We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a good place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a good place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We arrived on site as part of our north/south holiday in August. On arrival the site looked good and very busy, however when given our pre booked pitch we quickly realised that our TT would not fit adequately and there were no spare pitches elsewhere. With our half pitched tent up, I went on search for the rubbish / recycling bins as we were on the direct flight path for a family of wasps. It did not take long as the bins could be seen as they were so overfilled, there was bags and rubbish strewn around, and the smell!!!.
The shower block was clean but showers were expensive for the time you got some hot water (about a minute).
Now the website boasts a lot of activities for the kids to do, but, yet again, a charge is put on everything inc outdoor cinema etc which I feel is just a tad too much as we were already payed close to €50 a night
The place and surrounding area is beautiful
Now I accept that this is a busy and popular place, but it seem to be a gravy train for the owners rather than getting these issues sorted
In summary if you want to go camping where pitches are too small, crammed in like a tin of tuna, and your wallet emptied
much faster than you think you could, then this is the place for you, if not, don't go there

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank robnhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi Robnhelene, I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our holiday park. I would like you to know that all of our comments, both good and bad, are shared with our staff. All of our sites with electric are 30 x 30 ft. Our camping field allows for any size tent, however there is no electric. The bins are emptied every Friday and unfortunately the rubbish company will not come twice a week. Having said that our staff tidy the bin area twice each day. Our free on site activities include the kid's outdoor fun park (embankment slides, two playgrounds, giant space net, football pitch, lazy river) swimming and fishing. On Bank Holiday weekends we have organised games all day long that are all free of charge. Kind regards, The Williams family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    71
    36
    35
    25
See reviews for
223
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Myself and my partner decided to spent one night at this campsite midweek during the easter holidays 2012 in order to check out the campsite as a possible camptrip for our family of 5 children later in the year. Having arrived we noted that the ground for pitching tents was very water logged, with the only area not affected was that near the river. However this area is not serviced by electric points. |In fact there appeared to be only 2 power points in the tent area.
Following a night of heavy rain, the tent field was even more water logged. Their appears to be no drainage whatsoever at this area, which leaves it completely unsuitable for pitching tents.
In Ireland we have to expect rain as part of our holiday experience, we also have to expect that if you pay top rates for pitching a tent (€36 for one night with electric) the ground must be adequate for the service being paid for, In this case, and for this campsite, you are not getting the service for your money, this is not what we should expect from Irish tourism.

On a related matter, the playground closes at 7pm, again, not a service suited to families on summer breaks where bright evenings gives the opportunity for children to stay up and play later in the evening.
And finally, we were charged €5.00 for the Ireland 2012 camping and caravan guide, which i will grant does have a charge on the back of the brochure, but which had since found out that campsites, camping shops etc get these for free and charging is discretionary....again, more money for less service.
We wont be returning for the planned family trip, we wont be recommending to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear traDublin, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our holiday park. Around Easter we had A LOT of rain and the camping field was saturated and for this we apologise. We would have been more than happy to find you a pitch with electric on the main side of the park, however maybe you only wanted to be in the camping field? The kid's fun park closes at 7pm each night. After 7pm from June we offer other activities such as family bingo and the kid's disco. The Irish Caravan & Camping book costs 5 euros and this book is not free of charge to us. We have to pay to advertise in this book and we are only given a handful of copies to sell. After these copies we have to buy the books from the ICC to sell. Kind regards, The Williams family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We travelled to Hidden Valley with 2 other families all in caravans. We had a great week. We had 9 children ages from 18 months to 11 years. As I would have mentioned in other reviews, we are seasoned caravaners and know the difference between good and bad caravan parks in Ireland and England.
I have read the reviews for Hidden Valley from the past few years both good and bad.
My review is based on our evperience in April 2012 Easter time.
We had a great time in the park and the children had a ball. There is a huge park which was free when we were there.
The staff worked tirelessly and provided intertainment right through the Easter weekend. The park is modern and there has been lots of work done to keep the site modern and fresh during the winter for the new season.
The electricity supply to each pitch is 16 amp. This is very high when compared to other sittes in Ireland.
I am confident that regular caravan, motorhome and camping families who visit this site will find that the site operates at the higher end of the quality scale and will enjoy and return to Hidden Valley over and over again.
If I was to make a negative comment on the site it would be that the toilet block needs to be cleaned to a higher standard. Once cleaned they then need to be cleaned more often to then maintain the high standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Kieran S, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared all your comments with our staff and have discussed your comments about the amenity block with our cleaners. We try our best to achieve the highest standard of cleanliness and offer first class facilities to all our customers. Kind regards, The Williams family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have stayed in Hidden Valley two years in a row and are now planning to stay there again in 2012. It's lovely, clean site, the location is great for touring around Wicklow and we have always found the staff helpful and friendly. On one occassion we had a caravan beside us who played music all day long, by 11pm we were putting our 3 young children to bed and thought it was time to do something about the music. We had let them play it all day and they obviously had no consideration for others around them, my husband spoke to the owner of the site, within 5 minutes he was at the other caravan asking them to turn music off, which they did, problem sorted. The site is fantastic for families, my children absolutely love it and begged us to take them back again this year! My only complaint about the place is that I think they let too many campers stay in the big camping field, it gets really busy at weekends, but it hasn't put us off!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Thank you to owner's of this beautiful Holiday Park. It is great to see clean, safe and very enjoyable place where I can take the family.
I have already booked my next holiday here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
9.5 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
19.8 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
11.7 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
18.8 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.7 km away
Birchdale House
Birchdale House
#4 of 7 in Rathdrum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Property: Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rathdrum
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hidden Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Rathdrum, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing