We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hopper Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“relaxing stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Warm welcome and lovely relaxing stay. Room was clean, nicely decorated and towels bundled with ribbon and flowers...nice touch. Staff were friendly and accommodating, really chilled ambience. We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal and breakfast and couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    42
    8
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
93
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Lovely welcome when we arrived, shown to our room which was lovely really clean plenty of space to move about, bathroom clean and big enough shower with piping hot water. Joe very helpful saying if we were staying out late then to ring him so he could let us in. Offered us a meal in the restuarant but also told us about near by harrogate where we opted to go for a meal. Breakfast was lovely. We will be booking again as were made to feel very welcome thanks x

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here last Friday/Saturday night, as a gift from our son, and really enjoyed our stay.
We received a warm welcome (as two of the three fires were lit) from the general manager, Joe Walker, on our arrival and was allocated one of the double rooms and yes, they are small in comparison, but when you see what they've packed into the small space they had to work with, you can undertsand the architect's dilemna and what they have achieved from such a small space. Saturday night we moved to room one, which is a twin room, and the largest of the five available rooms at the inn; and no, we didn't ask to be moved, somebody had booked a double room and we were in it, simple as that. It worked in our favour, as we had more room to spread out. We ate in the restaurant both nights and though not an extensive menu to choose from, everything is locally sourced and cooked to perfection. We had an ample wine list to chose from and my only criticisim is that it could have been served a little better e.g, no request to taste my selection was offered, but this is only a minor point, and did not detract from an enjoyable meal, served up both nights, from enthusiastic members of staff. We retired to the lounge area and again seated ourselves by the open fire and enjoyed the company of other regulars/guests. Again, breakfast was cooked from locally sourced produce and though we were not offered a menu, you didn't need one, as what ever they have, you can have cooked for you, just ask. Joe and his staff are accommodating and will do everything they can to make your stay an enjoyable one. They have all the local knowledge and can tell you where the best walks are and what grades they are; we chose and walked around both Fewston/Swinsty reservoirs, which took us 2.5 hours in total to complete. All in all, we had a really enjoyable stay and would not hesitate in going back again, given the opportunity. What they lack in some quarters, they make up in abundance in other areas, like being friendly, welcoming and serving good wholesome food (plus serving a good pint of real ale), then why would you want to go anywhere else ?

Room Tip: If you like larger rooms, then you have to ask for Room One, which is the twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCAVE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We used to enjoy a lunch by the fire at this pub many years ago then it went downhill. We saw that it had had a revamp and there seemed to be quite a few cars in the car park so we decided to give it another try. What a shame. No fires on the coldest day of the year, the place was empty which spoke volumes. The chairs were thick with dust and grime and the whole place had an uncared for air about it. It seems to need a woman about the place. There was a smell of disinfectant that was very off putting so we had a quick drink (no non-alcoholic beer and only chilled tomato juice) and left. So disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deb1712Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I had a 3 night stay in January 2012 and we were very impressed with how hospitable the team at The Hopper are. We were met by friendly, helpful staff who were chatty and welcoming throughout our stay, they make you feel like you're in a home from home and show interest in what you've been doing during your stay. There are information leaflets available of local attractions and the staff are helpful in offering suggestions and advice.

The decor of the pub/restaurant is very tasteful and comfortable. There are different seating areas to suit your mood - a busy main bar with friendly locals (especially if you're lucky enough to catch domino night!), a quieter room with an original period fireplace for relaxing with a book, plenty of seating for more formal dining and even a relaxing area with leather sofas, games and a TV - so something for everyone.

I was very impressed with the meals, the food from either the main menu or the specials board was excellent and prices are very reasonable. Portion sizes are big so there is no need to worry about value for money as you will be well fed! At breakfast we were offered a full English breakfast, as a vegetarian it was no trouble to opt for eggs and toast instead and my husband enjoyed the local farm sourced bacon and sausages which he said were nicer than more usual mass produced varieites on offer in other hotels we've stayed in.

The accommodation was fairly basic but perfectly acceptable with a very nice, modern en-suite with a large sized shower cubicle. The tea/coffee tray was replenished each morning and it was nice to come back from a day walking and sightseeing and be able to rest with a drink and a few biscuits before heading out again for dinner.

We had a very enjoyable, restful stay in a beautiful part of the Yorkshire Dales - a good base for exploring and one I'm sure we'll be returning to!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLeeSoulsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
11.9 km away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
11.1 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
14.6 km away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
The Black Horse Hotel
4.5 km away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#30 of 99 in Harrogate
284 reviews
9.9 km away
No photo provided
The Horse & Farrier
#5 of 6 in Otley
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hopper Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hopper Lane Hotel

Property: The Hopper Lane Hotel
Address: Skipton Road | Blubberhouses, Otley LS21 2NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hopper Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over a vast Hospitality portfolio to include owning his own Michelin Star restaurant for ten years,chef patron Mark Maguire is passionate about food and the reinvention of the traditional dishes using plates derived from the Yorkshire region a area of outstanding beauty and steeped in history incorporated with his love of the provincial french dishes. using local farmers and their fayre Mark creates dishes that celebrate the Yorkshire countryside and the history of this olde coaching inn with classic dishes that are created focusing on taste and flavors taking care with presentation but without over arrogance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing