We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Place to stay in Nainital, Away from the crowds and among the Best Views of Mountains in Nainital” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KMVN Tourist Rest House Snowview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House Snowview
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Nainital
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in Nainital, Away from the crowds and among the Best Views of Mountains in Nainital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We spend 3 nights at SnowView and it was easily one of the best experiences I have had at any of the Hill Stations (talking about famous destinations only) in India. Rooms were big and spacious with wooden floor (one room had carpet), pretty decent overall. Television was pretty bad, but who goes to hills to watch TV (I hope ppl don't). Heater was not included in the room fare, but was provided for a nominal rent.
Location was very good, although view of Naini lake is hidden behind the trees. Just behind the hotel, and further up the road, view of Himalayas is breathtaking. Also, since the ropeway for tourists stops at 5-6 pm, it is very peaceful place between 5-6 pm and 9-10 am. During day hours, you wont be thr anyways, exploring other parts.
Food & Drinks: If you eat non-veg, then ask for chicken made with local herbs, they have 2-3 variety, which is just amazing. Don't ask for mutton, it is not very good, go with chicken dishes. Veg food was nothing to write home about.
Decent collection of drinks (hard) are available with most Indian and popular foreign brands available. Beer was not available though.
Bonefire: Another amazing thing was bonefire in the evening, you will have to pay Rs 300 for wood, but its worth it. Have dinner around the bonefire, its worth it.
To add to the excitement, there was a scare about Leopard in the area was going on when I visited. Although, didn't see any but one night, Leopard dragged a dog with it into the jungle one night.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed at KMVN Snowview on 25 and 26 April 2010 with my family of 3 with a three year old kid. This is a 150 year old Governer General's bungalow that has been converted to a hotel. They have retained the old architecture and material well, however have had to do some maintenance on this bungalow. It may be old but does not appear as such. Well painted and decorated, it is an awesome place. There are only 4 Super Deluxe rooms out there even tough KMVN website shows deluxe rooms at booking, however those deluxe rooms are for some other KMVN property downhill. I had chosen a superdeluxe room for which I paid Rs. 1950 per night. The rate included stay + bedtea + breakfast + dinner. Two rooms out of four were extremely spacious, enough to accomodate 5-6 people. One room was just fit for 2 members and the final one was fit for 4 members. My room had wooden flooring and wooden roof. Rest all three rooms had carpet and a ceiling. I quite liked the polished wooden appearance all around in my room. It had nice photos promoting the Kumaoun region and local culture. We reached at about 2 PM and reaching there was challenging. All roads look similar and there are not many signboards on the way. Constantly ask people at each corner else you can keep going up and down the hill as we did. One leading motor road is very narrow (for cars), however better than the other one which is very steep. On reaching, we ordered food and it took about 45 mins for them to serve. The reason is they do not have anything ready and they cook to order and served fresh. Dinner order is to be placed early as they have to get the stock and prepare. The staff plays multiple roles that of cook, attendant, waiter all roled into one, but they try to do justice to each role. Advise all to go for local Kumaouni cuisine. If you order Paneer or Alu paratha and expect it to be similar to what you get around Delhi, Chandigarh or even in Himachal then you will be a little disappointed. So go in for Kumaouni cuisine. I did not use the bar but on checking I thought it was well stocked. The staff (including the Bar) stay on the backside in the quarters so if you need anything, you can request them. You get one free return trip of Ropeway for each day of stay at Snowview. Ropeway fares are Rs. 100 for kids and Rs. 150 for adults for one hour stay at the Snowview amusement park. Snowview amusement park is next to the KMVN Snowview hotel. Snowview is actually a tourist place (mini amusement park) which has activities for kids and adults. Though there are not many activities, it is worth a visit. The ropeway brings you from the Market area to Snowview and back. KMVN Snowview is the only hotel there. In the night it becomes really quiet after all tourists leave at about 6 PM (last ropeway from Snowview). They don't return till about 9.30 AM when the ropeway starts. Also, this is the highest point in Nainital and it gets really cold out there. It snows every year; the only exception was winter 09-10, when it did not snow at all on Snowview. The staff is good, especially Sandeepji who manages things very well. This is recommended for those who want to stay in serene locality away from crowds and who want good luxury for cheap.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank NewAgeHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

This is a Govt property. The booking has to be done on-line from www.KMVN.gov.in website. This is an old bunglow on top of the hill having 4 double rooms. The tariff (Rs 2500 in peak season) includes tickets for Ropeway (Rs 100 for children and Rs 150 for adults). The tariff also includes veg dinner, morning tea and breakfast. The non-vegetarien food is charged extra. Overall food is very good. Overall it works out to be Quite and Economical.

The ropeways is operational from morning 10:00 to evening 6:00 pm, so in the evening it is really quite with only 4 families on the hill top. There is a BAR functional till 8:00 pm. The staff can put a Bon-Fire for Rs 300 if you want. Keeping in mind that all material has to be brought from the market below, so order everything in advance.

There is a small market with shops, photographers, horsewalls, rifle shooting etc. The place is crowded during day time. You can walk to the Hill Top above, there is a Binocular (Rs 5 per person). Some good joy rides for children, go-karting, and rappling etc. It is fun. There is a decent Chinese restaurant inside the Go-karting area.

Early morning: have TEA and trek towards View Point, then Naina peak / China Peak, Himalay Darshan. The entire to and fro trekking must be around 6 Km, start at 7 and come back by 9:30. The road is straight and any local will guide you. Walk at your own pace, click photographs, relax and enjoy.

(The tourist rush will start from 9:30am onwards, cars full of tourists, just stop for 10min, click a few photos and next destination).

Return to Hotel by 10:00 (order B'fast before leaving for walk), have B'fast , pack and check out.

SNOW: The season is Feb end.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Usable_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I went to Nainital in last Feb (Feb-2009), weather was gr88 that time. Though snow fall was not there, but I found lots of snow on the hills. For stay, I opted the KMVN Tourist Rest House Snowview, which was awesome as it is situated on a height and gives a amazing view of Nainital. Guest house was very neat and clean, and the staff was also very friendly. Food provided by the guest house staff was very yummy and reasonable and really they had very good service too. Overall, I loved my stay at KMVN Tourist Rest House Snowview completely.

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — Not accessible in dark as it is on height.
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpaceDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
2.3 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#6 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.2 km away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lake Side Inn
Lake Side Inn
#28 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#26 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.0 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#24 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House Snowview? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House Snowview

Property: KMVN Tourist Rest House Snowview
Address: Behind Cable Car Ropeway, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Nainital
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,950 - ₹ 3,000
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing