We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio Blanco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A bit late this one, stayed here in October 2011 but better late than never!
This is an amazing building first of all - with some fabulous original features and great decor.
The rooms range around the central courtyard which is the main focus of the hotel - our room was on the top floor which is also the sun deck and pool area. Sadly, it was too cold for the pool, and too wet to sit in the courtyard for most of our stay, although we did manage a couple of sunny days.
Our welcome from Lesley was very friendly and we were plied with hot drinks and cakes as soon as we were ushered in to the breakfast room out of the torrential Spanish rain! Lesley gave us some information about the area, best places to eat, directions etc. but was also aware of how much information to give initially.
Our room was spectacular, fabulous bed, plenty of space and the biggest walk-in shower ever! I was also provided with a fluffy bathrobe - husband was a little too big to fit into one though.
The sun deck was great, plenty of comfortable loungers and a cosy bar area - just help yourself from the fridge, fill in the honesty slip and away you go! There is a similar system downstairs.

We were given details by Lesley of restaurants which were open on different nights - the night we arrived most places were closed, so this was vital information! For the rest of the time we found our own way though and tried to eat where the locals ate. There is a great fish restaurant (sadly I've lost the notes I made for the purpose of this review, but I'm sure Nick and Lesley will be able to tell you) and a cute Moroccan tea room nearby, in fact all the places we visited were lovely and the local people were amazingly friendly. They even put up with our dodgy attempts at Spanish pronounciation which can't be bad. This is not a tourist town by any means, but you will get a very friendly welcome from the locals.
There are some great beaches nearby, and as it was out of season we had one beach to ourselves for most of the day. The caves at Nerja are well worth a visit and much bigger than I was expecting them to be. We also took a trip to see the cave houses at Siete Nil, this is about an hour and 40 minutes drive from Malaga but is worth the trip.

Bad points - well none really, parking was a bit of an adventure every day, but as it's a working town that's only to be expected. The weather could have been better but I don't think even Lesley and Nick could have sorted that out for us ...

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room on the top floor if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    19
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
194
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just returned from Spain, having spent three great nights at this little gem. The other reviews are definitely not wrong - this Hotel deserves all the praise it has received as the owners have clearly done a great job with everything here. Breakfast was excellent, the room we had was room 7, on the top floor and was great too with a massive walk in shower. Very very clean throughout & comfortable beds and not too hot at night either (they have a/c in the rooms). The sun deck/pool area was great - so much so that I didn't leave it for the three days. Nice and peaceful - all of the other guests weren't about so there must be things to see and do, but I just wanted to relax in the sunshine. Nick and Lesley were great hosts and suggested really good places to eat for the evenings, which were all within a very easy 5 min stroll away. One evening, we went to one of the beach bars in Torre del Mar - Bar Tanit - which did great Caprinhas and other cocktails. I would definitely recommend this Hotel for anyone looking for a few nights in an authentic Spanish town, where you want to unwind and eat nice food in the evenings. 5/5 from me - we would def return if we ever visit this part of Spain again!

Room Tip: Room 7 - on the top floor, was very nice - there is a room no.8 which is also up there too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc0ttfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Despite some confusion over the booking [going through an intermediary - i-escape - confused matters] we were made welcome and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and honesty bar. Nick and Leslie were very helpful and one of the local tapas bars was very good value and welcoming. A handy place if you just want to sit on the roof and read/sunbathe/doze, but trips into Malaga [El Pimpi; Picasso Museum; Alcazba and so on] or to Torre del Mar for beach and cooling dips in the sea, or perhaps just walks from the hotle to explore the Museo Semana Santa and the winding streets of Velez-Malaga.
Nights were a bit noisy on rooms overlooking Felix Lomas - world moped championships, All Spain Cat Fighting knockout rounds and the odd human shuoting match - but it was all part of the local colour, and in any case, you could always just have a siesta like the locals.
Overall, very friendly and a great base for exploring, but lots of opportunites for rest too.

Room Tip: Rooms on Felix Lomas may be a bit noisy, but the upstairs ones on the street have two windows and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjr1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was every thing and more than we expected, great location if you want to travel or just have a wander around town.
Can't wait to go back. Local bars & restaurants very good & surprisingly cheap.

Room Tip: We had a room on ground floor which was great for us as smokers,easy to nip out and no real street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Where do I start about this truly fabulous hotel with the best hosts you could wish for! Nick and Lesley email you directions to reach the hotel when you book. Follow them and you can not go wrong. On arrival Lesley is very attentive providing a cool drink and going through the restuarants in the town. It is then up to you. Lounge by the pool, use the honesty bar, or go out and explore the local countryside or beach. Each morning you are greeted by Lesey and Nick who provide a lovely breakfast, which includes fresh bread that Lesley buys each morning,frsh fruit salad and cheese and continental meats plus yogurts and cereaks. Lesley and Nick then provide any information you need for your days plans from their comprehensive knowledge of the region. A week can feel like a fortnight in a very good way. Would we go back - you bet. We booked the next visit before we checked out and cannot wait to get back to this oasis! Thank you Lesley and Nick. The service exceeds the normal "Excellent" and is better than anything we have exeperienced in Europe and America.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are on the top floor with the loungers and chairs for relaxing plus the honesty bar ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velez-Malaga
2.3 km away
Hotel Cortijo Bravo
Hotel Cortijo Bravo
#3 of 4 in Velez-Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Avenida JC
Hotel Avenida JC
#4 of 4 in Velez-Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
20.2 km away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Mainake
Hotel Mainake
#2 of 5 in Torre del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
20.9 km away
Hotel Carabeo
Hotel Carabeo
#11 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.2 km away
Miraya Hotel
Miraya Hotel
#4 of 5 in Torre del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Blanco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Blanco

Property: Hotel Palacio Blanco
Address: Calle Felix Lomas 4 | Province of Malaga, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,519 - ₹ 7,771
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palacio Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio Blanco is located in the hitoric district of Velez Malaga,in an over 300 year old moorish monastry which was converted in 2008 to a luxury 9 bedroom boutique hotel with roofterrace,excercise water jet pool and sundeck with bar .Featured in the BBC program Amazing buildings which followed the whole conversion process. * Prime location in the city centre ,walking distance of bars,restauants,theatre and shops. *Beach and golf course only 4 kms from the hotel. *Rooms with luxery bathrooms and walk in shower, air conditioning, free wifi , international TV. *Perfect for business meetings ,weddings or as private hotel with family and friends. *We speak Dutch , English and German. *It is all afordable luxery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Blanco Hotel
Palacio Blanco Velez Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing