We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent B&B near Saint-Lo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Thiaumerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Thiaumerie
Ranked #1 of 5 Saint-Lo B&B and Inns
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B near Saint-Lo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I spent two nights here in early July 2012. The "Picardie" room is above the front entrance and lounge, has a separate, private bath in the rear, just outside the bedroom door, and does not open out onto other guest rooms. Opening the room's window and the window in the bathroom, in the back of the house, resulted in excellent cross-ventilation. The furnishings were all in good condition. The area is rural and very quiet at night. No traffic noise is audible at night, and in fact I don't think I ever saw another car on the single-track road at the end of the driveway. Michael Byrne was very attentive and had good suggestions as to sightseeing and restaurants in the area. (Sally was away during my stay.) Of all the B&Bs I stayed in during this trip to France, this was the only B&B I would return to without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadsScholar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I vacationed in Normandy area and stayed with Sally and Michael at La Thiaumerie. It was picture perfect in every way. We hope to go back some day. We could not have asked for better accommodations...beautiful, clean, friendly, accommodating!
You will love it! It was close to all major sightseeing in the Normandy area, and the restaurant nearby was superb!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary frances r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

My family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our 1-night stay at La Thiaumerie. As we approached it for the first time, it seemed out of a storybook, nestled into the side of rolling hills and surrounded by blooming gardens. Our hosts greeted us as soon as we parked and showed us to very clean, comfortable rooms. Sally and Michael provided excellent advice for where to dine and walk in the evening, and after a hearty breakfast the next day, they made helpful recommendations regarding our subsequent travel routes. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely B&B and wish I could've stayed a second night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avranches, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I could not recommend La Thiaumerie highly enough. Superb location and surroundings. All the amenities were first rate. The room being first class, extremely clean and very comfortable.
The property is ideally situated to explore the main tourist destinations and Michael and Sally proved to be extremely knowledgeable about the area and answered all the queries I had.
They were also the most hospitable hosts and I was fortunate enough to be invited into the Pub to sample a few of the local offerings!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were lucky enough to have found La Thiaumerie about 7 years ago on a meander through Normandy, and have been back several times since. This year we visited around the dates of the D-Day celebrations, so taking leisurely drives through the Normandy countryside to places like Utah Beach, St Marie du Mont, etc were firmly on our agenda. The quality of the food and accommodation provided by Mick and Sally is now almost legendary, and is only matched by the unfailing warmth of the welcome. Meeting other guests from around the world is one of the other great pleasures of a stay at La Thiaumerie..........thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: For families with teenage children, the family room (it's a kind of split level suite really) is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aljaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Lo
14.6 km away
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
#1 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
21.8 km away
Chateau de la Roque
Chateau de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Hebecrevon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
#5 of 8 in Saint-Lo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Mercure Saint Lo Centre Hotel
38.8 km away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
14.5 km away
Ibis Saint Lo La Chevalerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Thiaumerie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Thiaumerie

Property: La Thiaumerie
Address: la Thiaumerie, 50420 Saint-Lo, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Lo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Lo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,307 - ₹ 7,850
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Thiaumerie is a 270 year old stone house (at one time a farm) situated in the heart of the Normandy countryside. Perfectly located for visiting the D-Day beaches, Mont St Michel, Bayeux, Granville, the Cotentin Peninsula it is an ideal spot from which to tour the area. There is half an acre of gardens with many seating areas to relax in and enjoy the views. There are 3 double bedrooms, each with their own private bathroom facilities and one has a twin bedded room attached making it ideal for family accommodation. There is a private guest lounge and bar to relax in with plenty of books and maps about the area for our guests use. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing