We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very courteous and hospitable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sidlon Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sidlon Residency
Ranked #57 of 190 Gangtok B&B and Inns
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very courteous and hospitable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

I take this opportunity to share my experience of stay at Sidlon Residency.A very hospitable place, their staff is courteous , service really commendable.
Infact on Day 3 of our trip, we were late to the hotel back after tiresome shopping down the streets of M.G Road,there was no restaurant willing to offer us dinner since they Sikkim has a culture of closing down by 9pm(even the restaurants).It was only when we reached back to the hotel , did we realize this.We were offered lovely club sandwiches and tea at 10.15pm at night.Mr.Peter guided us very well to the tourist spots and was very friendly in nature.
I recommend this hotel strongly for food,ambience ,budget and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimranJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Located on JN road adjoining the CM bungalow the hotel is not too far away from the hustle bustle of MG Road. It is a easy commute to city center either walking or by share taxi. The GM of the group was extremely helpful and courteous and made our stay pleasant.

Pros:
Value for money for short stay especially if you need a place to sleep
Excellent location giving new traveler lot of flexibility to move around independently

Cons:
The food both dinner and breakfast left a lot to be desired. We had to get outside food to ensure that kids ate food
The hotel especially the bathrooms need some ventilation and perhaps a fresh coat of paint

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MULTIWEAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights - 20th oct and 21st oct 2010 with my wife and an infant - 2 yrs old. The gentleman at the reception welcomed us warmly. The room provided to us was large, quite spacious, and with all the amenities (hot water 24 hrs, tv with cable, telephone). Since we were staying with an infant, we requested for hot milk at late night, and they made it available at our demand instantly. Next day the hotel staff also provided us with tea/coffee maker, to get hot milk whenever required.
Food : Very delicious meal and breakfast. They served variety in breakfast, and delicious non-veg (chicken curry) in dinner. Very nice Restuarent !!!!
Location : Good Location, its on the way to Nathula road, so convinient for sight-seeing, and hardly 10 mins from MG Marg, and still you get beautiful views from your rooms.
Service and cleanliness : Very good room services, and very hygenic cleaning conditions.
Over all rating : 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SameerPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

The hotel is situated away from the bustling market of Gangtok, not too far though. It was a pleasant walk to the market. While coming back we took a cab because its a steep ascend.
The location is peaceful and the views are marvellous. Hotel manager and the staff were so friendly that I almost felt like home. The room service was quick and appreciative. We had delicious breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant. The deluxe room was bright, huge and very well decorated with antic furniture, lovely curtains, flooring and the bed. Value for money I would say.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunShil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

I was in Sidlon with my family and friends for 3 nights in last week of may. The staff and service is really fantastic. We asked for some sikkimease food - just to add local taste - and they made it, served it especially for us. Location is good - close to market - near to hill. Rooms are also good. My kids and family enjoyed it. I will definitely recommend sidlon if you are visiting Gangtok

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyaltsen00, Owner at The Sidlon Residency, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Thank you very much Sir for you lovely words hence wanted to inform you that we at Sidlon have totally renovated and maintained all the 4 department of the Hotel hence kindly give us the opportunity to serve you even further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
20.3 km away
Tamarind Residency
Tamarind Residency
#35 of 111 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.4 km away
The Dewachen Retreat
The Dewachen Retreat
#39 of 111 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.4 km away
The Golden Crest
The Golden Crest
#10 of 111 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Tara Palace
Tara Palace
#29 of 111 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.2 km away
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
Bamboo Retreat Hotel
#5 of 111 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Tarayana
Hotel Tarayana
#24 of 190 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidlon Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidlon Residency

Property: The Sidlon Residency
Address: G.N. Road | Below Mingtokgang Gangtok Sikkim, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Gangtok
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,096 - ₹ 3,603
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sidlon Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sidlon Residency is a family owned and family runed hotel hence it caters to its guest in a proper manner(in over all sense). Previously the hotel was under a lease hence since then we the owners have management the hotel and has improved in all the 4 aspect of its department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra and OYO Rooms so you can book your The Sidlon Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidlon Residency Hotel Gangtok
The Sidlon Residency Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing