We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice property but missing service”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Hi All... I have travelled nainital in august 2012. Its a sort of monsoon season but weather is nice and we received not a significant rain but an awesome weather. Regarding hotel, i have booked Deluxe Lake View room. The price of room is tiotally for its view definitely. No doubt about it. Its every penny is worth for its view. but some things I have to huighligt which is not good that despite of reminding our arrival on the respected date, they havent make our rooms ready. When we have reach there, water is not coming in tapes. Dressing table lights are not working and the quilt is smelling. Services are not upto mark after 10 at night.

My advice if someone wants to see the whole lake view the rooms are idle, but I am not confident for the services and room preperation which you well get. Have a happy journey. Enjoy the stay. The services are the only thing which is making me to grade its an average hotel. If its a good one, I have been put 4 star on it....

Room Tip: if you want to stay here.... please go for deluxe lake view room for a perfect view of lake but agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashish_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 365 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

i went to nainital with my family on August 14-15th,stayed at the himalaya hotel,food was tongue-smacking,lake-facing room was exquisite and also staff was very courteos,my wife also loved the arrangements toilets were very good and rooms are also spacious

Room Tip: lake-facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aditya862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Hotel himalaya, is one the best value for money properties in town , that too with a magnificent view of the Naini lake , this plus good service and a warm staff make for a killer combination.

The best part of the stay was the view early in the morning as there was a slight bit of mist and that just increased the beauty of the lake tenfold.

Room Tip: Do ask for the Deluxe lake view rooms which will be a super cool experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tilak_Prakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I went to Nainital with my family on August 18 - 20th, booked Hotel Himalaya Rs.6K around including Welcome drink, Breakfast, Dinner + mini golf.
But no body served Welcome drink, for breakfast & dinner we called many times (5- 6) to serve at room after they served, Room service is very much poor. Location also not good as per room rate. At same rate good acomodation is available at MALL road with lack view, but from this hotel Lake view is poor.
So I will not suggest any body to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subhabrata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveladdict36, Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We are extremely sorry that welcome drink was not offered to you.

But for our defence I would like to say the following

1 please request for the welcome drink if for some neglect it is not offered.
2 we give breakfast and dinner buffet in the restaurant and discourage buffet being served.
One can order room service from the menu but it is charged separately
3. 3000 per day with breakfast dinner room accommodation free game of mini golf and all taxes is actually value for money. Some hotel in a particular day might charge less or charge double seeing the traffic of the tourist we do not overcharge ever. That is not our policy.
4 lake view is pretty good as the profile picture that the client has put is near our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I went to Nainital in first week of July with my wife and 2.5 yr old daughter. Requested hotel to make pick-up arrangements from Kathgodam and it was flawlessly executed so did not have to bother once train reached. We requested for a Lake facing room and got the same.

Room had a beautiful view from the terrace (check out my pics) and my kid loved the place as she had ample area to play and run around with see-saw and play area available for kids. We really wanted a peaceful trip and our room gave us plenty of privacy, open area to relax and enjoy our morning and evening tea with a beautiful view of the lake and mountains.

Food quality was good and service was well on time. There was a boating point quite close to the hotel so did not have to walk much for that. Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful

Overall a great trip !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anshul_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveladdict36, Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We are extremely sorry that welcome drink was not offered to you.

But for our defence I would like to say the following

1 please request for the welcome drink if for some neglect it is not offered.
2 we give breakfast and dinner buffet in the restaurant and discourage buffet being served in the room
One can order room service from the menu but it is charged separately
3. 3000 per day with breakfast dinner room accommodation free game of mini golf and all taxes is actually value for money. Some hotel in a particular day might charge less or charge double seeing the traffic of the tourist we do not overcharge ever. That is not our policy.
4 lake view is pretty good as the profile picture that the client has put is near our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
2.2 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
348 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#25 of 51 in Nainital
178 reviews
3.0 km away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#16 of 51 in Nainital
62 reviews
2.4 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 51 in Nainital
79 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Krishna, The Mall
Hotel Krishna, The Mall
#17 of 51 in Nainital
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price Range: ₹ 2,080 - ₹ 4,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Yatra, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing