We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nainital in January”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Nainital
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nainital in January”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Drove down to Nainital from Lucknow in Jan end....Roads are not are not worth talking about but the destination is worth the pain :)....
Chose the hotel from a selection from MakemyTrip and it turned out to be a good choice on and on. Seemed good value for money apart from a few problem issues. The hotel is situated on a steep slope, difficult to walk up ..especially if you have old people with you. The rooms are neat..ask for the lake facing rooms, the ones with the glass panes on the front. Lovely view of the lake. Room service could have been better, careful if you ask for butter chicken...i think they go down to the market and buy the chicken...takes that long.
The only thing unforgivable seemed that the water heaters were from the British era..took infernally long to heat up a decent bucket of water...that seriously is unforgivable if you go to Nainital in January! To add salt to the wound the room service guy tries to explain to you how a water heater works....Keep up your sense of humor and the stay should be fine :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake....got glass panes on the front..the view of the lake is splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    172
    81
    32
    25
See reviews for
202
119
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
noida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed here during last summer to avoid delhi heat. This was not my first time at nainital. I went there four times and stayed in same hotel (Hotel Himalaya). It is nearest to the bus stand. You can enjoy the walking through mall road to main mall area it is about 1 KM distance. Simpily fantastic.
Food Quality is fantastic, specialy butter chicken. Sorry for veg people, but they can try for paner butter masala.
Room located lake facing excelent. mini golf course is simply wow!!!!!!

Room Tip: Please take lake facing room. Avoid heritage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank falgunisaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at Himalaya Hotel for 02 nights. I would say the Deluxe Facing Room is the best Rooms, as you can see the lake right from your bed. I travelled with my family and we enjoyed a lot in the hotel. Food is also very hygenic and taste in the hotel and hotel staff is very helpfull. One problem i would like to mention regarding the height of the hotel, my parents age 65,64 find little diffiult in reaching the hotel.

But overall it is worth place to stay.

Keep it up !!!!

Sameer Mathur

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sameer070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"
I Love that hotel "Really cool place"

Room Tip: Anyhow all is welll
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandulal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Stay at Hotel Himalaya was very enjoyable . we stayed from June 20th to June 22nd . The rooms are very big and clean . The service is good and food is also excellent . The major attraction was Golf and kids enjoyed it thoroughly ...In fact the kids got up early morning to have Golf session first . The view of lake from the rooms is very good ... we would like to come again and also would love to reccommed it to our friends

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
2.2 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#25 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.4 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Dynasty Resort
Dynasty Resort
#23 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.1 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.5 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#31 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Property: Hotel Himalaya
Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,262 - ₹ 5,107
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Yatra, Agoda and OYO Rooms so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing