We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable n kids friendly destination.”
Review of Shervani Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shervani Hilltop
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Comfortable n kids friendly destination.”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

never felt nainital as beautiful as till now, after a stay at shervani hill top.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himanyakimaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Respected Sir/Mam


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

Thanks for your review at trip advisor.com.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
General Manager
Shervani Hilltop Nainital
05942-233800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    217
    43
    2
    4
See reviews for
337
151
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Nainital, like the other hill stations in India has hotels rooms available for all budgets. We did not really reserve a room but did call Shervani Hilltop to secure one just in case we do not like any other hotel. As we thought - most of the hotels were not to our liking. Out of 6 hotels that we saw, We only liked Manu Maharani and Shervani Hilltop and chose to stay at the later. There was a negligible price difference between the two, Manu Maharani being just a bit more expensive but the staff attitude was what made us decide on Shervani Hilltop.

Shervani hilltop is one of the best in Nainital but thats not the only reason we decided on it, when we visited Manu Maharani we were not greeted with a smile and the attitude of the staff was quite robotic and arrogant to an extent. On the other hand Shervani team was courteous and polite right from the time I called them to enquire about the room.

ARRIVAL

Shervani Hilltop which was an easy drive from the mall road has ample car parking space so you need not worry about your vehicle. We were greeted by a very polite 'Lalit Mohan' at the reception, even while he was dealing with other guests, he acknowledged our presence. He helped us look at a few rooms and checked us in in no time, a very polite 'Ajay' helped us bring our bags from the car to our room.

It was post lunch hours but he made a special arrangement with the chef for us to have a proper lunch and not snacks only. Food was tasty and hygienic.


STAY

The package we had included Room & taxes, buffet Breakfast and Dinner. I recommend a premier room or a suite to stay. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean with hotel water all the time. Carry your own bathroom amenities if you are choosy about what you want to use. Room did not have a digital safe for valuables and neither did the bathroom have a hair dryer, however it was provided on request. We used our car for keeping the valuables while going put of the hotel

The choice on the buffet was decent enough with a live food station i.e. eggs at breakfast and pasta at dinner. Food quality and taste again was good, the only feedback I would have for the hotel is flies which make their way in the restaurant as its has more than 1 entrance.

RECREATION

From the Rajasthani saarangi player during the breakfast, Tambola or a puppet show or a magic show to live music every evening, guests of all ages are kept engaged and busy. Kids do love the playstation, table tennis, snakes and ladder, ice hockey and some other indoor games at the dedicated kids area. We did not have time to explore some more recreation facilities like kite flying etc.

OTHERS

Bar and outdoor barbecue, wifi internet, unlimited drop and pick up from the mall road, temple next to the hotel, open spaces with outdoor seating are a few more plus points.
If the people around you matter to you,then I must mention, we had some very good people staying around us, more families with kids.

TEAM

Jeevan Bisht, Lalit Mohan, Ajay, Chef Gopal, Raju who dropped and picked us up from the mall road and all others who i haven't named.......all were excellent and run the show very well. If required,they do not hesitate going out of the way to help the guests.

MY VERDICT

If you are the one who is used to a decent stay and look forward to spending sometime in the hotel too, I strongly recommend Shervani Hilltop, its value for money.

Room Tip: Choose to Stay in a Premiere room or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VRMARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Respected Sir,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

Thanks for your review at trip advisor.

Looking forward to host you once again soon.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
General Manager
Shervani Hilltop Nainital.
05942-233800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great experience, good hospitality by everyone from the front desk manager to the room service boys. I would like to stay here again during my next trip to Nainital. Very clean & well maintained place. Staff are approachable &helpful. Food was Awesome!!!
We loved the overall experience at Shervani.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shervani H, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Respected Sir,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

Thanks for your review at trip advisor.

Looking forward to host you once again soon.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
General Manager
Shervani Hilltop Nainital.
05942-233800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Was planning since long for vacation but could manage a short trip only. Guess i looked 100 time for hotels in Nainital. But couldn't decide to book anything but Shervani Hilltop. I tried to book for 2N/3D but somehow failed to do online so had to approach MakeMyTrip. I did the booking on 25th June. After getting confirmation from MakeMyTrip i decided to call Shervani Hill to confirm the same even though MakeMytrip claimed 100% confirmed booking. I was not surprised when i was told no room available. I had to make 10 calls to MakeMytrip and 10 mails. Somehow the response from Shervani Hilltop was faster and their Delhi office responded immediately. Then MakeMytrip said they are trying and if not possible they will arrange higher price hotel for me. When i checked the alternate i was given on Trip advisor that has rank 22 which was not acceptable to me. But finally i got assurance that my booking is confirmed. But i still had the fear.

On 26th Morning i started my short trip. When i reached Nainital at 12 Pm it started raining. Weather became too good. Had to search a bit. But with board sign of Shervani we managed to reach there. The moment we landed we were welcomed by friendly staff. Then i checked in to my Deluxe room. Rooms are spacious. All Deluxe might not have garden view. SO check in advance. Our room had a CRT TV which was not expected. But i am not a person who complains a lot and i was on vacation. Room service is good and fast. Food menu is also good. Nice restaurant and you can have breakfast in garden.

The place is really nice. As i was axpecting resort was Calm and quite. Full of greenary and very very beautuful garden. Could't manage to count the variety of flowers. Many i saw after ages.

Ample of space for parking , sports like basket ball and badminton. Pool table available at extra cost. Wi-fi internet but chargable. Nice activities in the evening like live music , magic show for kids. They can arrange for picnics, bonfire, group parties also.

Finally i must say the staff is the best. Guys thanks for the hospitality.

Value for money : YES , bit expensive during peak season
+ : Staff, food , ambience , location

Can be improved :
Details of each room so that the guest expectation is clear
Atleast LCD TV in room.
Guess Deluxe room needs some maintanance also as you are ****.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have no A/C. Guess it's not required. All Deluxe rooms might not have garden view s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SujitShodangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Shervani Hilltop, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Respected Sir/Mam,


Greetings from Shervani Hilltop Nainital.

Thanks for your review at trip advisor.

Looking forward to host you once again soon.


Thanks & Regards


Gopal Datt Suyal
General Manager
Shervani Hilltop Nainital.
05942-233800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

One of the best places to stay in nainital. We went in june 2012. Location is very good away from mall. Evenings became chilly even in june (27-29).It was peak season but still there was no slack in service or hospitality.polite and non interfering staff . Food at dinner time was mixture of v. Good and avg. But breakfast was 1st rate. Lot of activities are there for all age groups like kite flying. Basketball.ps2.ps3 .carrom.air hocky.play area for toddelers etc. Etc. They provide frequent pick and drop for mall. The only two suggestions for further improvement are 1. Include bbq snacks in dinner(they charge extra for live grill) 2. Let us carry our drinks everywhere in the hotel primises(we cannot drink our own drinks outside our rooms).I think they can do these two changes without hurting there profits much especially considering the fact that its one of the most expensive properties in nainital. Special mention: they have a very well maintained garden with large variety of flower, which is their usp.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anujkhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.6 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.6 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 km away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#8 of 48 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 km away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#6 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shervani Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shervani Hilltop

Property: Shervani Hilltop
Address: Mallital Hilltop, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nainital
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nainital
#3 Family Hotel in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,693 - ₹ 18,619
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shervani Hilltop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shervani Hill Top has been recently renovated, and upgraded into a 47 rooms garden resort spread over 3 acres having the most beautiful terrace garden and lawns in Nainital. Rooms are spread out in the form of cottages, each cottage having 8-10 rooms with a veranda where the guest can sit out and enjoy the beautiful hills all around. Shervani Hill Top is 2 kms away from the Mall Road, well-located, yet away from the maddening crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Shervani Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shervani Hilltop Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing