We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Tour”

Rose Hall Great House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 20.00*
and up
Rose Hall Great House & Garden Tour
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The greatest of Jamaican great houses, the Rose Hall Great House has a story with all the elements of an engaging novel. Built in 1770 by John Palmer and his wife, it eventually became the residence of their grandnephew, John Rose Palmer. In 1820, Palmer married Annee, a beautiful but feisty English girl. Little did John know that his young wife possessed “black magic” powers that would eventually lead to his demise. During her reign as mistress of the plantation, Annee did away with two more husbands and countless lovers. “The White Witch of Rose Hall” has fascinated generations, and even today, there are those who claim to see Annee passing through the Great House. A candle-lit evening tour of the Rose Hall Great House is a must for visitors to Montego Bay. Your guided exploration of the former home of Jamaica’s White Witch, Annee Palmer, includes captivating and chilling stories of love, murder and mystery skillfully told by knowledgeable guides. You’re sure to feel goose bumps as these eerie tales come to life in this grand estate, where ghost sightings have been reported over the years. Tours also give historic insight into this grandest of Jamaican great houses, now beautifully restored with 18th-century decor and antiques. To conclude this fascinating adventure, you can visit the dungeon, now transformed into a tavern called Annee’s Pub. Many visitors find that the famous rum cocktail, known as “Witches Brew” helps banish the spirits of ghosts or black magic they sense still lingering in the mansion.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

What a fun thing to do. The guides were awesome and created a scary ambience along with the house tour itself. Would do it again

Thank Advisormember-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseHallDevelopments, Digital Marketing Team at Rose Hall Great House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are extremely happy that you had a fun time with us! On behalf of our Management and Staff we express gratitude to you for taking the time out to share your reviews with us.

Our Guides will be commended for their awesome service to you, that had you feeling welcomed and comfortable.

We anticipate your return and look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"annie palmer"
in 212 reviews
"night tour"
in 372 reviews
"white witch"
in 238 reviews
"haunted house"
in 66 reviews
"haunted tour"
in 50 reviews
"johnny cash"
in 58 reviews
"interesting history"
in 67 reviews
"front of the house"
in 35 reviews
"great tour"
in 80 reviews
"witches brew"
in 46 reviews
"gift shop"
in 66 reviews
"ghost stories"
in 25 reviews
"jamaican history"
in 39 reviews
"montego bay"
in 128 reviews
"take pictures"
in 36 reviews
"spooky"
in 193 reviews
"slaves"
in 194 reviews
Filter

143 - 147 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Second time here and learn so much about the history of this place. The grounds are peaceful and beautiful. Learn about the way the slaves were treated so bad and the children had to work just as hard. Staff are so friendly.

Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseHallDevelopments, Digital Marketing Team at Rose Hall Great House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are extremely happy that you decided to spend your time with us for a second time! On behalf of Management and Staff, Thank you for choosing us as we know you have several entertainment options.

Our staff will be congratulated for making you feel welcomed and comfortable and we are pleased to know you learned so much about the History of Rose Hall, The Great House and The White Witch.

Thank you for sharing your reviews with the TripAdvisor Community! We look forward to hosting you again for a third time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Visited while on honeymoon , the history was sad , however haunted house rolepalh was sort of scary and funny at the same time.

Thank cb202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseHallDevelopments, Digital Marketing Team at Rose Hall Great House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our Management and Staff, Thank you for taking the time out to share your reviews with us and the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate and value your feedback as we are always looking to improve and enhance our services.

We are aware that you have several entertainment options to choose from and we thank you for choosing Rose Hall.

We do hope that the sad history of the house did not detract from your overall experience with us and look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Our group of friends/family toured Rose Hall as a part of a cruise tour. We are all history buffs so we loved seeing the home and hearing the stories of Jamaica as well as the crazy people who lived in the house. One of our group members was having some mobility challenges due to a recent fall, so the uneven surfaces and stairs were a little tricky, but our guide was attentive and helpful. Local artists sell beautiful wood carvings and crafts on the grounds, too. Stunning views of the ocean.

Thank ThirstyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseHallDevelopments, Digital Marketing Team at Rose Hall Great House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Rose Hall Great House Tours as your premiere choice of entertainment and for learning more about Jamaica's History. We are delighted that your time with us was well spent and beautiful.

To your friends, the 'History buffs' we thank them as well and are pleased everyone enjoyed our tour!

We are pleased to hear as well that our guide was attentive and helpful to the special needs of one of your group members especially with our challenging services. All our staff will be congratulated for their teamwork and job well done!

On behalf of our Management and Staff, Thank you for taking the time out to share your reviews with us and the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate and value your feedback as we are always looking to improve and enhance our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope next time you'll be able to immerse yourself even more in the full Rose Hall experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I did the night tour. It's the better of the two tours offered they provided a very interactive and spooky experience. My tour guide Sophia was the best she made it worth every penny. Just be prepared to scream but you will really enjoy yourself.

Thank caribbeancurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseHallDevelopments, Digital Marketing Team at Rose Hall Great House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your reviews on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your kind words.

We are excited that you had a wonderful experience with us and that you chose us from your many options of entertainment! Sophia will be congratulated on a excellent job done!

We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose Hall Great House also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Rose Hall Great House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing