We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Home for a Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
view from patio at front of cottage Comfy Seating in Valley View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
view from patio at front of cottage
Comfy Seating in Valley View Cottage
Kitchen of the Cottage
One of the neighbours!
Glenmore Lake near cottage 4 kms
Knockatee country walk 1 km from cottage
Bridge over the local river, 1 km from cottage
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
The valley in front of the cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
knockatee mountain reflected in the water of kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm visitor centre day trio from cottage
river sheen on the caha pass day trip from cottage
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Our sign. Stop when you see this
New blacksmith stove installed october2017.
Single bedroom in valley view cottage
4 poster bed in the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Antony B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home for a Holiday”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Eileen, Robert and family for a wonderful holiday. The cottage and local environment proved everything I hoped for when planning a 4 night relaxing holiday and I was so comfortable in the cottage I extended my stay by a further night. The well appointed kitchen, comfortable bed and in particular the relaxing chairs in front of the open fire, with an endless supply of fuel, well offset the wet and windy November weather. Eileen and Robert are welcoming hosts providing a cup of tea and warm fire on arrival and are happy to share their wealth of local knowledge. The Beara Peninsula has plenty of ancient and recent historic sites to explore, lots of walking tracks, wonderful scenic drives and local eateries to fill your time. Lovely cottage and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it was exactly what I wanted
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeordieNo...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A true Irish Home”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We knew from the welcome given us by Eileen & Robert that we'd be very happy in the cottage. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always on hand at their shop across the road if ever we needed them. It's all very cosy especially with the endless supply of logs and peat bricks for the open fire. The situation is ideal for heading off into the Beara peninsula, surely one of Ireland's best kept secrets. There are several dining experiences near at hand ranging from homely pub food at Kilmakilloge to fine food at Josie's overlooking Glanmore lake. All in all, a first class holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Irish welcome and hospitality
Liked least: Doesn't applyes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassil201...
Saint-Etienne, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still the same perfection”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Returned again this year to the same fantastic welcome, well-appointed home with everything you could wish for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APDMEL
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Country Cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely country cottage while visiting the Beara Peninsula. Situated near the tiny village of Lauragh it was perfect as a base for our Ring of Beara touring. Eileen and Robert were very helpful in providing local information and their welcoming gesture of tea and biscuits beside a warming fire made us feel at home immediately upon arrival at the tidy cottage. The views from the cottage were striking, from the lush green valley below to the field next door where grazing sheep frequently caught my gaze, we were totally relaxed in our quiet country retreat. Hiking in the area was spectacular and the Sunday evening seafood supper we had at Teddy O’Sullivan’s was not only delicious but provided two Canadians with a wonderful opportunity to spend time in a quaint country pub, filled to the rafters with local families and friends enjoying themselves immensely. Our time in the Peninsula was most memorable and we thank Eileen and Robert for providing us with a delightful place to stay during our visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HikenNoAc...
Pontault Combault, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, stunning area”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage by a rainy afternoon. The owner Eileen welcomed us with a cup of tea. A fire in the fireplace was warming the cottage. First time we had such a nice arrival at à rented cottage ! The place is beautiful the cottage very well equiped and very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area thé quiteness
Liked least: Nothing coming in mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 43
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing