We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
20
8
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
8
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed with two of our sons following a trip to Masai Mara. We had the place to ourselves and it was fabulous. The setting is great, the pool had great views, and the cooking by host Elvis was superb - he would go to the market every day and get whatever we wanted for dinner. The fish was amazing - he really knows how to cook!
Elvis also arranged bicycles for us and when we were going further than would be good, he had arranged an excellent driver with a brand new Toyota minivan. This driver was excellent and less expensive than most sources we checked.
The communal banda was a superb place for hanging out together and reading a book, playing cards, whatever we felt like. The dogs were freindly and having them around made it feel like home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for three days over Easter and had a wonderful, relaxing break during a packed visit to Kenya to visit our son. Elvis's cooking and the pool are the absolute highlights. Do be sure to eat dinner there every night--superb! At low tide, you can pass through a tunnel to the beach/shore and walk out to the rocks, looking for sealife in the tidal pools. It was so relaxing to be there that we spent one whole day just hanging out, reading, resting, walking and eating...not the norm for our active family. Elvis organized bicycle rentals for us so that we could explore the other two days, including the Gedi ruins. The open air huts are ok, showing some signs of wear and occupation by little critters, but otherwise fine. Very responsive staff, again we give high kudos to Elvis, so helpful, kind and responsive. He organized beer for us with no prior notice. The location is somewhat remote, not really walking distance to anywhere, but Kanani House organized transportation from the Malindi airport and into town with a super minivan/taxi: clean and air conditioned. Be sure to take advantage of this service too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

There were no other guests during our five-day stay, and the entire property was for us. Everyday we laid ourselves by the pool side watching lots of birds passing by, with the companion of two friendly house dogs. Dinner prepared by Elvis the chef was fresh, healthy and so enjoyable that it became the highlight of the day.

Nearby, in walking distance towards the village, there is a public white sandy beach.
The beach of the house is private and peaceful, but lots of algae and rocks, and white sandy bit is small. In order to go to the beautiful white sandy beach on tourist brochures one should better travel far towards the creek (but there will be 'beach boys' and some other tourists).

To get around, one can find a motorcycle taxi, a few were always waiting on the main road near the house. It is not very comfortable for a long distance travel. Better option, tuktuks are not always around near the house. You could either call a tuktuk to pick you up, or change from motorcycle to tuktuk at Watamu village. From the house to Watamu village on motorcycle was 100 shillings, on Tuktuk 150 shillings. One could hire a tuktuk for a whole day, which we did.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Kanani House is set on its own private estate on the Kenyan coast near Watamu, replete with ocean view, three beautiful barefoot luxury open air huts (thatched roof, ensuite bathroom with good hot shower, huge bed), a private hidden passage down to the beach (during low/medium tide) and the must spectacular infinity pool overlooking the Indian ocean. The staff went out of their way to cater to our every need and the food prepared by Elvis, the chef, was impeccable. Our stay was made even more special by the company of the two adorable resident dogs.

Thank you Sacha, Elvis and the rest of the staff for hosting us in your beautiful hideaway. We will definitely be back!

N.B. My only complaint (which is not the owners' responsibility) is the taxi journey from Mombasa, which at 2.5 hours was much longer than we anticipated. Not the end of the world if you're staying for a while, but as we were only there for the weekend every minute was precious. My recommendation would be to fly to Malindi (which is only 20 mins away) if you can!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zuleikadobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Returning to Kanani House for a second time was even more of a relaxing experience than last time. We took my parents along and the set-up was ideal - we each had our banda but could get together by the pool or in the evening in the airy communal area.

What I love about Kanani is that it's so peaceful. You're surrounded by nature and it somehow forces you to relax and recharge. The shaded area up by the pool is perfect for reading, and watching the dhows sail by and the sea birds flock and move at various stages of tide. The pied kingfishers are still there, a family of three, often to be found in the coral rock cliffs to the left of the passageway down to the sea. We loved walking out to the islands at low tide, looking at the birds and all the life bubbling away in the shallows.

Because there's so little light pollution, the star gazing is wonderful. After supper we'd walk down to the end of the garden and sit on the stone seat overlooking the ocean to spot satellites and shooting stars.

We visited the Gede ruins, the remains of a Swahili settlement that reached its heyday in the 15th century. It was better preserved than I expected: a fascinating slice of East African history. It was definitely worth taking a guide around to explain the detail of each building. It's about a 15 minute ride from Kanani in a tuk-tuk so an easy journey from Kanani.

We also took dug-out canoes at sunset around Mida Creek to look at the birds and ate crab samosas in a little restaurant run by the local community group at the end of a board walk they've built through the mangroves. Sasha and Ollie put us in touch with the people who work with the community group who run this.

Elvis and the gang looked after us superbly with their gentle coastal charm - and a passion for English football (useful if anyone's interested in match updates). Elvis's cooking was great, using lots of ginger and local spices. Grilled fish and stir fried vegetables was our favourite.

If you want a five star tourist hotel with plasma TVs and air conditioning, Kanani House is clearly not the place, but if you want an idyllic natural getaway it's pretty magical.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews