We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
68
24
11
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
24
11
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

Albergo Ristorante Monte Piella is a magical place tucked up in the mountains above Porretta Terme. This was our second visit. My cousin and I stayed for five weeks and were treated like family.

Salvatore and Daniela (the proprietors) prepare a wonderful variety of dishes. Everything is organic and made in house. Breakfast is included with your stay and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner. The menu includes a variety of homemade pastas of which tagliatelle with Bolognese sauce was one of our favorites. It tasted just like the sauce our Italian grandmothers made when we were young. Delizioso! Yum! Our favorite meats were the pork cutlets, ciangiale (wild boar), steak and a Sicilian dish of beef with tomato sauce called spezzatino. On chilly days we ate by the fire in the charming dining room. And the outside patio is a great place when it's warm.

Our Monte Piella experience was truly a pleasure and we will definitely return.

Deborah TC and Marianna F

Date of stay: May 2015
Thank Trail571416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

This is a very friendly little hotel and restaurant in Castelluccio, which is 6km up the hill from Porretta Terme. The food is wonderful, everything is homemade and everything is organic. You can eat in the dining room or out on the patio overlooking the mountains and valley. We stayed here for 6 days and my only regret is that we could not stay longer. The hardest decision to make was to eat a favorite dish again or try something new which would also be fantastic!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank BFT2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My cousin and I stayed at Monte Piella for about 2 wks. in September 2013 when we visited the many relatives we have in Castelluccio and the surrounding area. We were very happy with our experience. Like the town, this B& B has an old world charm and comfort that made us feel as welcome as we do with our family. Salvatore and Daniella are sweet and genuine hosts and seemed eager to help with anything we needed. Salvatore gave us our choice of several rooms and the one we took at the front of the building had a balcony and a wonderful view. When our cousin gave us a local tartufo (truffle) his dog had found, we brought it to Salvatore who made us a mouth watering tagliatelle con tartufo dish for dinner. Every meal that we ate at the pensione was delicious. Staying at Monte Piella made us feel like we do when staying with our relatives, and that's almost like home. Marianna Fabbri & Deborah Tamarri Coyne

Room tip: The hotel is located high on a hill in the center of town. The building has three floors and the dining room is on the first. Every room we saw looked clean and comfortable. The dining room is charming and decorated with antique implements and paintings on the walls, and tablecloths with place settings always ready on the tables.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was the first time for me and my girlfriend in Tuscany, we knew this part of Italy only from books or movies before. It was excellent from the first moment; the landscape is like on a postcard but full with life, locals are chatting on the streets filnging one's arms about, Castelluccio and Porretta Terme are both very cute and intimate.
If you stay at Mote Piella Ristorante and B&B Hostel you feel like a part of a family with the father Saldo, you can feel the real care and kindness coming form their hearts. As far as I know the family came from Sicily and they brought their food and drinking culture with them resulting quality wines home-made bread, cakes, limoncello, etc. None of them is speaking english or german but it wasn't a problem at all; they asked a guest to translate or we tried to find out each others ideas. The whole atmosphere is such kind and relaxing thay you really forget the everyday problems during your holiday at Monte Piella.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SzecsoiTibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I were cycling across Italy with friends and we stopped at this charming B&B, even though it means a brutal climb at the end of the day to get to it (but fine if you have a car or motorcycle!) and we are SO glad we did! The couple who own and run it are charming, helpful, very hard-working and a delight to stay with. The room we had was beautiful, simple and very comfortable. Salvatore is an outstanding chef and produced a magnificent feast for us hungry cyclists, accompanied by excellent wine from the south of Italy, made by relatives. The cost was very reasonable indeed. This is a gem of a place and we will be going back there, I am sure. In fact, remembering and writing this, I feel like going back already. The excellent 10 litre 'wine in a bag in a box' we bought for 40 Euro is almost gone...

Room tip: We were given this delightful double with a tiny veranda overlooking the street below and across the valley with a splendid view.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore A, Proprietario at Albergo Ristorante Monte Piella, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you very much Jonh,
it was a pleasure for us have you as a guest, and we are very happy that our b&b helped to leave a beautiful memory of our mountains and of Italy.

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews