We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you want peace and love Nature”
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Its so peace ful and natural that i loved it. I went there in 2008 and it was so good that i loved it.
The rooms are simple but if you go and live in those hotels in Genting then you cant escape the hussle bussle of genting highlands. Since Awana Genting is a few Kilo meters down genting its very very peace and surroounded by Lush Green Meadows and Mountains.Lovely.

The only downside is that you have to take the Shuttle service everyday to reach Genting but its free service provided by the hotel.

The breakfast was one of the best i have had in my life. I live there for 3 nights. Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SyedNoorMShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 669 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

A very good hotel and the service you get is also value for money. The rooms were very comfy, and the view from our 17th floor room was lovely. The whole valley was covered in mist and it was very cold also. There was a balcony in our room where we could sit and take in the breathtaking view. The buffet lunch and dinner in the Rajawali Restaurant is good if you are non-vegetarians, but the choice is limited for the vegetarians. But still you can leave with a full stomach. Unfortunately we couldn's stay for the breakfast, as we had to leave at 6 in the morning. But they packed a breakfast of cheese sandwiches which were very good, with lots of pepper, salt and sugar packets.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandni_shenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Ok, you are not going to Awana because of the hotel. You go because you either want to play golf or go to the casino.

The hotel, rooms, restaurant, facilities are all dated. Suspect was built in the 80ties.
Though the rooms are clean and big. They serve the purpose well for a night or two.

Breakfast is normal, nothing special and was very crowded on the weekend.

We tried the a la card meals in the "Flavour Cafe" - was a pleasant surprise.

At least staff was very helpful and friendly.

There is a shuttle bus in hourly interval to both the mountain top casino and the Skyway cable car. Which i though was actually quite a scenic ride (over the jungle with the Monkeys playing below). And for only 6 RM very reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a high floor one, you might be over the mist if you are lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texmex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is an excellent resort in terms of location, environment and services.

We booked for 2-room suite, initially i thought of asking for an extra bed for a family of 6, but the receiption arranged us with a unit that comes with a free sofa bed. Our master room are equiped with jacussi while the wall is foldable so we would have a large living room. What a great idea.

Breakfast not included but the cafe is serving a nice selection with reasonable price.

A nice surprise is the warm (not really heated but maintain at 28c-30c) open spa at cold weather (18c - 25c). Free suttle-bus to cable-car station is a plus point.

The hotel is currently upgrading some of the rooms and we are lucky to have a newly furnished room. Please insist on 'new furnished room' if possible.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank si w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If I had a choice, I wouldn't book this hotel. The hotel room's mirror is broken, everything was like 'cut & paste', broken chair that fixed with a board, broken mirror fixed with glue, etc. Hotel room is equiped with a kitchenette but nothing is provided except for a kettle and 2 cups. Don't think of cooking or even making yourself a cup of coffee, because basic utencils and pots are not provided. I called the housekeeping to loan a coffee pot, they said they don't have, passed the line to room service, they said they can't loan to us as they have limited supply for their own use. I asked them what's the point of having hobs and kettle in the big room with nothing is provided? They kept quiet and just hung up without finished talking. However, there's an advantage of the hotel, which is the warm pools. But don't expect much as the pool is dirty! A pool staff was so rude, i asked for 3 towels for my kids and husband. He said each room only entitled for 2 towels, he couldn't do anything if I needed extra. What a ridiculous answer! He didn't even apologise or do something but just kept argue with me and let me waited there. Yet, the changing room's door is sticked with a 'no smoking' sign, but someone (I think she's a hotel staff) is standing behind the door, inside the changing room smoking, never bothered a baby was in the changing room. I told the staffs, but they just smiled and walked away. Bell boy sent my luggages took exactly an hour, and it was only week day, not much people checked in. It's really disappointing staying in such a lousy hotel. However, there's still a good thing about the hotel, the hotel front desk service was good, staffs are friendly. Aside of this, nothing is up to the sandard expectation.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlottechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
3.4 km away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 12 in Genting Highlands
2,928 reviews
4 km away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 12 in Genting Highlands
262 reviews
2.9 km away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 12 in Genting Highlands
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
3 km away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 12 in Genting Highlands
118 reviews
3 km away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 12 in Genting Highlands
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: ₹ 4,717 - ₹ 12,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Awana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Malaysia/Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing