We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
127
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher husbandthe ownergreat atmospherefor saleunique experiencespent nightsnorway triplocal foodhighlight of our tripgreat viewhomemade jamsminute drivethe barnown gardensausagesit downcommon table
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We spent 14 days on a self-drive tour of Norway and BesteBakken was one of the more memorable stays. Our room was very comfortable with a beautiful view of the lake and surrounding countryside. Our hostess, Ms Alme was very gracious and welcoming. She even prepared a special meal for us to accommodate our special dietary needs. The cuisine was outstanding and the dinner company interesting. A B&B experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: try for a room facing the lake
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at BesteBakken! Lindis was the perfect host, and we felt well cared for and welcomed from the moment we arrived. We were a party of 10 couples, had been traveling all day, and she made us an amazing venison dinner with only two hours notice. We loved the dinner conversations with our fellow travelers, and even got great recommendations on driving routes to Oslo. The rooms were comfortable, the views amazing, and all in our party were very satisfied. It was a very personalized and unique traveling experience. We hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, It is a family operated place, you have the feeling that you came to visit the family. The hostess, Lindis, manages it all. She puts attention to so many details, including educating the guests on the traditional breakfast and dinner experience, plus guiding you on local activities. You can have a massage, take a trip on a helicopter, etc.
It was a wonderful and unique experience!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cbenzvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We spent 4 nights at Beste Bakken sttarting on Aug 14, 2017 and loved it. The innkeeper, Lindis, is a treasure who works hard to insure that her guests are happy. She is also a great cook and hostess. The included breakfasts are Norwegian specialties which are wonderful. We appreciated the fact that we learned so much about customs, foods, and the Norwegian way of life.
We opted for dinner each night and they too were wonderful. It is especially nice to sit around the beautifully appointed table with travelers from all over and have great unrushed conversations. The rooms are spacious, clean, and individully decorated. All in all, this is an exceptionaal inn with a truly exceptional hostess. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrockNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We are typically big, high-service, five-star hotel chain people (Ritz, Four Seasons, etc.) because we are a family of six and need several connecting rooms, big dining tables, restaurant options, flexible services, etc. This trip we used a travel agent who put us at the BesteBakken and I had some concerns when I saw the website. But this hotel turned out to be the highlight of our hotels in Norway. The place is a family business and they have incredible pride in hosting their guests. The property itself is gorgeous, with a main house and a renovated barn, gardens, patios, views to the water, and some friendly alpacas. There are a few room configuration options (we had one room with three singles and two doubles, and two bathrooms). The rooms were spotless, well-decorated, and well maintained with great views of the lake. Dinner was a three course sit down dinner, almost like you were at someone's home in Norway - with silver, crystal, flower centerpieces, and candles. Much of the food was locally sourced and homemade, and the wife/mother shared details about each course before it was served. Breakfast was equally as nice. All in all, a highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Water view rooms are very nice
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum_efh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews