We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
355
58
1
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
355
58
1
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool banoffee pie lands end khao suey games room pool table well stocked library goat nook and corner burmese cuisine reading room home away from home board games common areas mutton tt table special mention
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

To bring in a childhood friends fiftieth birthday Two Chimneys was identified - proximity to Delhi and the fact that the whole resort could be ours (we were going to be 9 couples). We ended up eventually as a smaller group but still had the property largely to ourselves and it was indeed an excellent experience.

The Shatabdi Express from New Delhi (certainly not one of the better ones of this series) gets you into Kathgodam around 1130am and it is then less than an hour to reach Gethia, a hill opposite the better known and over crowded Nainital. What appears at first glance to be a small charming cottage draws you into itself and by the time you finish exploring the whole property you realise how skillfully and tastefully the estate has been put together to offer comfort, privacy and natural beauty in one great package.

Since we had a group of our own in celebratory mode we created our own entertainment and action, but this place is really ideal for those looking to get away from the hustle bustle of routine and just relax amidst nature. Gethia has one of India's oldest sanatoriums, built by the British for TB patients, clearly relying on the fresh breezes of this charming little corner of Uttaranchal. The property has a nice swimming pool, clean, comfortable and tastefully done rooms and simple, but very tasty, food on offer.

Managed by the redoubtable Manju, the place knows what service is all about and we had absolutely no cause for complaint, even though we were quite a demanding group. Going the extra mile - the staff spent a few hours in the afternoon blowing 350+ balloons and then hanging them up around the poolside to create a very special ambience for the celebrations. Unimaginable in today's day and age, with Manju herself leading the way with full vigour.

A big thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodlifelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraStay, Guest Relations at Two Chimneys - Pura Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,

We are honoured that you chose Two Chimneys as a venue for such an important occasion for your friend. Thank you for kind review and description of the Holiday Stay with respect to the features, decor and amenities.

Your special appreciation for the efforts made by the management & service staff with respect to the arrangements for the special occasion and the overall service during your stay keeps them motivated for even higher level of excellence.

It was a pleasure hosting you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Really great hotel nestled in the verdant surroundings of Ghetia. Clean, spacious, well provisioned rooms, fantastic natural decor, tastefully done, comfortable, and with sumptuous meals. Will recommend surely.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ashishr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraStay, Guest Relations at Two Chimneys - Pura Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our sincere gratitude towards your kind review for us on this platform and also towards your recommendation.

It was a pleasure hosting you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I have been here twice now and both times it was a wonderful experience - once with friends and once with family. The place is beautiful, maintained really well and super peaceful. The rooms are super nice and each one has its own character. The staff is super helpful and accommodating, but make sure you tell them what you need before. Due to its remote location it is hard for them to cater to requests last minute. Manu, the manager there will help you with everything - food to making sight seeing arrangements etc.

Room Tip: The Nest is the best room. The olive is really small.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GameMaster_CSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraStay, Guest Relations at Two Chimneys - Pura Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review for us. You words of appreciation for the staff with respect to quality of service and facilitation provided to you surely will give them more motivation to reach excellence in hospitality.

It was a pleasure hosting you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Two Chimney Resort It was a very clean and nice property away from the hustle bustle of Naintal and at the same time not too far from there. The staff was superb. very friendly and accommodating. Very personalised services.

The property is clean, tidy, understated and very comfortable to stay in. We stayed in Deodar awesome room the way wanted. Teakwood interior, cozy rooms….magnificent views reconnect to nature. ideal for relaxation. New Ac rooms are chilling during day time at normal temperature of Nainital. it is a very private resort and a place where you can unwind and let nature take over.

it is better to go there in a group or atleast 2 families so that you have some company and can enjoy bonfires in the night are a welcome change where one can relax, play music and have some hot drink.

Food they serve as per your taste buds…Yum….The entire team was very hospitable. Right from first lunch to last breakfast, everything had a special personal touch to it. At all times we felt that everyone was indeed feeling happy to see us happy and content.

It makes an excellent getaway for people who need to refresh, recharge and take on long commutes to work.
On the whole a very good experience and well recommended.
For me its Home away from Awesome Home….Will visit again soon.
Thank you Two Chimney Guys!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BhavnasSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraStay, Guest Relations at Two Chimneys - Pura Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback for us. It gives are great pleasure in knowing that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your special mention for the special care received from our staff along with quality of food served means a lot.

We appreciate your recommendation for us on this platform and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Really charming property, lots of hidden rooms and staircases. the kids had a fantastic time. They have open spaces to play around as well. Food was decent but the staff was really helpful and nice. very accommodating. Overall we had a great time - highly recommended for a quick getaway from Delhi

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TiggerTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraStay, Guest Relations at Two Chimneys - Pura Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review for us. We are delighted to know that your family has a wonderful experience with us at Two Chimneys. Your appreciation for the efforts put in by the team at the Holiday Stay mean a lot to them.

It was a pleasure hosting you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews