We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you need, and what you dont!!”
Review of Ek Chidiya Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ek Chidiya Cottage
Ranked #29 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I travelled to Ek Chidiya with my family, and my extended family, (and three kids of all the 'troublesome periods, 4. , 8, and 13, you know what I mean :)!!
This place is just what we needed. Clean spacious rooms, toilets, no TV, NOTHING that reminds you that you are paying here, you feel like a guest actually. There is no Checkin-Checkout timings mentioned, no uniformed waiters, infact, the intercom in the room looked out of place.
This place has all the basic amenities, food/breakfast is good, you can stroll to nearby villages, go to orchards, literally have the whole place to yourself. People who are fond of TV, and want room service should not go there. Not because they dont provide the service, but because this place is not for sitting in the room. It is rather for getting out, for short to long treks, for getting familiar with people around.
We were there in a probably the hottest period (people say it had not been hotter), but the hospitality and simplicity of the place just bowled us over. The owners, Pallavi and Anurag are very friendly, (and not intrusive as well)!! They are intelligent people who chose to move away from hectic corporate life to this place, and they run the establishment very throughtfully.
I noticed, the price range mentioned on Trip Advisor is wrong, the denomination should probably be in Indian Rupees.
I would definitely go back, and would stay a little longer this time. I just couldnt get enough of it.

Room Tip: They have just four rooms, you might want to choose the ones that have a view of the valley.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prashant618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Ek Chidiya Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

I went with my family during the Baisakhi weekend and was bowled over by the scenic beauty of the place. It is a place far away from the maddening crowd and is just the right ambience for relaxation. The fun becomes double with the ever courteous owners and the wonderfully trainer staff. The hot and sumptious meals just go right with the feel of the place. Such a great experience that too at a very moderate budget. I highly recommend to other fellow travellers!

Room Tip: room with a view of the mountains
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PankhuriNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Its a place to be, if you are not there, you are missing missing out a place where you could really unwind yourself. Its right in the center of greens and our entire group loved it so much that we have planned to make it our every summer destination... Its fabulous round the year though.. did visit them in winters too... and during the rains.... could see lot of budding sprouts.. a heaven for photography...
Its like as if its your own home... owners had been extremely helpful and friendly.. we were treated like as if we owned the place...
I completely disagree with MR.GREENCOUNTRY here... you never get a wrong treatment from people who have opened a business place right there in a jungle.. no one wants to get their business killed especially in such competitive world... one must understand ... no five star can beat the goodness of the food you get at Ekchidiya... Its fresh right from the gardens.. handplucked.. and we are so happy to even pay more than what a 5 star hotel charges us..
Well our group has traveled across the globe almost, and we found Ek Chidiya " A PLACE TO BE '....

Room Tip: Window rooms facing the valley are a delight...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andesignco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

After 2 visits in the last 2 years, this has become one of my
favourite places in the hills. Delicious meals (loved the
breakfasts!), bonfires in the evenings (the corn was plucked from the
terrace right outside the room!), very helpful staff and beautiful
view from the room! The short trek to the stream is lovely, and the
setting is just like a picture postcard. They arrange sight-seeing trips to tourist destinations like Nainital, Almora, etc. We only opted for the serene hill station of Mukteshwar. Because the place location is spectacular and perfect for getting all the relaxation you want. The village setting is so different from the so-called resorts with high compound walls. It is ideal for those unhurried evening strolls!
Overall, this is a place marked by warm, personalized attention and home-like atmosphere. City life seems so far away and chaotic when one is here. Really, one does not want to go back from Ek Chidiya!

Room Tip: ask for front side valley view rooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annugautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Ek Chidiya holiday home is a quiet place, away from the maddening crowd. Nestled in a beautiful village, surrounded by fruit orchards, the scenery all around is mesmerizing, the walk to a nearby stream is fun, also for taking some really good clicks. Sumptuous and delicious buffet meals are an out of the world experience for a foody like me. The place is ideal for shutting up in the room, sipping my tea and gazing at the mountains and the orchards. At night it is even quieter and jungle like, at times seems there is no sign of civilization. Just a word of caution; it is stated to be 4-5 kms from nearest bus stand (Nathukhan – the village) and 45 km from nainital. But for people who want a relaxing holiday, it is just the place to be; with a very friendly, helping host family and the entire staff. Most of the basic amenities are available; please do not expect a 5 star room service

Room Tip: Takes 90 mins to reach from Nainital Bus stand
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atuljain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nainital
18.4 km away
Arif Castles Hotel
Arif Castles Hotel
#13 of 50 in Nainital
169 reviews
9.5 km away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
143 reviews
8.8 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ramgarh
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Calm Cottages
The Calm Cottages
#1 of 2 in Nathuakhan
51 reviews
8.1 km away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
20.8 km away
Kampland Nainital
Kampland Nainital
#23 of 149 in Nainital
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ek Chidiya Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ek Chidiya Cottage

Address: Village Nathuakhan, Nainital 263158, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Price Range: ₹ 4,950 - ₹ 11,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ek Chidiya is a cottage set in an acre of land in Village Nathuakhan in the fruit bowl of Uttarakhand, 40 km from Nainital. It offers lovely treks and delicious food prepared by local cooks. It has 6 spacious bedrooms with mud-plastered walls and stone flooring and modern attached bathrooms. Each room has a porch sit-out, and a firepit for enjoying bonfires. Buffet meals, mainly prepared from fruits, vegetables and herbs grown in-house, are served in the common dining area. Activities include picnic to the river stream nearby, day-trips to Mukteshwar, Nainital, Almora and Jageshwar, and village orchard walks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing