We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nainital Trip - Jul 2012”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nainital Trip - Jul 2012”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I went to Nainital in first week of July with my wife and 2.5 yr old daughter. Requested hotel to make pick-up arrangements from Kathgodam and it was flawlessly executed so did not have to bother once train reached. We requested for a Lake facing room and got the same.

Room had a beautiful view from the terrace (check out my pics) and my kid loved the place as she had ample area to play and run around with see-saw and play area available for kids. We really wanted a peaceful trip and our room gave us plenty of privacy, open area to relax and enjoy our morning and evening tea with a beautiful view of the lake and mountains.

Food quality was good and service was well on time. There was a boating point quite close to the hotel so did not have to walk much for that. Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful

Overall a great trip !!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anshul_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveladdict36, Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We are extremely sorry that welcome drink was not offered to you.

But for our defence I would like to say the following

1 please request for the welcome drink if for some neglect it is not offered.
2 we give breakfast and dinner buffet in the restaurant and discourage buffet being served in the room
One can order room service from the menu but it is charged separately
3. 3000 per day with breakfast dinner room accommodation free game of mini golf and all taxes is actually value for money. Some hotel in a particular day might charge less or charge double seeing the traffic of the tourist we do not overcharge ever. That is not our policy.
4 lake view is pretty good as the profile picture that the client has put is near our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    177
    82
    32
    25
See reviews for
207
119
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

For the price paid, you cant expect a better quality. Sweet interiors with a feeling of cozyness.
Loved the Mini Golf course at the hotel.
The food is homely and prepared fresh.
Staff extremely courteous. We have been regular to this hotel over the past few years and it has never let us down.
They have recently gone through some refurbishing.
The staff was accommodating to an extent that tey let us check in at 9 in the morning at checkout 12 noon.
The hotel provides shuttle service to the Zoo as well. Its a must visit if you are with kids.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with Lake view or the ones on the 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShikhaPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the first week of July, booked 5 rooms for a tariff of Rs 4500 including breakfast and dinner. Not a luxurious property but have to say the stay was acceptable, and all of us had great time. We had garden facing rooms all together, which enhanced our experience. The only time we used to be in rooms was the time we had to sleep and dress up, from tea in the morning to lunch in the afternoon and drinks and cards in the evening we were all over the garden. Garden facing rooms meant the group not being confined to one room and kids having a playground for themselves. Also there was a activity room and an area with swings for kids,

The rooms were large with a sitting room attached to them, bathroom were of substantial size. Hotel had a private parking behind the premises and in front too.

Requested for pick up from the mall once where the driver was precisely on time.

Breakfast consisted of Bhatura chana, fruits, cereals, toast, pan fried eggs, yoghurt and eggs could to be ordered to your choice. Tea and coffee was on free flow. Staff was courteous and looked after us well.
Hotel was located slightly away from the mall, but it was a pleasant walk to the mall. Hot water was from 6 to 12 but could be extended if requested. The owner belongs to hotel background, completed his hotel management studies from Switzerland and was polite to talk to, the spouse could be seen taking efforts too to ensure the standards were being followed by staff.

All in all after getting a feedback from our group, everyone was satisfied and had a lovely time.

I have lived in London for 12 years & have stayed in hotels all over the world. Must say no hotel is perfect, all hotels cut corners to save money unless you stay at the hotels in park lane London.

Would definitely recommend to this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GauravParwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The room service is terreble. The room size so small and suffocated. When visited the Hotel after advance bookings, the rooms offered were filthy and terreble.
Finally after we were offered rooms in hotel pavillion for one day which is alot better with good staff, good room service and very good food whereas on other hand this all is a miss in Hotel Himalya. The other day we were shifted to Himalya hotel but the rooms which were offered were very small in size. Bed sheet was very dirty . no water in Taps of wash room and when i complained staff told they cant do anything . On and all a terreble experience in Hotel Himalya.

Dear Manager and Owner Please intervene to improve as hotel is very suitably located but services mentioned above certainly needs improvement

Room Tip: Better choose only lake view deluxe rooms on above floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankaj_1981_1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Due to some complains by guests we have appointed a good chef for the kitchen to give better taste and faster service.WE are also planning toinstall an inhouse laundry as with outsourcing we are not able to maintain our standards.SoRry to disappoint. We gave upgrade rooms in Pavilion(balcony or suites) to the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nainital hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Hotel Himalaya, Nanital --- I visited Nanital along with my family in June 2012 and stayed at Hotel Himalaya.... Situated at the prime location...on the starting of Mall Road...So it means less crowdy as compared to Hotels situated on Mall Road... Very Neat & Clean...Food Quality upto the mark.... Rooms and Bathroom are very clean...Go for Luxury Room with Lake View or Cottages... On my next visit I will definately stay again at Hotel Himalaya only..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mskairon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
thank you for for your compliments. these comments keep us motivated.I also thanks people for their complains as it helps us be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
2.2 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#14 of 49 in Nainital
330 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#27 of 49 in Nainital
172 reviews
0.9 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#21 of 49 in Nainital
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 49 in Nainital
67 reviews
2.1 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
2.5 km away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 49 in Nainital
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Property: Hotel Himalaya
Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,941 - ₹ 5,111
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing