We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & simple room”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Small & simple room”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We reserved this room through Grassland Express, for the price we paid, I had expected it to be a small and simple room. We asked for a room at Tower 2, as we heard that it is more recently renovated or built. The staff gladly obliged and given us a room at the 28th floor - the highest floor. Like what other reviewers had mentioned, our room did not have a scenic view but for the price we paid, I had no complaint.
The hotel was very accessible, it's linked to all other hotels and theme park via walkways and shuttle buses services. It was also situated beside the tour buses terminal.
Part of the shopping area below the hotel are closed only at 12 midnight, so if you do favor late night shopping or need a quick supper, it is quite a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmiharuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    863
    1,057
    286
    238
See reviews for
1,236
688
70
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Selangor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I booked the cheapest room RM108 for myself, very spacious n airy with Theme Park view.
Two towels, shower shampoo provided. TV not function. A very basic room for few hours sleep.

For my family members, they stayed at RM128 Deluxe Room, which was very compact, stuffy, noisy, no view at all... Coffe, tea and fridge provided.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked deluxe room this time round, waited for 45min (non-peak) before check-in was been done, suggest u took a spot at the Starbucks nearby while waiting for yr turn as that's the only wifi free area. The wait could stretch to 2-3 hrs if peak period, or go play in the casino, there's a sign board showing the Q no. inside.

We requested for non-smoking & connecting rooms, was given rooms on the 28FL (highest FL). 1 is a twin & the other a queen, rooms were small but clean & spotless; furnishing is sparse, only the queen's room have a extra small table with 2 chairs.

There's no air-condition, only a ceiling fan been provided, u should open the window and let in the cool fresh air, if not the room might have a stale feel.

The small TV & hair-dryer in our twin room was not working; unable to tune into any program, always fuzzy pix. The queen room one was ok but there's not much program to choose from.

The mattress is deem ok by my friend but I found it a bit soft; the pillows were terrible - it's too soft & flat, giving no support at all (even when I slept on 2), it gave all of us a backache the next morning.

The only good thing about this hotel is the shopping & restaurant area within it's compound, with a cinema and coach bay near by.

It have a casino connected to it, plus a indoor rides.The rides look like it's mainly for small children.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the lift lobby & be on the 28FL for non-smoking - the highest FL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeowSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We got a super deal at 68 MYR.. so I guess my review will be based upon that.

But, you will seriously not need your rooms except to crash at night. You have so many activities that your room features are at the very back of your mind. Casinos, theme parks, ripleys, rides, fast food counters...

One thing I wanted to add here.. thank god we didnt have breakfast included, coz the line to First World Cafe was insane. At least 500 ppl waiting in queue just to get in. Chek pics :))

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jishnu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I went here 3 times (Feb 2011, May 2011, Sept 2011), just because it's economical. It is cheaper than other hotels in Genting Highlands. But the services are bad. Have to wait about 3 hours just for check-in (with no booking). I tried to book using resort world website, then booked a room, then on the vacation day, i go to the hotel reception, yet still have to wait about 1 and a half hours.

Room Tip: Choose Super deluxe on low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syapik_hassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.5 km away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
455 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
187 reviews
0.4 km away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
103 reviews
5.7 km away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
25.6 km away
Smile Hotel @ Wangsa Maju
Smile Hotel @ Wangsa Maju
#225 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Property: First World Hotel
Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price range (per night): ₹ 840 - ₹ 9,624
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World
First World Hotel Malaysia/Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing