We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
74
100
15
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
100
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first floor view of the lake british era old world charm grand stay excellent location heritage property jeera walking distance british times boat club other hotels place to stay private parking ground floor huge balcony wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Nainital is all about enjoying on Mall Road, shopping at Bhutiya market and having a boat ride. If you have a baby, then all these can become a pain if your choice of hotel is not good. A hotel on mallital gives you access to these quickly. Grand offers this same luxury as it is located right on Mallital. To top it, the rooms are very big and clean. I stayed on first floor and a long running balcony connecting all rooms allowing a great view of the Naini Jheel (Lake). It also offers you seating locations to enjoy cup of coffee with your partner while enjoying the beauty. On ground floor, space is even more outside room and height remains good from road allowing one to enjoy while basking in the morning sunlight.

I read the reviews before choosing the hotel and found it as per reviews and my expectation. I absolutely loved the hotel. Rates may be on higher side i.e you can definitely find cheaper options but if you are looking for premium/classy properties, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: If you are a couple with one or two kids, Double bed is the best option. Rates on ground floor are lower than first floor. If you can get ground floor, you can chose that and save some money as view is equally good from ground floor. I think, the rooms to the left of the hotel when standing in front are new or furnished recently (based on the look from outside of room when I went to that side so one may check it before booking a room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We absolutely loved Hotel Grand because of following:
- Very clean and well maintained hotel with 'heritage' feel to it.
- Big, airy & very comfortable rooms rooms.
- Rooms have high ceilings and ample furniture that does not clutter the room.
- Space outside the rooms to enjoy a cup of coffee while looking at the view.
- Amazing view of Naini Lake and mall road.
- Good staff that provide very quick service
- Have it's own parking space, though limited
- Decent dinning with limited but good food options

Room Tip: Take rooms on either end of the first floor for best & uninterrupted view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeerajT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Well the first day since i had driven all the way from delhi was too tired to find grand so stayed in a so called lonely planet recommended hotel the room was so crammed that my 18 month old son could hardly move. next morning i ventured to find a hotel which could give me parking and comfort. I was a bit hesitant to go to grand since i was made to belive that it would cost somewhat around 5000 per day. i still went in and was pleasently surprised to see the tarrif. got settled in . the best part of this hotel is that staff was from that old school where attention to clients is vital. i would like to point out especially to two people who took great cqre of us. we took double bed room which was at rs 2600 per night . very huge room compared tpo that dingy room i stayed the previous night. very very beautiful view of the lake , market is so near and huge lawn for the child to play. value for money complete . would stay there whenever i go there.
Food is ok not very fabulous.

Room Tip: room no 19 i stayed there.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joydev6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

A perfect place to stay in Nainital, its the only hotel where u get the complete view of the lake and the whole area around. The Mall road market, Flats- each area is so accessilble. Also the bonus is its parking...

Room Tip: all rooms are lake facing try to get the ones where the corridor ends...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rohitshinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Hi All,

I have been visiting Naintial and this hotel for the last 15 years. I must have sayed at this hotel atleast 7-8 times and want to keep coming back to it. It is the best way to see, feel, experience this beautiful hill station. The pros and cons below :

Pros
1) The hotel is right in the middle on Mall road with a beautiful uninterrupted view of the lake and mountains on all sides. Its go easy to go anywhere from here.
2) The Hotel itself has an old world charm to it. Rooms with huge celings. We stayed at the suite (their biggest room). Good bathroom size. Excellent facilities (importantly heater) in the room. Nice huge dinining table and an LCD tv.
3) One can just spead time having tea and sitting in the balcony enjoying the view. Particularly in the evening. So so relaxing.
4) The food at the hotel is just perfect. Homely and delicious. You need to pre-order and give them the exact time to serve. I know this is an old concept but it works wondefully. Have to try the simple north indian dishes here
5) They have a nice small parking lot. Considereing its on mall road its very useful.
6) Most of the staff at the hotel have been here for a long time. Dedicate. I can recall most of them by face everytime I visit the hotel.
7) The quality of crowd here is usually good. I know of other hotels on mall road that cant boast of the same. I know a lot of ppl who stay at "top hotel brands" in various cities come here regularly (they all skip Manu M or Arif Castle etc)
8) Its not at all expensive. I just hope the mgmt just keeps it at this level

Cons
1) Dont expect a huge lobby or a spa or things like that

So when in Nainital do stay at this place. Cant have a more relaxing holiday. Dont even look at the so called 5 star hotels for which you need to go up hill.

Happy Travelling,
Gautam

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank GudduKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews