area helping us navigate around and teaching us a bit of Greek.

All in all we had an unforgettable holiday that was made perfect by the people and the villa, I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jun 2019
Thanks for you comments. We aim to maintain the standards we have set.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management Response
4 Jun 2019
Thanks for your review. Breakfast on the patio is a great way to start your day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fifithorn...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gem of a villa in tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Loved Rhodes, loved Fanes, loved Fig Tree Villa!

We wanted a rural location and this is what we got. The access roads to villa are steep and rough but don't let that put you off - worth it!! The villa is very well equipped & was clean & cosy. The pool is a good size and got the sun all morning and was in a fig tree shade in afternoon! The villa is in a very good location for visiting Rhodes old town and very close to the airport.
We loved the visits of tinker the cat and another lovely cat we named lady. Stray cats are EVERYWHERE in Rhodes and Fanes is no exception.

Steve was so helpful and met us at the airport and drove ahead of us to the villa as, due to a festival in Fanes, the road up to the villa was due to be closed off. He helped us out with any small issues we had and gave us great info. The villa was cleaned by Steve & Lisa midway through our 2 week stay.

My 'must visit' tips are - Lindos Accropolis, The ancient city of Kamiros, Valley of the butterflies, Rhodes old town (went 3 times!), Kalithia Nicholas beach.

We wanted that Rhodes is not cheap to eat out/shop in but well worth the money!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300laurat
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A touch of tradition and tranquility ”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a special occasion, it was my parents 60th birthday and 40th wedding anniversary.

On arrival the maintenance guy Steve had to come help us as our bus transfer refused to go to the top of village due to the winding and narrow roads, so be warned, if you have transfer, check 1st they will be ok with the area. Steve was amazing, came late at night from other side of the island to take us from Kiosk shop at bottom of the hill to the villa, and on arriving he then showed us around and how things work, like the aircon units.

The villa is set in an ideal traditional area called Fanes, the locals are friendly and very quiet, the only real noise you get is the church and its bells of the other villas around you are not also in use. I can't comment on noise from the neighbouring villas as no one was there due to October being end of their season for most.

You have many beaches to choose from, but the one we recommend is your local one, turning opposite the Kiosk shop that sells tobacco and drinks. Lots of lovely tavernas there with beach view of the kite surfers and sea.

This villa is surrounded by olive farms, and has the most amazing sunset views from every angle, and I even got up early to watch the sun rise from pool side.

I recommend this villa for all types of travellers, young, old or family. There is pretty much something for everyone. Make sure you take beach towels, the Ines supplies are small and few, but serve their purpose.

With some small touch ups, this villa its ideal.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thanks for your review - we now provide beach towels, but not much we can do about the village roads. It is an old traditional village so narrow roads go with the territory. We still have Steve available to help out if required.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing