We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
74
100
15
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
100
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first floor view of the lake british era old world charm grand stay excellent location heritage property jeera walking distance british times boat club other hotels place to stay private parking ground floor huge balcony wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We booked Grand on the recommendation of our friends and were happy that we did stay in Grand. Locationwise it is right on the Mall and unlike so many other Hotels on the Mall has a proper entry and Exit so that one can drive into the Hotel portico. The rooms are high ceiling and are spacious giving you a feeling of staying in an old English Bunglow. we stayed in room No 1 which is a suite - It had two rooms and was ideal for our family of 2 Adults and two children. The rates even in the peak season were rasonable ( as compared to others ). The dining room was 'grand ' and we had real English Breakfast on both days that we stayed there.

Overall the cleanlines of the rooms and surroundings was good and the staff was polite and helping. We are certainly going to stay in Hotel Grand on our many trips to Nainital that we would undertake in future.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room for a better view of the lake..
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nitin_kulsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We took our fellow tripadvisors' advice and booked this hotel... the corner most room on the first floor in particular. It was definitely worth it as the hotel is located on Mall road itself because of which, almost everything was accessible within a 5 minute walk. This was a definite criterion when we were choosing the hotel and are glad it happened so.

Rooms are spacious and have a nice sit-out, where one can gobble down plates of hot pakoras and cups of chai. I was not very happy with the bedding and felt it was high time they changed the mattress. There were no fans, as is the case in many hotels, but we did feel the need for one. The bathrooms were neat and well-kept.

Room service was ok... invariably took about 40 minutes for our snacks to arrive. So, please order ahead of time. We did not have our lunch/dinner at the hotel as there was a great All-Veg restaurant (we are vegans) right next to the hotel called Nanak's Restaurant, dishing out some yummy food.

Since this hotel was on Mall road, we were able to reach most of our sightseeing wishlist with a 5-10 minute walk.

The best part of this hotel is the fact that it overlooks the Naini Lake. Definitely worth it when you wake up to such a beautiful, scenic place :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chitra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

After reading so many reviews about The Grand Naintal, I thought of staying there in my upcoming trip to Naintal. What disappoints me a lot that even after numerous calls and inquiry mails to the booking officer ,I didn't get any revert or call .. I left my no. with the front desk officer but nobody called back. So If that's how they treat their guest with utter arrogance and absolute disregard : forget about the facilities, ambiance or amenities. The basic thing which we all look for in a good hotel is the fair treatment or responsiveness of the hotel staff towards their guest.Probably , that is really missing in this hotel . Much more one thing the front desk officer told me that if we would want to go for the sight seeing : I have to do all arrangement by my own means . Hotel doesn't have such kinda a special treatment for their guests. !! I am surprisingly shocked .!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
9  Thank AmitShukla_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelNainital, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Sir

According to our records, your query was answered on 16th June 2012. We hope it has reached you and was satisfactory since Nainital has been faced with Internet issues all week. If you have any more inquires, we would be happy to help.

Thanking you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

People who are travelling with family/kids must opt this hotel without looking for any other property. We stayed there for 5 nights and our stay was quite pleasant due to location of this hotel, simplicity in its scenery around and service. Hotel doesnt offers extra ordinary facilities being at prime location and wonderful property takes all point. The only draw back that it doesnt provide parking and waiters looks for tips all the time. They have standard rates plus taxes which they dont change due to peak season. If they have availability they offer rooms else they are happy serving guests they have. They dont publisize their property like other hotel and cheat people in peak season. Go for it and experinece it yourself :)

Room Tip: All rooms are at good location because hotel is at the begining of nainital.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soniasingh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed at Grand Hotel, Nainital during my recent visit to Uttarakhand (April, 16-19, 2012) - An old British mansion styled property with all modern facilities - Good location right on the Mall Road (Mallital end) with many popular restaurants and eateries nearby - Cheerful Front-desk staff - Helpful Manager (arranged all my outings as well as 3-day trip to the interior Kumaon) - Good service by old waiters - (Tips - Go for the First Floor Lake View Rooms and enjoy serenity of the beautiful Naini Lake at Dawn/Dusk from your Balcony)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balaggoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews