We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a wonderful holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what a wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

What makes the two chimneys different is the simple elegance and excellent service that we were offered throughout our stay. Simple gestures like hot water bottles slipped under our quilts and copious amounts of gingery chai swept us off our feet.

Pictures say a thousand words, so we decided to let some of the pictures we took do the talking. Its is an enchanting experience to go through the house and its artefacts and knick knacks

The property is beautifully nestled in between the bustle of nainital and the quiet gethia hood. Its accessibility from Kathgodam is a huge plus. We would recommend it for families, couples and single travellers.

We think it makes an excellent getaway for people who need to refresh, recharge and take on long commutes to work, nasty bosses and jobs they rather not have.

We are going there again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own characteristics and features. We stayed in 'first things' which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank figgyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    52
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
130
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We were planning of a 2 day trip from Delhi. After a lot of searching and deliberation, settled on Two Chimneys.

The entire property (rooms, common area, outside spaces etc.) is amazing. Innovatively decorated and very thoughtful use of the hilly terrain. We had booked 'The Study' but were upgraded, at no extra cost, to 'The Oak Suite' for the second night. Though the first room also good, the second one was stunning.

Coming from a foggy and gloomy Delhi (mid December), the sunshine seemed divine. It was a joy, seeing our 1 year old son enjoying the sun, playing with pebbles, leaves and what not. We had planned for a half a day trip to Nainital and the other lakes, but had to cancel that. It would have been cruel to drag him away from his pebbles and leaves for our sake.

Now coming to the staff … The place is beautiful but what makes it special is the staff. Manju, the manager, was efficient and took care of every detail. She provided good company to my wife in the evenings. Also, the ever smiling Sonu and Jagdish … took great care of our son. People with toddlers can vouch what a great help it can be when somebody is taking care of him/her while you have your lunch. We could enjoy our meals thanks to them.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayanraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have been there thrice, and there are many good reasons why.

First, the general place itself: very classy with wood all over inside and stone work at the back. There is a cute little swimming pool, where you can laze, sipping wine and looking over the mountains and valleys all around, almost ethereal. You get a quaint colonial undertone all around the house. The lawns are lush green and there are some viewing points with tea tables at secluded corners, making for a great colonial setting. On cold, damp, foggy days, one can almost sense adventure lurking around the corner. There are plenty of board games all over the house. There’ s a common room, with a pool table, a tt table and a tv (the only aberration in the otherwise charming ambience). Meals around the pool can be romantic in the evening. Furniture is cosy and comfortable. There’s a little library with an eclectic but interesting collection to round off things off.

Each room is warm and appealing in its own unique way. Choose a suite on the first floor if in a group. Try sleeping in the loft one light, and you will be woken early by the Sun shining through the skylight window with a beautiful view of the mountains all around.

The staff is friendly and helpful. Food is reasonably simple, but excellent.

This place will lull you into somnolence and lethargy, so don’t go with grand plans to visit too many places around. You just won’t feel like getting out. Best to go in a small close knit group of 4 to 8. Get your own alcohol along and a fair amount of it. The bar is not so well stocked and bringing your own alcohol is encouraged. Go at a time when you can use the pool. Excellent for a 2 nite stay, once in a while.

Wish the place was closer to delhi. Takes around 8 hours by car. I have used both train and car on different visits. If you can get train tickets – that’s great. There’ a train leaving Delhi late in the night and arriving at Kathgodam (around 90 min from the place by car and pick up can be organized) around 5:30 in the morning and a trains leaving Kathgodam for Delhi – one in the afternoon and one at around 8/9pm at night. However, train tickets get booked out months in advance.

Room Tip: take one of the rooms, which overlook the valley or a suite with a loft and skylight windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanmayamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

2 Chimneys is a colonial home converted with great sensitivity and taste to a comfortable and homey place which doesn't feel like a hotel. The rooms are decorated beautifully and the loos are to die for, both for their view as well as unique little touches like shells and gargoyles.

Lots of sitouts make it easy to enjoy the relaxed vibe and clear blue skies. Breakfast at the poolside is heavenly. So is the fireplace in the drawing room, where we had many animated sessions of Dumb Charades.

The TT and pool table kept our teenagers happy!

A suggestion..the quality of food at breakfast is great but the other meals could be a tad better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miraNewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The most amazingly lazy getaway... My husband planned a surprise fro me for my B'day and what a surprise it was ! Very comfortable journey from Delhi via train (normally we drive but the trains are good too). The personalized hospitality is a complete winner. Food is unlike hotels.. Not an elaborate spread but very homely.

Manju and Karishma were really warm :) Thanks guys.

Very passionately made place....Plenty of sit-outs where one can laze around with a book.. And an amazing collection of books that the hosts have arranged. I dont think I managed to sit around at all places enough in the 3 days that we stayed there.

Looking forward to coming back soon :)

Room Tip: I loved "The study".. "Oak" is also nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipra_Sharma_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
5.1 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.0 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
5.4 km away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#9 of 48 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#2 of 48 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.6 km away
Shervani Hilltop
Shervani Hilltop
#1 of 48 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
4.2 km away
No photo provided
Clifton - Pura Stays
#5 of 142 in Nainital
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Chimneys - Pura Stays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Chimneys - Pura Stays

Property: Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Address: Chinkuwa House No - 1 | Village - Gethia, Nainital 263127, India (Formerly Two Chimneys Gethia)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,748 - ₹ 10,592
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Chimneys - Pura Stays 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Chimneys - Nainital - a serene boutique resort atop a mountain spur. Two Chimneys is a charming 100 year old British bungalow, aesthetically restored to offer you a exclusive holiday experience. The seven bedrooms, each with a distinct flavour and a swimming pool and great cuisine adds to its appeal Resort, Nainital, Mountains, peaceful, holiday, weekend break, swimming pool, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Two Chimneys - Pura Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing