We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital
Ranked #11 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“just wonderful”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed for four days in the Royal Room .The room is very spacious and luxurious .For Rs 3000/- per night double occupancy with breakfast it is a deal one can not afford to miss.The view of the lake from the rooms or from the huge courtyard in front of the rooms is a wonderful experience.Food is good though oily but when you order you can specify and they try to cook to your taste. The staff is very courteous. The rest house has executive, super deluxe and deluxe rooms it also has four bedded rooms .I have stayed their many times and it is my only choice in Nanital .For people who wish to drive themselves the last 200 m is a steep incline of around 45 degrees so one should be good hill driver and not allergic to driving in first gear.Usually the left half of the incline has cars parked and the other half is just sufficient for a suv to pass.the other issue is one has to climb stairs, royal double rooms are on ground floor for which one has to climb around 30 steps from where you can reach by car,for cheaper rooms more steps to climb. Dinning Hall is on the ground floor. Location is convenient just next to the bus stand and taxi stand people coming by train can take a cab from Kathgodam which will bring you straight to the rest house without having to enter Mall road. If one comes by bus a cab charges Rs 50/- to drop you to the rest house, if you do not wish to climb up.

Room Tip: All rooms are lake facing , The higher you go better the view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    63
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
82
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Last week I visited the TRH Nainital after booking my 4 bedded Royal Room online.

It was Off season so I got the Rs. 4000/- per day room rent + B/f at Rs. 2400/-. Booking and check-in to the hotel was hassel free. Though the check-in time was 12:00 noon they accepted my check in at 6:30AM w/o any extra charge.

The room was large enough and lake facing but a few trees were obstructing views. But it was pleasent to glance trough the large windows to lake view. However, in order to reach upto your room you need to climb a ramp, a few zig-zag staircases, which children can enjoy but hectic for elders.

THe hotel has parking place but big vehicles may not easily manouver easily and may have to come back in reverse.


Breakfast menus was routine and repeted every alternate day. Also the speed of service is constrained. No. of tables are also limited so you need to share the same with other tourists. But again If you are able to get the seats, its really freshening to have hefty unlimited breakfast while overlooking the the kayaks in the lake.

The staff is courteous but very fastidious. You need to pre book your dinner three hours in advance and you need to timely consume the same ! Though TRH served us food even after check out on the last day when all the other hotels and restaurant were closed due to strike.

I wanted to shift my last day booking to KMVN hotel at Kausani for which the TRH manager agreed but without refunding the sizable fare difference of Rs. 1000/-

Also there is a problem of power cut which you can actually enjoy during night depending on your mood and type of group ( play antakshari or sing songs etc.!! ). The TRH has the Generator facility. However, during night they may not start generator. I was in the mid of packing on the second last night when the light went off, which I had to finish in the candle light. Needless to say the light came immediately after I finished my packing !


Harsh
[--]

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hspandit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights along with my family (Spouse & two children) during 26th & 27th Dec 2011. Excellent Room service by support staff(Promod & Dhan Singh). Room was value for money, spacious but it was bit tuff in reaching through the long stair case. Old age people will have tough times. Breakfast was very moderate but the vegetarian menu is good. Overall it is worth staying for calm, good view and vegetarian food.

Room Tip: Excellent view from the room (4 bed) but it is bit cold as the windows are not leak proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VSP7Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here in Feb, 2011. We had bad luck cause the day we reached nainitaal, it started raining. But anyway we found better weather from next day. About KMVN Tallital hotel, I would say one of the best location in Nainitaal, You can see the lake in a beautiful angle, this big property is just beside lake yet 1 min walking from market place, just what I looked for. room are good but savvy and dumpy specially as we found rain there. Food was OK, service was poor but that was expected from GOVT hotel. Overall you definitely can consider this hotel if you do not need a very comfi room and good service. We opt for super delux room and avoid if there are old ppl with you as you have to go through at least 100 stairs.

Room Tip: Super delux rooms have very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelFreakTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

An excellent location and good food but property is in bad shape. Rooms and bathrooms are not good. Property needs renovation badly.

Room Tip: All rooms are same and difficult to find "good" one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIVANJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
2.2 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 50 in Nainital
334 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#8 of 50 in Nainital
404 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#31 of 50 in Nainital
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
2.0 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#37 of 50 in Nainital
131 reviews
2.3 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 50 in Nainital
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital

Property: KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital
Address: Tallital, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing