We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand - Royal treatment”
Review of Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
NOIDA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Grand - Royal treatment”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We booked Grand on the recommendation of our friends and were happy that we did stay in Grand. Locationwise it is right on the Mall and unlike so many other Hotels on the Mall has a proper entry and Exit so that one can drive into the Hotel portico. The rooms are high ceiling and are spacious giving you a feeling of staying in an old English Bunglow. we stayed in room No 1 which is a suite - It had two rooms and was ideal for our family of 2 Adults and two children. The rates even in the peak season were rasonable ( as compared to others ). The dining room was 'grand ' and we had real English Breakfast on both days that we stayed there.

Overall the cleanlines of the rooms and surroundings was good and the staff was polite and helping. We are certainly going to stay in Hotel Grand on our many trips to Nainital that we would undertake in future.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room for a better view of the lake..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitin_kulsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    95
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
123
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We took our fellow tripadvisors' advice and booked this hotel... the corner most room on the first floor in particular. It was definitely worth it as the hotel is located on Mall road itself because of which, almost everything was accessible within a 5 minute walk. This was a definite criterion when we were choosing the hotel and are glad it happened so.

Rooms are spacious and have a nice sit-out, where one can gobble down plates of hot pakoras and cups of chai. I was not very happy with the bedding and felt it was high time they changed the mattress. There were no fans, as is the case in many hotels, but we did feel the need for one. The bathrooms were neat and well-kept.

Room service was ok... invariably took about 40 minutes for our snacks to arrive. So, please order ahead of time. We did not have our lunch/dinner at the hotel as there was a great All-Veg restaurant (we are vegans) right next to the hotel called Nanak's Restaurant, dishing out some yummy food.

Since this hotel was on Mall road, we were able to reach most of our sightseeing wishlist with a 5-10 minute walk.

The best part of this hotel is the fact that it overlooks the Naini Lake. Definitely worth it when you wake up to such a beautiful, scenic place :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chitra00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

After reading so many reviews about The Grand Naintal, I thought of staying there in my upcoming trip to Naintal. What disappoints me a lot that even after numerous calls and inquiry mails to the booking officer ,I didn't get any revert or call .. I left my no. with the front desk officer but nobody called back. So If that's how they treat their guest with utter arrogance and absolute disregard : forget about the facilities, ambiance or amenities. The basic thing which we all look for in a good hotel is the fair treatment or responsiveness of the hotel staff towards their guest.Probably , that is really missing in this hotel . Much more one thing the front desk officer told me that if we would want to go for the sight seeing : I have to do all arrangement by my own means . Hotel doesn't have such kinda a special treatment for their guests. !! I am surprisingly shocked .!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank AmitShukla_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelNainital, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Sir

According to our records, your query was answered on 16th June 2012. We hope it has reached you and was satisfactory since Nainital has been faced with Internet issues all week. If you have any more inquires, we would be happy to help.

Thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

People who are travelling with family/kids must opt this hotel without looking for any other property. We stayed there for 5 nights and our stay was quite pleasant due to location of this hotel, simplicity in its scenery around and service. Hotel doesnt offers extra ordinary facilities being at prime location and wonderful property takes all point. The only draw back that it doesnt provide parking and waiters looks for tips all the time. They have standard rates plus taxes which they dont change due to peak season. If they have availability they offer rooms else they are happy serving guests they have. They dont publisize their property like other hotel and cheat people in peak season. Go for it and experinece it yourself :)

Room Tip: All rooms are at good location because hotel is at the begining of nainital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soniasingh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed at Grand Hotel, Nainital during my recent visit to Uttarakhand (April, 16-19, 2012) - An old British mansion styled property with all modern facilities - Good location right on the Mall Road (Mallital end) with many popular restaurants and eateries nearby - Cheerful Front-desk staff - Helpful Manager (arranged all my outings as well as 3-day trip to the interior Kumaon) - Good service by old waiters - (Tips - Go for the First Floor Lake View Rooms and enjoy serenity of the beautiful Naini Lake at Dawn/Dusk from your Balcony)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balaggoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.1 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#11 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.0 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#23 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.2 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#26 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: The Mall, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,357 - ₹ 1,551
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing