We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful French countryside holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harold's Place

Harold's Place viewed from the drive and owners back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harold's Place viewed from the drive and owners back garden
Harold's Place guest terrace with chickens in the background Cosy lounge with pot bellied wood burner and comfy seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Harold's Place viewed from the drive and owners back garden
Harold's Place guest terrace with chickens in the background
Cosy lounge with pot bellied wood burner and comfy seating
Lounge showing dining table and entrance to kitchen
Viewof the lounge showing entrance door, stairs and entertainment area.
Brilliant kitchen, efficient, well equipped and fun to cook in
Is that typical French bread and wine I see waiting for you?
Downstairs shower room with loo, wash basin and washing machine.
Pink bedroom with traditional French bed shabby-chic'd note suitcases above for linen storage!
View of pink bedroom small 'mezzanine'
Window on landing over looking the meadow
Pink bedroom cosy corner
Approaching the blue bedroom
Cosy Blue Bedroom with quirky window designs!
Blue Bedroom wash basin and loo behind the door decorated like a beachut!
Upstairs landing from pink bedroom to blue bedroom
Plaque dedicated to Harold Schillingberg on the wall outside our cottage. Thank you.
The Hurdy Gurdy man in our village square of St Clair sur Elle
Harold's Place over looks this meadow.The moon setting at 8.30 a.m.at winter solstice
John painting the Mulberry harbour which we to help maintain at Omaha beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Lo, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Helen140
Buntingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful French countryside holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Harold's Place with my boyfriend for a week in September 2013.

We had a fantastic time and thought the cottage was very pretty and homely. It had a lovely atmosphere and was a great place to relax, especially the garden after a busy day sight seeing. The cottage's kitchen was well equipped for nights in and the garden terrace a lovely place to enjoy a meal, weather permitting. The location of the cottage was also perfect to explore the sights of Normandy - there are many tourist sites only a short drive away. There is so much history in the area you won't be short of things to do.

We had a brilliant holiday at Harold's Place and would recommend it to anyone who wanted to explore Normandy or just enjoy a relaxing holiday in the French countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location for exploring Normandy, and history of the area
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic20...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A piece of rural French charm with loads of history”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a glorious week here visiting the invasion beaches and Bayeux with our teenage son. The welcome was warm with wine and cheese waiting for us! Sue and John went the extra mile for us to enable our stay to work perfectly. The house is full of old rural charm and detail, recently refurbished without loosing any of its character. Thank you for such a great holiday and thanks for choosing to honour the history of the location so personally by naming your house after a fallen US soldier.

Would recommend you to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imar S
Utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a great holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A cozy cottage in a beautiful and quiet part of Normandy, France. A few minutes away from the nearby village and ten to fifteen minutes away from a larger city called St. Lo. The beaches are 25-30 minutes away from the cottage.

The cottage is fully equipped in a “traditional style”, and even has a washing machine and barbecue. When we arrived we received a warm welcome with cold beers and wine in the fridge! Very welcome after our car trip.

In front of the cottage there’s a cozy seating area with lots of privacy (a private entrance and private garden).

We (two adults and our two-year old son) spent two weeks in Harold’s place and we had an absolutely lovely time. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony-d...
Den Haag
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing