We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,320)
Filter reviews
2,320 results
Traveller rating
1,739
363
118
65
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,739
363
118
65
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar mill hibiscus suite seagrape terrace il giardino all inclusive plan west cottages fern tree spa meal plan sea grape private pool bedroom villa golf cart cedar bar sunset beach horseback riding pepper pot villa staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,815 - 1,820 of 2,320 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

All I can say is WHAT A TRIP! We're a coupe in our late 20s who enjoyed a trip won from work. I've never been to a more exclusive hotel. The restaurants were all terrific, and although there wasn't much of a "bar scene" it was just enough. The bike rentals were a big plus for the large property and we cruised around the resort every day. Because of the location of the beach you are very secluded. Great that this is on a compound and unlike other resorts you aren't bothered all the time by the vendors as everything was "locked up"
Wonderful trip great place to stay.

Room Tip: make use of the bikes
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weezereve6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was really a pleasure serving you. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated. We look forward to again welcome you to your home-away- from-home in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My boyfriend and I originally booked another hotel (that went bankrupt) and were lucky enough to get upgraded to The Half Moon Resort.

My jaw dropped to the floor when we pulled into this place. No kidding.
It's a colonial-style palace. The lobby walls are lined with photos of Queen Elizabeth and Jackie O's arrival.

The beach is just gorgeous and the drool-worthy cocktails are accompanied by traditional Jamaican music most nights.

We stayed here twice. Once at the beginning of our trip and once at the end and both rooms were spacious, clean and beautifully decorated.

I'm not going to lie, it is a little far out from town but nothing a short taxi ride can't fix.
The paradise is worth a few extra miles.

The staff were fantastic. In particular Chavin who not only smiled every time we asked a stupid question, but even helped us organise a better rate for one night after I stupidly booked for November (instead of December).

Big thumbs up from us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the beach. There's nothing better than waking up to turquoise water.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crystalthenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was a pleasure serving you; we are happy your experience exceeded your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed the Half Moon facility and amenities.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

A sprawling property of hundreds of acres set around a beautiful private beach. We had a suite that opened out onto a private stretch of beach, which was magnificent!

A beautiful colonial property set in the verdant belt of Montego Bay. The rooms are large and very private, with GIANT bathrooms. The property is dotted with scores of villas, also available for guests, and this is accompanied by over 40 swimming pools. Between the pools and the beaches, there is no shortage of water opportunities.

A 50,000 SF spa perfectly compliment the beach, the pool, and biking lifestyle. The beautiful golf course, tennis courts, and equestrian centre round out this property.

We signed up for the platinum all inclusive plan which includes access to all the restaurants, 24 hour room service, and best of all...free alcohol!

We swam with the horses and the dolphins, and gorged on the food and the fresh juices.

Half Moon offers everything for the PERFECT relaxing holiday and I would highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelHawkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you as our valued guests; we’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed the Half Moon facility and offerings.

Again, we thank you for choosing Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to your home-away-from-home soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Half Moon is a lovely resort located along a 2-mile crescent of beach dotted with cottages and villas only steps from turquoise waters. Overall we truly enjoyed our Dec 2011 seven day getaway and would recommend this resort to couples who are interested in retreating from noise, excessive crowds, and enjoy having incredible views.

1. Property.
We stayed in a cottage that was only 3 steps from the sand, and a couple more steps into the sea. I understand that the beach is eroding; we noted the tireless efforts by the staff to keep nature from relentlessly inching up towards the property in their constant sweeping away of sand and debris, along with raking up prodigious amounts of seaweed deposited daily. That being said, the beach does not offer tremendous opportunities for strolling or sunbathing due to the narrow beach and encroaching palm trees (which are lovely if you love shade). Toward our end of the property there was a tremendous amount of wind-blown debris that created a less than a ideal swimming experience, but hey, it's a tropical destination with tropical breezes and tides. For perfect shorelines, walking beaches, and pristine clear waters, go to Grand Cayman Island to Seven-Mile Beach (we have been several times). The property is large and offers many amenities. We enjoyed tennis, our gratis bicycles, and a lovely, fully equipped modern gym. Perhaps it was because we were not here during prime season (I guess early Dec. is still low season??) but the 40 meter Olympic pool was closed due to repairs, much to my chagrin. It should be up and operating at this writing. Additionally, the Spin Room is closed and you are unable to use the spin bikes UNLESS you make a reservation with the Instructor. Also disappointing. Perhaps this is mitigated after high season begins and more folks show up.

Here are some other things to look out for:

2. Billing.
You MUST sign up for the all-inclusive meals and drinks. Costs are otherwise very high and there are unpredictable charges that you must still monitor on your bill. We had to sort out (ultimately, with the help of the very supportive Paula Lilly, GM) some of the inconsistencies on our bill. Not all non-motorized watersports are included in the package and not all restaurants offer the all inclusive drinks*. Make sure you carefully read your welcome packet if your initial representative does not explicitly go through this with you upon your arrival. We also discovered that the minibar was not included for guests who book after 12/15. Summary: "All Inclusive" really is more like: "Somewhat inclusive."

3. Restaurants
We dined at The Sugar Mill a couple times and found it to be very romantic; sparkling lights on the trees in an outdoor dining environment, with perfect evening breezes made it sublime. The food was pretty good too. Daily breakfast buffet was a comprehensive choice of all the standards, including speciaty Jamaican cuisine, (jerk prepared chicken, tacos, crepes, etc). Service was typical to island standards: relaxed but formal, if that makes sense. Nobody is in a rush to get the coffee to you, but they do it with great warmth and the florish of old world waiters. We ate at Aarya, the Thai/Indian restaurant and were the only ones there. It was acceptable and the drinks were great until we learned they were not included in our all inlcusive. *Only the on-property Seagrape Terrace, the on-property bars, and the off-property Sugar Mill are all-inclusive. Il Giordano is only open a couple nights a week, and we just never made it there. Room service was a divine experience - we had white table cloth type service for dinner set up for us, and on a daily bais ordered lunch on our private patio (Great burgers and fries!). During the day, we were able to have drinks brought to our chaise lounges while basking. Dreamy. The service staff are exceptionally warm and helpful and we truly appreciated the hard work they do to make this such a nice destination. Rooms were well maintained and cleaned - down to housekeeping folding our messy clothes that we tended to pile up.

3. Activities:
Tennis, golf, watersports, including hoby cats, peddle boats, floaties, swimming in the olympic sized pool, biking, gym, spin - all available on property.

4. Pick up/drop off.
Seamless. Airport has a lounge where you can comfortably await your transfer to the property (and this is included in your "all-inclusive" package)

5. Minor Issues
Plumbing. We had no water for half a day but it was corrected after a broken line was repaired. Pillows were sub par for a property of this cost/caliber. We had foam pillows, and on request received down pillows, which were lumpy with sharp feather quills, as opposed to the more highly desired eiderdown. Perhaps an investment the property could make? Better pillows make all the difference!!!

6. Summary
Highly recommend with the above caveats. Most of the folks were couples or guests attending weddings as it is a terrific destination - we may consider this as a return destination for a family member's wedding next year. That gives you a sense of our comfort level with Half Moon!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms can't be beat; ours was wonderful. All rooms were quiet. The villas looked splendid if you're interested in attending with a larger group and they're set up like a gated community.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlauftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share the lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you; and receiving your detailed feedback on our resort facility and service.

We are happy you enjoyed your experience including your accommodation and activities. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Half Moon –

Who we are – 2 couples in our early 30s going to a wedding in negril and wanted to start off our vacation in Mobay. Picked Half Moon from a referral from a dear friend, he told us it would be wonderful but it was beyond amazing!!

We stayed in the Hibiscus suites in the west cottages – truly a dream room – we had a living room, bed room, dressing room and a fabulous bathroom. We had our own porch, a small lawn and were steps away from the sand. Even though we had neighbors on all sides we still felt as if the resort was just for us. There were TVs in both living and bedroom but we never turned them on.

The beach has some rocks but there are plenty of spots you could walk out without rocks but water shoes or the rafts Half Moon provides can help too! There are plenty of options of sun or shade. You can walk the beach from end to end and feel as though you are on a private island. The grounds staff keeps the entire property in tip top shape. There is not one thing out of place ever, they were some of my favorite people to tip. You must explore the entire property – the sunrise beach was the most private part of Half Moons property – you literally could not see a person around!!

Food – when we first arrived we didn’t want to do anything but put our feet in the sand – we decided to order room service and we received top notch service!! They bring the linens, all additions you could ever want, flowers on the table and all served with smiles – they won us over with our first meal we spent a couple more meals on our own porch looking at the ocean with their perfect service. Hint hint – room service is not to be skipped – pamper yourself – they will spoil you!! Our first dinner was at Sugar Mill which could be any five star restaurant around the world that everyone should try once in their life. Our server Dwayne made us laugh, let us know a little about Jamaica and himself and yet again we were spoiled by service and the best food at Half Moon. Hint hint – make a reservation if you like fancy food!! The beach BBQ was at the top of our list b/c I thought it would offer the best local flare but the rain cancelled it and they had to move it to seagrape – was very nice. You could see how much work it was to move the entire event last minute and the staff all had smiles – no stress showed, they deserve a congratulations.

Maids/turn down service – they are like the grounds team – they make everything perfect and I loved tipping them.

Bellhops – Paul took our bags to our room with a smile and was telling us all about Half Moon, what a special guy. All the bellhops helped us with directions – anything you need those are the boys that will help direct you!!

The oleander pool and pool bar – we only stopped by for a second since we were in Jamaica for the ocean – was very nice and plenty of private areas – as always I think the pools in Jamaica are cold but I could care less since again we were there for the ocean!!

I got an opportunity to plant a palm tree in honor of my mother who lost her life to cancer this year and was a very very special moment that Arlien Dyer made happen for me – she was one of the highlights from the first time I contacted her to my private moment planting a tree for mom. I cant stay thank you enough for her kind heart. She is meant to be in customer service and Rock Resorts are lucky to have her!!

Extras – riding bikes to explore the property – too much fun and nice way to get a little exercise after all the food and drinks!! We did the horseback riding which was an experience of a lifetime. Trina the owner and I had different personalities and didn’t really hit it off but her team and the experience were truly magical!! Thank you Keno and Chase!! We also did the parasailing which none of us had done since we were kids and it was a great way to see the property and have a minute to take it all in. Of course it was not a life experience like the horseback riding but still a great time.

We did the Platinum package so when knew what we were paying up front. The prices are high for basic things like a mimosa or a glass of wine – I would suggest most people should do one of their plans if you are not staying in the villas.

Overview – half moon has old world charm – from walking through the breath taking open lobby and reading the literature about Jackie O and the other famous faces to the never ending service – there is nothing you cant have at half moon – simply ask – of course we tipped everyone who helped make our extra request happen. Tipping a dollar in Jamaica is the simplest way to say thank you – they depend on tips and deserve tips.

We donated to Half Moons school – we gave notebooks, pencils, crayons, dictionaries and books. This is a simple way to give back to the community that we all LOVE to vacation in.

Misses – only two – the arrival at the airport in Half Moons lounge was not very welcoming yet we were still thankful we arrived in Jamaica and were not waiting in a line at Sandals which was wrapped around the place. I’m picky when it comes to linens and the sheets at Half moon are not the best but I really didn’t mind when I was on vacation.

Finally - we will be visiting Half Moon again - hopefully next time we will take more friends and family and rent a villa - Thank You everyone at Half Moon!!

Room Tip: West Cottages are the place to be!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCCfortootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you during your recent visit; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed not only your accommodation but the hospitality and service from our dedicated team. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to your “home-away-from-home” soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews