We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience from past era”
Review of Elphinstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elphinstone Hotel
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience from past era”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Hotel Elphinstone is stiuated in front of lake and has one of the best possible locations.... the rooms are large and set up in british era stylewithhigh ceilings, fireplace (not working though) and large beds..... The view from some of the rooms is breathtaking ... possibly the only thing it lacks a lift for elderly and one has to climb a steep pathway and stairs ... food is good and tasty .... service quite decent .. not quite the best but passable ....
Be sure to book itin advance as it is always full on weekends .. with room rents starting from 100 rupees this one is definetly good value for money hotel ..... BE sure to ask for lake facing room while booking as we got a room in th einteriors with no lake view ....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krazy_kruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    55
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
72
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

A very nice place to relax and enjoy Nainital. It is a reasonable big property and not cluttered at all. All rooms face the lake, you get unobstructed view from most rooms. Suites are quite roomy and tastefully decorated for a 3-star hotel. Hotel staff is very cooperative and friendly. Boat ride point is just across the hotel enterance. Hotel is located close to Tallital toll plaza, quite convenient for local conveyance. Though entrance is on the road, you do need to climb some stairs to reach the reception.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukerjis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Rooms are spaces with a connected living room and the balcony facing th elake, but it is a bad place to go if you have very small children with you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReemaChhabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaltLake City, Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

On 1st week of May me and my family had put up in this hotel. I had made an online booking with an initial token amount. Upon my arrival, instead of a polite welcome, I was reminded of the balance amount to be paid.
The hotel has only 5 parking places of which 3 are reserved for the hotel mgmt and getting one of the remaining 2 is virtually impossible. Our car had to be parked 1/2 km away in the parking zone near the playing ground whose rates get doubled after 9am.
The rooms provided were small enough to be worth Rs 2100 per night containing a set of guidelines pasted on the wall which would remind you of a boarding school, one of which read : Electricity cost would be charged if lights are on when not in room or at night after sleep!!
The lights in the room are power saving ones which could hardly light up the room.
The bathroom is dark and lacks an EXHAUST!
In the morning there were frequent power cuts, and the manager refused to switch on the generator citing that people go for site seeing in the morning, so there is hardly any need ( this is not the case with other similar category hotels, I checked ).
Hot water is a matter of luck after 10 pm. Nobody stays in the reception after 10 pm and intercoms remain dead after that time making you feel highly insecured.
Now the main thing : I was flabbergasted to have talked to the rude hotel manager.
It seemed that he was doing us a favour in allowing us to stay in his hotel. Whenever I went up to him to report some problem, instead of solving it he insisted me of the balance to be paid much before the check-out date. We even had a heated arument on this.
I have observed a monitor in his room with live feeds from close-circuit cameras, so honeymooners enjoy at your own risk.
To top it all, at the time of checking - out he refused to provide us an actual money receipt citing some preposterous reasons.
The only reason I had booked the hotel was the good feedbacks from this website which costed me some forgettable experiences in a much awaited leisure trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

I stayed in this hotel in Oct 2008 and I must say that this hotel has an excellent view of the over looking Naini Lake. Every room that they have has lake view. I stayed in Super deluxe room which was quite spacious.
Some more review:
a) Hotel and rooms
Hotel management was good to help and provide whatever was required. Rooms were big and clean although I think the single rooms were not that good.

b) Food and beverages
Food quality was good but I somehow didnt like any of their beverages

c) Other goodies
PNB bank was located inside the hotel with ATM

  • Liked — Overlooking lake view
  • Disliked — Beverages not good
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank as109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.5 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#11 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#25 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
1.7 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Krishna
Hotel Krishna
#15 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Hotel

Property: Elphinstone Hotel
Address: Mall Road, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,000 - ₹ 3,500
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra so you can book your Elphinstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing