We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelva Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 70
US$ 44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 338
US$ 103
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
US$ 73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
3
22
11
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
22
11
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 48 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Rooms were pathetic and dirty. Matress were torn, bedsheet were black and white..insects, lizards, cats and dogs can jump in your room any time...and this isn't exaggerated at all...we were highly disappointed..the package says that it includes food but the taste was horrible and stale...and its not at all value for money...service is below average...pool was flooded with rain water and no maintanance...
Only thing which was goodd was the kelva beach nearby..which is clean....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank sweetsweety1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Excellent hotel/resort, very close to the beach, completly self sufficient - really good for shart weekend breaks or romantic getaways

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mraxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I went at the resort but as i was shown on the website of the hotel there was noting as such I had my bookings but the movement i checked in i had to take a harsh decision to check out in a while .I would not recommend any one to go at the resort .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank bugs_3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

There is no better combination than luxury amidst nature… and with this glorious image in my mind I had started my search for a luxurious & ‘different’ place near a beach. Kelva Beach Resort, as depicted by its website, seemed to be a more than perfect match for my imagination. After trying for several weeks to book the ‘Log hut’ (best room of the lot) there and being unsuccessful, finally I managed to get it. The icing on the cake was that it was just few days from my anniversary & could be a perfect precursor to the celebrations.

We (my wife & I) drove 130 kms from our Santacruz residence and reached there in about 3 hrs with 1 stop at KAMATS (almost midway) for breakfast. The way is simple, take the western expressway, follow on to NH8 viz. Ahmedabad highway. Then turn left towards Manor & Palghar. After reaching palghar, ask anyone for Kelve village or Kelva beach and there you are. Mind you, finding the resort in the last 500 metres is a challenge. Slow down on reaching Sitladevi temple and take right going next to it and keep asking for directions to the resort. Roads are great throughout the way !

The resort is built 200 metres from the sea but you can barely see the sea from any part on the resort. The beach is one of the cleanest I’ve ever seen in our country. The resort has log huts, wooden huts, cement cottages and tents. Prices are Rs.3500, 3000, 2500 and 2000 respectively for a couple per night on weekends. The package includes 3 meals and morning-evening tea & snacks. We stayed in the log huts- made completely out of wood on a raised platform- something like stilts. Comfortable and clean room and bathroom, well maintained as well. Every room has its own sitout which is the best thing about it. The resort has facilities like badminton, swimming pool, table tennis, pool, bicycles.

All of the above must have given a very rosy picture of the entire setup to readers. Well there are certain shortcomings. The food is BAD. Buffet is served with 2-3 dishes that taste okay… anything we ordered for snacks was really badddd. The rooms don’t have intercom and for every smallest thing you have to walk upto the reception. The swimming pool is very small, pool and bicycles are charged @ Rs.100 per hour. Many people come there for daytrip that the resort offers for just Rs.400 per person inclusive of meals. These people are given the ‘common room’ for changing, resting, etc and incidentally this room is same where TT, pool, carom can be played. Highly irritating!
The staff is less in number and just about okay. The fan was not working and wasn’t repaired until 8 pm. There is no Television at the resort. Rooms have some foreign magazines that are several years old editions.

Its not really a couple place- more of a ‘group of booze friends’ place. The prices are not really worth especially the log huts, should have been priced around 2000 level. The food is the biggest turn off and there aren’t many decent options outside. There are certain other resorts there like Samudra that seemed decent and full, so you might want to consider it as an option. So my overall verdict would be that Kelva Beach Resort is definitely a ‘different’ place and located at a nice clean beach, but far from LUXURY. My last trip has strengthened my belief that there are only 2 good tourist places in & around Maharashtra- Mahabaleshwar & Goa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
38  Thank guptarohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews