We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great view if you book the Lake View rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Nainital
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great view if you book the Lake View rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Nainital, as the name suggests, is famous for it's lake & the Mall. And if you happen to stay in Hotel Himalaya you can get the best of both.Located near the bus stand this hotel is a 2 minute walk from the mall. And if you are lucky enough to get one of the Lake View rooms,your trip to Nainital would be really worth it considering the steep room rates during the season.This is one of the few hotels in Nainital which gives you an almost complete view of the entire lake.The hotel in itself is average but the service & food is quite good.

Room Tip: One of the Lake facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subroyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    156
    76
    30
    21
See reviews for
189
105
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I was pretty impressed by the hotel. We stayed in the lake view rooms and were totally mesmerized by the night view from the room. Will recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a hotel on the mall, great view and very importantly parking. Parking can be a major issue in nainital and thank god they had ample space for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cstechmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were mis guided by the pics shown at the website of this hotel and hence booked this one but it is a nightmare to visit this palce. The hotel service is pathetic, untidy rooms and worst washrooms. Staff is non supportive and waste of money to spend in this hotel. We ordered for omlets at the reception and after waiting for 30 mins we asked the waitor abt the same and he claimed that he had no info abt the same order and it then took them next 30 mins to get one omlet. I would suggest you to never visit this property.

and the golf...a shock would run down your spine if u will see it, forget to play...

imagine a hotel with common toilets...when i saw one, i thought that may be my room doesnt has one but luckily i had toilet in my room.

we had total four rooms and worst room was room no. 216

Regards, Rahul Kumar

Room Tip: Hotel needs to be renovated, its a graveyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rahul0363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nainital hotels

Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

This is one of the older hotels surrounding the Nainital Lake. Some of the furniture here are somhat old and antique. The rooms have a good view of the lake and one can walk to the mall road from here.
The room service is average. The good part of this hotel is that it has car parking which is a must in crowded Nainital

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hari-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aligarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

This was our second trip to himalaya hotel and must say the hotel management has improved the hotel a lot, right from rooms, to services we felt the change. We were surprised to see the parking space which has been added to the hotel. Kids as usual enjoyed playing at the mini golf and we enjoyed the view from their cottage rooms which have been redone. Would like to congratulate the team at himalaya hotel for their positive efforts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonkhan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
2.4 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#6 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 km away
Lake Side Inn
Lake Side Inn
#24 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.2 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#28 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.3 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#17 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.4 km away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#4 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Property: Hotel Himalaya
Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,520 - ₹ 3,882
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing