We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic, Eco friendly getaway”
Review of Kanani House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kanani House
Ranked #10 of 25 Watamu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I spent a week at Kanani and found it to be so relaxing that i cold actually nap on a swing chair in the middle of the day- i am NOT a napping kind of person! Beautiful surroundings, away from the noise and mania of London, or Nairobi for that matter. Sasha & Oli have created an environmentally sound accommodation in Kenya that it is impossible not to relax in. Board games, swing chairs, stunning views, excellent James Bond Style tunnel to get down to the sea. Elvis is an astounding chef and it is easy to wile away a few hours chatting with him and learning from his extensive knowledge of the region. Falling asleep listening to the sounds of waves crashing or watching the sun set from the pool - this is the kind of place you go for pure decadence and self indulgence.
There are some good places to eat locally, although you do need a car. I also highly recommend being hooked up for a turtle release adventure. What a monumental experience that was.
You won't have staff waiting on you hand and foot but there is always someone around to help you out if you need it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bathycolpous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

been back several times for more incredible food and relaxation

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zkuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Our trip to Kanani house was magical. The staff were so friendly, the food was amazing, especially mangrove crab, and sitting in the pool (yes it has seats!) looking over the sea is a great way to relax and unwind. A far cry from Londons bustle this splace reminded me why going on holiday is important. A great find, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjuserid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Kanani House is a three double bedroom private residence in Watamu, Kenya. Right on the coast with ocean views the place is absolutely beautiful. Totally private it is the most idyllic place to unwind and relax.

The owners have tried very hard and it has to be said very successfully to make Kanani at one with nature. The rooms are all traditional thatch and the whole place has been constructed with sustainable materials.

It is not a 5 star luxury resort. It is however beautiful, relaxing, private and an enchanting place to go on holiday.

Elvis the cook is a marvel and will rustle up anything you want from the local markets. His constant smile really summed up our whole holiday. Do pay a visit to the turtle watch sanctuary in the village. If you are lucky like us you will be able to set one of the turtles which are saved from local fisherman’s nets, free on the beach. A truly fantastic experience.

All in all an amazing holiday at an incredible price, we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonMarkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le capanne sono molto simili, la terza è la più esposta al vento. La prima è molto vicina alla dinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albi11Dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
0 km away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#9 of 26 in Watamu
1,036 reviews
0 km away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
0 km away
Tishi's Farm
Tishi's Farm
#9 of 31 in Watamu
31 reviews
0 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanani House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanani House

Address: plot 399, Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range: ₹ 5,813 - ₹ 14,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanani House is set on six acres on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. We have 3 double bedrooms, which can be rented individually, or the whole house can be rented on an exclusive basis. Kanani is fully staffed, with a great chef and two house stewards so our guests can relax completely.Kanani House was designed and built by an English couple with a passion for Kenya - we wanted to give guests a real taste of Africa at the coast. We have a strong environmental commitment, local and sustainable materials are used wherever possible and almost everything is handmade by local workers. We were inspired by the upcountry private safari lodges as well as the local architecture to build a house more like an African Village than a conventional western house. Each bedroom is a private cottage with en-suite bathroom set in the landscaped indigenous garden. The rooms are screened for privacy but open to the sea breezes. Kanani is a Robinson Crusoe experience - we have no landline, TV or computers, so you can get away from the stresses of modern life and unwind. Access to a small private beach is at low tide through our tunnel - hand carved through the fossilized coral rock, and securely gated, or you can walk or take a tuk tuk to the public beaches. If you're feeling less adventurous, you can just laze by our infinity pool overlooking the ocean. There are lots of great things to do in and near Watamu: snorkeling, diving, dolphin watching or sailing in the Watamu Marine Park; walks in the Arabuko Sokoke forest and the Gede Ruins, canoe trips, fishing, horse riding and windsurfing can all be arranged. We hope you can come and stay at Kanani House soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kanani House Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing