We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Overnight ”
Review of Rifugio Sapienza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rifugio Sapienza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed as part of a tour to Mt. Etna. Rooms are clean, quite and comfortable.

Dining room excellent - both cuisine and service as part of a group dinner. Also, thoughtful and reasonably priced wine list. Very good breakfast offering.

Appreciated the gluten & dairy free options.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed the place, comfortable room, very good breakfast , bar and restaurant offer excellent food and products. Staff was kind and helpful. A little bit pricey for Sicilian standards but food is delicious.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to see Mt. Etna so we decided to stay overnight. We thought that we would go early the following day but the forecast wasn’t good so we went up after we checked it

It was very busy during the day - they also have a restaurant (see separate review). We had to park on the road because the lots were full. But it was wonderful at night - quiet and dark. We went for a walk on the road and there were no cars. We went on a morning walk but didn’t get organized early enough so by 10 am tour buses had arrived

We liked our room. It was simple, had traces of pine smell and it was clean. It faced the mountain but immediately outside the window were all kinds of equipment as well as vehicles. It didn’t bother us that much because we knew that they needed these to run their business

The bed was comfortable enough but the shower might be a problem for some because it’s small (and we are not big)

The guys at the desk were friendly and we generally liked the atmosphere of this hotel. We would stay there again if we come back to do some hikes in the area

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank My_Aunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Loved this place honestly. We only stayed for 1 night again , we wanted to take the cable car to 2500 feet then a jeep ride up to 3000 feet .we mentioned this to the guy at reception and were given a 30% discount on our mountin trip . Bar and restaurant all in house . The rooms are basic but comfortable with a fridge in room and the bathroom is large enough to be wheelchair accessible. Only good memory's will be taken home from this trip.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eoghan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

The food was very good
The restaurant was very busy at 8 pm on a Tuesday
I got a hot chocolate that was not very good No charge for the hot chocolate and they gave me a free coffee
Good atmosphere very friendly staff

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Iceman202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicolosi
9.6 km away
Hotel Alle Pendici Dell'Etna
13.8 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
802 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Corsaro
Hotel Corsaro
#1 of 4 in Nicolosi
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa Dorata
Hotel Villa Dorata
#1 of 1 in Ragalna
117 reviews
18.3 km away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Giovanni la Punta
232 reviews
20.4 km away
Hotel Villa Mater
Hotel Villa Mater
#35 of 49 in Catania
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio Sapienza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Sapienza

Address: Piazza Rifugio Sapienza SNC, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Nicolosi
Price Range: ₹ 4,464 - ₹ 7,589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rifugio Sapienza 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delicious hotel in alpine style, situated in a privileged position at 1920 meter quote, max point of arrival for cars and close to the implants of Etna's Cableway. Ideal destination both in winter, due to the proximity to the ski resorts, which in summer time for all who wishes to experience the charm of the excursion to the volcano's summit. The 22 rooms, distributed on two floors, are equipped with all comforts: hairdryer, toiletries, safe, minibar and Wi-Fi free. The Rifugio Sapienza, it isn't only an ideal place for relax or have fun; during your stay, our chefs will delight your palate with the specialties of the house. In the morning for breakfast a rich buffet with homemade preparations, hot croissant, tarts, pies just baked will await you... To main meals, served in the smart restaurant, typical Sicilian recipes from the timeless and unforgettable flavors will be protagonists. Our restaurant is open all days, also with a la carte menu and is proud to be sought for all types of banqueting and meetings. In spring and summer time, all nights the pizzeria will be open... Slow-rising dough and high quality ingredients will make special your pizza at 2000 meters altitude!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rifugio Sapienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rifugio Sapienza Nicolosi, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing