We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a hotel a Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palace Belvedere
Ranked #13 of 93 Nainital B&B and Inns
Haldwani, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a hotel a Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Its not a hotel but a palace. The belvedere is too good. Have been there a couple of times. The rooms are warm n cozy, perfect room service, perfect view. The staff treats you like a king. You are close to the mall road but away fro the noise, with ample parking.
Just the food is not good

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gagandeep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogiepanday1, Director of Sales at The Palace Belvedere, responded to this review, 28 June 2015
our guests are always are top priority

we look forward to having them back so that we can do something really special for them each and every time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
52
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I have stayed in Heritage properties before and will rate you amongst Top 3. The palace is efficienlty managed by the Welcomheritage. The rooms were very spacious and had a lake View from the extended sitting space. The furniture was well polished and gave a very frsh look to the room. The food was really good. The staff is very hospitable and would attend to all your needs swiftly. The weather during the later half of June was very pleasant and it was mesmerising watching clouds in the vally and over the lake sipping your drink form the room.
The Raja Sahab (actual owner of the palace) lives in the adjoining property and was kind enough to help us getting entry in the beautiful Nanital Club on both the evenings.
Our 2 and a half year old daughter enjoyed herself thoroughly as she ran around freely in the room.
The only downside is the entrance to the property...its a very steep and narrow road and would test the skills of a formula one driver...... one of the good options is to take a free pick up and drop facility from the Palace if you intend to go to the Mall....
Around the property there are lot of small hotels and houses (which may not have been the case when the Palace was built) and thus make it a crowded place once you step out.
Even with all this I would rate this place very high in my list and would recmmed it to all my friends....

Room Tip: Take a first floor Lake View Room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUN-VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogiepanday1, Director of Sales at The Palace Belvedere, responded to this review, 28 June 2015
our guests are always are top priority

we look forward to having them back so that we can do something really special for them each and every time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I had a mix feelings about the Hotel This was my family trip and I selected this hotel. There are advantages and disadvantages about this hotel.
Location: This hotel gives a very good view of the naini lake if you select lake facing room ( Room 19 - Suit ). Hotel only provides the pickup facility from 8AM to 8PM Mallital Bada bazar . If requested drop is also provided. Its very close to Zoo Pickup point , Rope way and Naini lake Boat club. Walking is 5-10 mins. Getting to this hotel by Old age might be bit trouble as it requires steep climb.

Rooms are not as shown in pictures not as per those standards however still good. All the rooms are differently Decorated. The one thing which makes this hotel to choose again is the Service of the staff ( Other than Managers ) and Very humble Co-operative behaviour of Propety Owner Mr A.P Singh. Managers : Mr Zafar goes by the rules which normally does not work in hospitality industry , very little flexible. Mr Mohan is very flexible and Co-operative.
This hotel gives you the feel of you home away from home. Toilets and carpets are not at par with the 3/4 star standard hotel in Metros So do not go by the Pictures.

Break fast is not at all upto the mark.Quality of the breakfast needs to be really improved. I hope no one would like it. Other time Food is Good in the hotel ( we had dinner ).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brahampal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogiepanday1, Director of Sales at The Palace Belvedere, responded to this review, 10 July 2015
We thank you for your valuable suggestions we look forward to have you again. Food has been improved a lot since your last visit and we do hope you will like it much when you visit us again. Assuring you of our best services always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

We got to know about the hotel from the welcomheritage site, assuming that there would be some level of quality. However, the whole experience was a disaster. The rooms were dirty, with zero maintenance. Considering its a heritage property, the quality of the rooms etc were appalling. Shocking ITC is part of this venture as we assumed a certain level of quality before deciding on staying in this hotel.

Tried the food in the hotel once and it took almost an hour for the starters to be served. Even when they were served we couldnt have more than an bit because the food was so bad. even the complimentary breakfast was a farce.

Even though the hotel is 5 min walk to the Mall road, the passage to the hotel is so steep that you have to think twice to walk down to the hotel. Thankfully there was a pick and drop facility which was not available when my parents wanted to go to the mall road on the first day.

Overall a very bad experience of staying in Palace belevedere and would never recommend anyone to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rohantandon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogiepanday1, Director of Sales at The Palace Belvedere, responded to this review, 28 June 2015
our guests are always right and they are our top priority.

we caution to not get sucked into the price spiral, please understand and study the prices carefully before booking, we are not 3 star from both price and services point of view and our prices are proportionate to what we provide.

in case you do need a 3 star property we recommend you pay commensurate prices and get a booking in one of the 3 star properties in nainital.

however we assure you aur best always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nainital hotels

mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

It is a nice palace converted into a hotel having huge rooms and great ambience. The staff is great, always ensuring that you are comfortable and very caring. Food is delicious and overall its a great place to stay and enjoy. The only draw back is that you can't sleep peacefully due to the prayers being offered early morning at near by mosque & temple.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer01Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogiepanday1, Director of Sales at The Palace Belvedere, responded to this review, 28 June 2015
our guests are always are top priority

we look forward to having them back so that we can do something really special for them each and every time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.2 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#6 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.1 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.2 km away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#4 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
#16 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.5 km away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#13 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Belvedere

Property: The Palace Belvedere
Address: Awagarh Estate, Mallital | Mallital, Nainital 263001, India (Formerly WelcomHeritage Palace Belvedere)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,880 - ₹ 2,64,430
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique heritage property with breathtaking views of Naini Lake, The Palace Belvedere is in the heart of town, yet away from the hustle and bustle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, ClearTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your The Palace Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing