We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Amazing”

Review of Giriama Residence

Beautiful Giriama Residence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Giriama Residence
Recommended by tripadvisor Reception
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Beautiful Giriama Residence
Recommended by tripadvisor
Reception
Main Gate
Welcome All
Comfortable breezy verandas
Spacious Double Room
Hand carved beds
Downstairs Double Room
Family Room
Self Catering Apartment
Self Catering Apartment
Self Catering Apartment
Well equiped Communial kitchen
Studio Apartment
Studio Apartment
Studio Apartment Kitchen
Shady Gardens
Relax in the sun
Relax in the sun
Beautiful Gardens
Close by Beach Bars
Unspoiled beach
Unspoiled beach
Unspoiled beach
Stunning Beaches
Tsavo East
Lions with kill Tsavo East
Lion cub with kill Tsavo East
Elephant crossing  Galana River Tsavo East
Iconic trees
View over Mangrove forest from Crab Shack
Sunset view from Crab Shack Mida Creek
Fisherman at sunset - Mida Creek
Sunset at Mida Creek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Watamu, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gail M
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed here for 2nights with a group of friends and i cannot recommend it enough. It was a lovely stay. I loved the appearance of the house very comfortable furniture. Close to the beach... Very clean and neat. The caretakers were always available when you need them. The service was awesome. The rooms are also very spacious. It is also generally well placed in terms of closeness to public transport means and shops and restaurants. Amazing! Keep up the good work. Definitely planning a second trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
We, especially Halima and Mohammed would like to thank you for the great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

i suggest everybody to go to giriama residence, big house... clean... great rooms... very near to the beach..... Halima and Mohamed the housekeeper... are simply super!!! always available, clean... super kind.
2 wonderful sweet dogs :-) lola and ruby....
all fantastic!!!!!
Simona

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks Simona for the great review. Halima and Mohamed will be thrilled. Hope to see you soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bashoragu...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value - clean, comfortable and we were well looked after.”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a charming, well-maintained property with lots of character - huge upstairs veranda, gorgeous plants and flower borders with three resident tortoises! It has a large, clean, shared kitchen and plenty of dining areas to sit and eat. Rooms are spacious and cleaned daily. It is close to the beach and a good spot for hailing a tuk-tuk into nearby villages.
We received a very friendly service and our young children loved staying here. It was our second visit and we'd love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and clean.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Everyone here says a big thanks for a great review it was a pleasure to see you. We all look forward to seeing you again xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio B
Lund, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Affordable accommodation with excellent service”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My family and I visited a couple of friends who was staying at the Giriama Residence, so we could spend New Year's Eve and New Year's with them.
We loved our room from the moment we set foot in it. Very tastefully furnished, without being too fancy, and definitely spotlessly clean.
The facility has a communal kitchen which we used extensively (including the barbecue area) to prepare our New Year's Eve dinner. The candlelit meal that followed in the garden was just the cherry of the evening.
The staff was extremely courteous throughout. A lovely Watamu beach is literally 5 minutes' walk down the street from the guesthouse.
We can wholeheartedly recommend the Giriama Residence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The courteous, yet relaxed, attitude of the staff. And, of course, the cleanliness.
Liked least: Nothing, really.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay . Hope to see you again.
Best wishes from all at Giriama Residence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DessyP890
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Budget Accommodation Near Watamu Beach”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Tthe facilities at this hotel were pretty basic but it suited me as a solo traveller to stay here for three weeks on a self catering basis because it was reasonably priced. I liked the design of the building, the beautiful garden with a large variety of plants and the fact that it was only a five minute walk to the beach. Although the kitchen is dated and needed a good clean on arrival, this was carried out by one member of the staff (thanks Christopher) to a higher standard immediately. Showing a great interest in each guest, he ensured that we were happy with the cleanliness of rooms etc and performed his duties in an exemplory fashion. The glory days of this establishment may be over (it used to have a restaurant) but the rooms are comfortable and adequate and I would recommend it to the low budget traveller.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing