We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
75
100
15
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
100
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first floor view of the lake british era old world charm grand stay excellent location heritage property jeera walking distance british times boat club other hotels place to stay private parking ground floor huge balcony wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Hi everyone Be careful while doing booking in hotel The Grand nanital I booked this hotel for 3days manager told me to submit half the amount and gave me his number When I call him he didn't pick his phone.His name is ANANT SHROTRIYA I called him on hotel no then he came and said the room rates have increased by mistake I have given u wrong tariff deposit more money .I was surprised and shocked the way he was talking me increasing tariff is he making me fool just want to take money ... for others just to inform don't pay them advance at all.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank SapnaS336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Grand hotel is undoubtedly one of the most old, but best located properties on the mall road at Nainital, the best thig abiut this hotel is,its location near mallital, where all food, shopping,boating, and other activities are available,very near to the flat areas and the trolley,all attractions are in walking distance,
the sitout in this hotel, offer panoramic view of the naini lake and give a very calm feeling, the building is surely from british times, but he size of the rooms at ground floor are huge,all are suites with 2 beds available seperately in and out rooms, big nice bathrooms,so value for money, if even 2 couples want to share a room or a real treat for a couple with 2 kids like us, all in all a very nice property which needs a little renovation now....

Room Tip: if u have kids, room son ground floor are better or else upper floors have a better view..
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yogesh12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

the hotel staff is good and courteous. rooms are cozy and comfortable huge rooms.heritage property owned by a family who are proud t talk about their heritage .best hotel in nainital;. just off the boat club offers a good view of the lake and the mall

Room Tip: every room is a good room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AbhisheikJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Super stay at this very majestic property right on the lake. Right off the Boat Club. Excellent outdoor sitout with terrific view of the lake both from the lower level and also the first floor rooms. It's a view to die for!

Caring and attentive staff of the old school variety. Energetic and efficient. Tip hungry but that's the way I feel in this part of the world.

The owner is there and taking care that's making the difference. Very charming lady and running it beautifully.

Food is just about average. I had their zeera potatoes and well made paneer almost everyday once I discovered that they were being done particularly well.

The rooms have musty carpeting that the wooden floored rooms can easily do without. That's the only minus that I can think of. Next time will take a room that doesn't have it. I saw some that didn't.

They have parking for card inside the premises which is a huge plus if you're driving in. I wouldn't suggest it though. In the season the roads are busy as hell.

Its a place where one could come over and over again. They have off season rates too : one can save a lot of one rings them and gets the dates.

It IS on the Mall Road. So you do see people !!!! Have a lovely holiday with them.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kapilendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Grand. He location is excellent towards the Mallital end of Mall Road. Can't ask for anything better
However anything beyond that is average to substandard. As basic as Tea wasn't good, the rooms in the name of heritage, haven't been kept well. Have seen plethora of heritage places which have been maintained well to keep the old feeling, this definitely wasn't one of them. The sofa bed didn't look appealing and was pretty worn out
The staff wouldn't bother much about you except for the day of checkout when everyone will be smiling and looking to make the extra buck.
All this for a hefty 7000 a day is not a great exchange for a pleasure seeking tourish

It is good for group of ppl who just want a shed over their head and stay out for all the other purpose in Nainital

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Cassiopaeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews