We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay and awesome food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Away From Home Nainital

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Home Away From Home Nainital
Ranked #32 of 97 Nainital B&B and Inns
Gwalior
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay and awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Though we never thought we would stay in Nainital as the city was not in our itinerary but we decided to spent a a night there. It so happened that we were touring Sattal the previous day and had a chance meeting with Col. Kiran Dangwal and he invited us to stay at Nainital at his "Home away from Home". Once we made up our mind to go to Nainital, we called up Col but he didn't have the main room available but nonetheless kindly accommodated us in side rooms. The rooms were ok but the beds were not very comfortable but our stay was marvelous. Col. himself is a gem of a person and we had complete access to the whole area and kitchen as well. We requested for Kumaon food and he asked the boy (chef as well as everything) to prepare Bichupatta ki Sabji and other Kumaon delicacies. It was really wonderful and on the top of it, since we couldn't get the main rooms, he didn't charge us for the food. Though we couldn't stay in main rooms but had a look into them. They (rooms) were pretty big, sufficient for a family of 4 with attached kitchen, bath etc and the view from the balcony was fantastic. He (Col Dangwal) has many stories to tell of the area and is a very jolly person. He knows of the area well and it is a good idea to plan excursions with him though we couldn't do so because of the time constraint. I would strongly recommend anyone going to Nainital to stay at "Home away from Home".

Room Tip: Call Col. Kiran Dangwal in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgupta_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

I came here for second time, the best view u can get in nainital, affordable and very clean rooms. Karnal Dangwal is very friendly and will share his stories and knowledge. Great home food and a pleasure time being there. Will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIVAM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

The stay in this hotel was quite good. The location of the hotel is really marvellous. The outside beauty is really worth watching.Its like an awe. the lake of Nanital is so beautiful that you would have not seen any other like it.Its really worth seeing

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poojaalld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

This is a very nice place to be in. I was skeptical to go to this hotel but I saw the review on one of the News channel and decided to book this. Rates are very reasonable and rooms are spacious and clean. They also provide the basic anemities if you want to stay for a longer duration. All in all, a remarkable trip to nainital.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rishi5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

HOME AWAY FROM HOME is a very nice wonderful place to stay at Nainital at really low cost. It is owned by a retired colonel Kiran Dangwal. We reached there in mid June and stayed for 5 days. We went by our own car up to zoo road and after parking near Surya Hotel, we have to climb about 500 meters to reach there. We took the suite ‘Ganga’ which had two bedrooms, one bathroom with hot and cold water and a kitchen and a shared balcony. The rooms are very spacious and nicely furnished. One can see the whole Naini lake and Nainital city from here. The tariff was Rs.1600/- as we went there in June. For off season, it is Rs.800/-. The Colonel was very friendly and a thorough gentleman. He knows almost everything about Nainital and Kumaun region and takes pleasure in guiding you about the itinerary. It was really fun to listen to so many stories about the region. He owns many vehicles for tour and excursions. We took Naini tour for Rs.600/-. However, his driver ditched on 2nd day and we went for lake tour by our own car but that drive was very smooth. His all in one Jeevan Bhai really prepares good food. It was a very wonderful experience in all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.4 km away
Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel
#20 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#8 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#27 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.8 km away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 46 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.0 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Away From Home Nainital? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Away From Home Nainital

Property: Home Away From Home Nainital
Address: Zoo Road, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 400 - ₹ 2,500
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing