We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fake gold”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Golden Pagoda
Ranked #85 of 115 Hotels in Gangtok
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fake gold”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The hotel is located right on MG Marg in Gangtok, which is the main street of the town. Location wise, the hotel is situated at the right place. But of late tourists have been moving out into homestays in the countryside. So hotels that previously boasted of good days must serve their customers really good, otherwise they will be forgotten immediately. Golden Pagoda is a prime example of something good that went seriously wrong. I booked the hotel for four days. The room I got was roughly the size of my arms extended. Since it was off season, I got a discount, but even at the normal price you will feel cheated with the size of the room, as I felt the discounted price was also high for such a pathetic size. Sample these:

1. The bedcover was soggy. It was mildly wet to touch. It was monsoon when I went there, but what the hotel did was to prepare my room during the time of booking -- about a week earlier -- and then shut the door all the time. There was no maintenance in between. The hotel just cannot excuse itself from good service even if it was the rainy season. The least they could have done was to put fresh bedsheets and pillow covers a day before we came.

2. The staff were drinking alcohol. The room service man who came to deliver a water bottle reeked of alcohol. I had to ring three times on the intercom line at 9.30 pm to ask for water. The man didn't even reply, but slammed the phone down. I understand they are also humans who don't like to be disturbed at 9.30 pm by some stranger tourists, but then I am tempted to ask a question to the hotel management: What are room service staff for? If somebody is running a hotel, that somebody better run it like a hotel should.

3. Uncomfortable vibe. Yes, this one is subjective, but every tourists out there will know what I am talking about. You enter a bad hotel and you get a not-so-nice stare from the staff on every floor. They look at you and give passive remarks about your 'race' or 'from where you come'. To prevent such behaviour that is why there are a number of hotel management institutes across the globe.

4. The hotel doesn't have mosquito repellent device. When I asked for one at night, the man on the other end of the line said, "Sorry. We don't have." An All-Out, or any popular mosquito repellent device is the basic necessity in a hotel room, anywhere in the country. You never know when a mosquito will bite you, whether in Gangtok, Bangkok or Kabul. The least the hotel could have done is to send somebody at the local shop and get one repellent device. I would have gladly given the money.

However, the hotel staff did change the sheets immediately when I brought the odour issue to their notice.

In the end, I have come to the conclusion never to judge a hotel by its name, like a book by its cover (sometimes it's ok to judge a book by its cover). Golden Pagoda has got nothing of the sort it seems to promise. On a hunch it looks like it will be some exotic place with nice oriental cuisine, but all you get is oily paranthas, very bad tea, coffee of unknown origin, etc.

I can safely say that this hotel is not for younger couples who are looking for a good stay in Gangtok. I suggest they must move out of the increasingly commercialised MG Marg and check the pristine surroundings of Gangtok. MG Marg looks like a street in Jaipur's Walled City area now, and thereby hangs a tale. One portion of MG Marg where there are some sweet shops and departmental stores are littered with paper and plastics, while the other portion where there are some cafes and authentic local cuisine are so clean and well-maintained because of the right attitude.

Golden Pagoda must shed its hypocritical marketing trick. The name pagoda is misleading and the service even worse. I would be more happy staying in this hotel if I came with a family of four to eat pakodas and samosas and paranthas, looking for a true blue Marwari service -- not an original Sikkim experience.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel at all, but if you have to stay, choose any room that looks out tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank indiajourney52001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
18
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is located on the most visited and shopping area, The MG Marg. Though the room is small, the location suits very much. They have heater available at an extra cost as we went there in peak winter(Jan 2010). The hotel is good enough to dump your luggage and spend the whole day sightseeing. Though they have their own restaurant we never went there as there are many just outside the hotel.
They have a travel desk too which helped us to manage the trip to Lachung the very next morning though we checked in at around 8pm. Overall a cute little hotel in the best location.

Room Tip: Chose the Himalaya facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Myself09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived at the West Sikkim bus station in Gangtok (from Yuksom), and it was a relatively easy walk to get to the Marg. It was mid-April and Gangtok was full of tourists, but the Golden Pagoda had rooms available. Their listed prices for rooms were relatively high (over $50), but they gave us a substantial discount when we asked at the desk. We ended up staying here twice, before and after a trip to Lachung. The first room was good: adequate size and a good shower. The hot water fuse went at some point, but the hotel staff fixed that. The room we got when we came back from Lachung was not so good. It was immediately below the kitchen on the top of the hotel, and noisy. We moved to another hotel the next night. So you should look at a room before you take it. The location is great, close to restaurants and travel agencies. The restaurant on the top floor had a good view of Kanchendzonga, when we had a clear day. The other guests all seemed to use room service, you can hang around the top floor if you want some space.

Room Tip: Either side is OK, the Marg quiets down at night. Don't get a room under the hotel kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel is decent enough so that even a family or a couple can stay. I will recommend people to stay in this hotel in gangtok if they have come here for the tour to the nearby place and has taken the hotel just for stay though they also have the restaurant, but i will just people to try outside as there are lot of good placed in the M.G.Road.
The hotel is in the midst of the city and lovely place to stay and it is very lively outside. The hotel is in M.G.Road on this part no vehicles are allowed so you can roam by easily and just outside the hotel there are places where you can enjoy your evening. So, the reason I recommend this place is because the hotel is descent and is in the M.G.Road which is the central place of Gangtok.

Room Tip: Make sure to take the room which has a view to the M.G.Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

After Kolkata / Assam we landed in the evening at Hotel Golden Pagoda during the 3rd week of June 2011 after a journey of 4 and 1/2 hours of drive from NJP. As we had already booked the property through Net, we thought will take a break of 2 hours and they we will start capturing beautiful scenic beauty of Sikkim but due to some confrontation / or misunderstanding with hotel front office manager (Mr Pradeep Agarwal) we finally took off at around 8.30 PM.
The room was given 208 (very small - Valley view) on arrival but we changed it the next morning to very spacious 205 (M.G.Road Facing).
Here is a point-always book the rooms which are M.G.Road facing, these rooms are very spacious.
The location is tooo good, its on the mall (M.G.Road). The hotel has a roof top restaurent which serves good veg food. I shall suggest to avail the services of Parivar Restaurent (in the M.G.Road only) for Veg and Apna Dhaba for Non Veg. Go to the Parivar Restaurent with sufficient time otherwise you shall be given waiting time slot.
The Hotel is just opposite to Hotel Golden Heights. The room service is bit slow ( may be due to packed accomodation), cleanliness is good. Stay is comfortable.
All other facilities are in the vicinity of this hotel only (Try Rainbow restaurent for mommos / Chau / rolls and ask for Mr. Baichung of Blue Sky Restaurent if you have any travel plans). The hotel itself having a travel counter but i suppose the rates are bit expensive as compared to outside.
Well, I shall not recommend for this hotel... go for Golden Heights instead.

Room Tip: Room 205 / 207 for spacious double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scooffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#39 of 115 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 km away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#9 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel ReNam
Hotel ReNam
#30 of 115 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Rumtek Dzong
Hotel Rumtek Dzong
#103 of 115 in Gangtok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Tashi Delek
Hotel Tashi Delek
#79 of 115 in Gangtok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Pagoda

Property: Hotel Golden Pagoda
Address: M.G. Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 115 Hotels in Gangtok
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,067 - ₹ 4,780
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Golden Pagoda 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Pagoda Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing