We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
25
21
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
21
7
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building la malbaie outdoor terrasse caroline capitaine du june package isle singing lunch cozy warmth performance meal st
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Based on a previous year's visit, returned for an overnight stay prior to meeting friends for the holiday (Fête St-Jean) long weekend in Charlevoix. Stayed in ground floor room in the main building on picturesque l'Isle-aux-Coudres. Comfortable & cozy, very clean room with private bathroom & shower.Package included evening dinner and breakfast next morning. Very welcoming owner/partner Pascal prepared a superb dinner, including an exclusive visit to his private wine cellar to select a very reasonably priced bottle for the meal. Thouroughly delighted with the food and service. Returned with group of friends a few days later for lunch on the outdoor terrasse. Once again enjoyed excellent food & service, with the added pleasure of impromptu singing performance by owner/partner Caroline Desbiens, a professional singer/songwriter. L'Hôtel du Capitaine est devenu un arrêt chaleureux et incontournable chaque fois que nous voyageons dans le coin de St-Irénée/La Malbaie. Incontournable!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Caroline Desbiens is the owner and it's a family business. The food is excellent and it's their passion and it shows. We even got a live performance from Caroline of her singing talent. Best calmar ever.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Based on a friend's recommendation, took the ferry across the mighty fleuve St-Laurent from La Malbaie to sightsee. Stopped for lunch at l'Hotel du Capitaine and was warmly greeted by the owner, Caroline Desbiens. Food was excellent and the service was an absolute delight.Caroline is a song-artist and we were treated to an impromptu live performance of music she has recorded. You could really sense the passion come through in her food, her hospitality and her art. Will definitely be going back! Quelle belle expérience, nous reviendrons certain!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Best strawberry pie on the planet. All the food was spectacular. We had 5 meals there and everything was very very good. The strawberry jam is off the charts fantastic.The rooms were very comfortable although the one's in the main building are somewhat more noisy depending on the type of clientele which can be more or less noisy. I guess some people forget they are not alone on the planet. We understand the place is not to blame for some people's lack of "savoir-vivre" We absolutely adored our stay and will definitely be returning again.Caroline is a Gem of a person.

Room Tip: Main building rooms not ideal for light sleepers.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We stopped off for lunch and altough the food was good, I consider it overpriced. Shared some calmar (great seasoning) and a local cheese and meat platter that had very little for $22. Good choice of local micro brewery beer. Might be the old syndrome of high prices due to a very limited tourist season but unfortunate.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank stomper1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews