We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience in grand hotal...”
Review of Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I went to nainital with my family during may 2012, i selected the Grand Hotel after doing lot of research , I booked Grand hotel by transfering some advance amount in their account and told i will checkout in 7 am - 8am in the morning. I was happy that i booked a good hotel in reasonable amount.
when we reached around 7 am, i was shocked, the hotel management was rudely saying that the room will be available after 10 am, because of checkout time 10 am -10am. they told us to wait in lounge till 10 am. we were tired after the night journey and really frustrated after hotel management response was so bad...
I asked to return my advance payment back, then they were not listening, after some fight i got managed to take back my advance payment and left that hell.
I will recommend pls dont go to this worst place. these people dont care about the tourist, their behaviour is very rude because they are getting enough booking from some stupid peoples.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
11  Thank Tarun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandHotelNainita, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

The Hotel's check out time is 10 am - as mentioned on our website and on the phone during our communication with the guest. In the event of a room being unoccupied, or the previous guest having checked out early, we extend the courtesy of an early check-in. Since both those options were not available, I'm sure it it will be understood that the Hotel could not possibly have thrown the current guest out at 7 am if the check out time is 10 am.

Despite offering a lake-facing Lounge with attached restrooms and breakfast to the guest while the room was being readied, the guest seemed unwilling to see reason. The Hotel then decided to simply refund the advance money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

View of the lake straight from the bed, while lazing in bed with "aaloo ka paratha".. live like when the Englishman used to live in town. laze on the summer chairs in the corridor with the lake in front of you. the idea is that there is no escaping the LAKE even if you want to from this Hotel. food is decent, do not expect instant gratification either. one of the few hotels with its own parking space. great place to stay, remains closed for 4 months upto March. So keep that in mind if you are planning a trip in winter.

Room Tip: take the last room on the front floor at the end of the corridor. The view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Himanshu_Jaitly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

It is one of the oldest properties in nainital and so has the advantage of location! Large rooms, wooden flooring hence keeping it warm, spanking new bathrooms and an awesome view of the lake.
We are usually not the kind of people to stay smack in the middle of the town. we prefer a bit of quiet but The Grand being in the centre of Mall road was still away from the noise etc.
Very economical too!

Room Tip: down the long corridors a bit towards the end offers you more privacy than smack in the centre of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alpanadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Hotel Grand is very good Hotel. It is located near mall road very good for shopping, its a main market in Nainital. Hotel Grand is also a lake view hotel, lake called Naini lake, a famous lake in Nainital. Rooms are very big, high wooden celings & antique furniture. Space outside rooms is very good for sitting & enjoy a view of lake & mountains. Manager Mr.Gupta is very co-operative & friendly. Very good hotel for relaxation. A real value for money Hotel because its very reasonable Hotel compare to other hotels.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have a good views of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upendraitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I selected this hotel for our recent stays after checking reviews on Tripadvisor and its price and I must say I was not at all disappointed. Hotel is very old with wooden construction but the view from rooms and it location more than make up for anything. Our room was a double bed first floor room in very reasonable price and excellent view of Naini lake. Staff is excellent and helpful. Hotel doesn't have very much parking space so in peak season you might have to park before mall road.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor corner rooms to have an uninterrupted view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulkit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.1 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
341 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 51 in Nainital
410 reviews
1.1 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 51 in Nainital
302 reviews
0.4 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#18 of 51 in Nainital
58 reviews
3.4 km away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: The Mall, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range: ₹ 2,600 - ₹ 4,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing